We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful park but expected more of Intrepids”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful park but expected more of Intrepids”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Having read all the positive reviews of Intrepids, we choose Intrepids over other excellent lodges in Samburu. We had a nice stay but expected more.
Price was good but a couple of things made us think it was a bit average. First of all, the lodge is located in Samburu at the river bank but at the other side there are human settlements with cattle. Some of these cows have bells around their neck. Also at night. So you can imagine...
The dining area is also very dark and you do not have a clear view on the river. A pity, especially when the weather is beautiful.
Service was very good and the people of Intrepids did everything to make us feel welcome.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank koends12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard Y, Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to send our special greetings to you and thank you for having chosen to stay at Samburu Intrepids Camp during your recent safari holiday.
I would like to appreciate your positive feedback on your experience at the camp and I am glad that the service offered by our team left a good impression on your mind.
Please allow me to comment on the shortcomings that you have highlighted in this review. I agree with you that it is common to see cattle being brought to the river by the locals to drink some water. This is mainly because the land across the river adjacent to our camp is community land. The river acts as a boundary between the game reserve and the community settlements. Initially when we built our camp the population in these areas was very small but because of our efforts to continually support the community mainly by providing medical services from our clinic the numbers around us has increased over the years.
Our ultimate goal would be to see these areas converted into conservation land for preservation of nature and wildlife and to this end we are committed to working with the county government and the local community leaders to make this happen.
The other area of concern is the dining room lighting. Our lighting system works on dimmer switches and since we do candle lit sit down dinner menus in the evenings we prefer to dim the lights to create that elegant effect. Otherwise it can easily be adjusted on guest request.
As for the view of the river, I can say that we do have a lot of brush growing along the river banks. These can sometimes conceal the view while the guest is dinning in the restaurant. We tend to trim it and create viewing windows but we try not to cut them down because we want to avoid any form of erosion. Since the rains are with us now we will embark on trimming them immediately to get that very important view of the river.
Finally please accept our apologies for any inconveniences caused by the above mentioned issues. We truly hope that this will not dampen your enthusiasm for the Intrepids brand and we look forward to your repeat visit.

Best regards,
Richard Yoga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    68
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
149
148
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mattawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2014

An excellent lodge. Located within the reserve, arriving was an exciting game drive in itself. The tents were luxurious, spacious and clean. The food was great and we found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyPaavola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard Y, Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking some precious moments of your time to post this very excellent review about your stay at Samburu Intrepids Camp. You have really captured the essence of our hospitality very well in your narration and we are most grateful that you chose to spend your safari holiday with us. We are happy that you mentioned the friendliness of the staff and the great meal experience. Thank you for adding the stunning tent photos as well.

We hope that you will visit us again when you plan for your next holiday.

Best wishes,
Richard Yoga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coggon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My husband and I were part of a travel group that stayed here. We thought the tents were great! We enjoyed that experience. The breakfast and lunch were buffet. The evening meal was from the menu. The food was good. We did not use the pool but it looked nice. There's even a nice little gift shop. The staff was cordial.The Samburu Game Reserve was awesome - the wildlife abundant. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard Y, Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Samburu Intrepids Camp. I am glad that you took time to post this nice review and to mention some of the highlights of your visit. We always strive to make sure that all our guests get the best of the services that we offer and this has been made possible by the professional team of employees who work at the camp. Thank you for commenting on their courteous service and we hope to meet with you again in the not so distant future.

Best regards,
Richard Yoga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen op Zoom, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
196 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This tented camp is vey good located in Samburu park itself. This makes game drives easy and interesting. The capacity of the camp is relatively large more than 20 tents/rooms. That is reflected in the capacity of the dining and recreation area.
Meals are either buffet or a la cart depending on the number of guests. The food is average of quality (perhaps with a slight improvement when the number of guests allows for buffet).
The accommodation is very tasteful and spacious. The rooms/tents are clean and give privacy and a nice view of the river. The park is teaming with animals, mammals and birds.
If traveling with kids this might be your perfect choice, not stuck up or over te top luxurious.
Nice pool area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard Y, Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post this very good review of Samburu Intrepids Camp. We are very privileged that you chose our property as your safari destination.

As you have hinted we have 28 luxury tents with a medium size restaurant and our tents are all well secluded to offer enough privacy for all guests. Our standard of service in the restaurant when we have good occupancies is a full buffet for breakfast and lunch and then a 7 course sit down dinner menu in the evenings with different choices.

We have a very popular kids club at the camp which is very important for families travelling with children. Our two attendants who are also qualified Naturalists keep the children busy while the parents relax and enjoy their holiday.

I truly hope that when you plan your next safari holiday you will visit us again.

Best regards,
Richard Yoga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Contrary to some descriptions in guidebooks we read before that describe the tents as somber, we found them comfortable, with tasteful decoration and at the same toime very practical and luxurious. The satff are amazingly friendly and efficient. We used our own car, but the guide we got from the management of the camp - James Ntopai - accompanied us on several game drives in Samburu, Buffallo Springs and Shaba. He was very friendly, knowledgable and went out of his way to get us up close and personal with two prides of lions with babies, three leopards and all the other animals for which Samburu is rightly famous. The landscape is awesome on its own and much more interesting than that of some of the other game parks. We booked at very short notice and booked as our initial first choice, Elephant bedroom was not available. We didn't regret, as we think the Intrepid camp's location is much better for game drives, the staff were friendly, the food excellent and varied and as said above we got a great experience out of the stay, not just because of good luck, but also because we got a very good guide, who also provided us with interesting information on the Samburu people. We left with very fond memories, excellent photographs and fully satisfied.




  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Uwe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard Y, Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Samburu Intrepids on your African Safari Holiday. Your description of the tent is very immaculate and I don’t think that it can be said any better than that. Thanks for mentioning the nice experiences that you had with James. Our organization is committed to rewarding employees who excel in their job and the best way to gauge their performance is through guest feedback.

I am very glad that you got to view such a rich variety of wildlife on your game drives and I hope that as you plan for your next safari holiday you will make Samburu Intrepids your first choice.

Best regards,
Richard Yoga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Samburu Intrepids is my favorite place in the world! Like a fantastic childhood dream come true. The people are amazing, as are all the animals. The tents were wonderful, the river roaring, the monkeys so cute. The staff were so kind and their knowledge beyond belief. I miss them all. I wish I remembered their names to thank each one again for the best time of my life. Frances shared his culture every evening - a true warrior! My time there was short and it has been a year since I was there, but it remains in my heart always. And the food was fantastic - of course.:) Traveled in April 2013

Room Tip: this "tent" is better than most hotel rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CindyMyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard Y, Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post this excellent review about Samburu Intrepids Camp. We are very glad that you chose to visit our luxurious camp and we are very privileged to have been able to make your childhood dream come to life.

Your comment about the camp is nothing short of excellent. The team members are very encouraged that their efforts are much appreciated by you and I will personally pass these compliments to them. I am hoping that you will plan for another trip to Samburu in the future and hopefully you will have more time to enjoy the camp and the park.

Best regards,
Richard Yoga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgetown
Level Contributor
1,015 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 473 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This Luxury Tented Camp is in the middle of one of the best national game reserves, one with many unique species of animals. There was a nice pool, helpful and friendly staff. etc. The food was superb - far better than we ever expected to find in such a remote location (more like what one would expect from a classy restaurant in a major city, like New York). Elephants walked by our tent at night and there were monkeys and genet nearby.
The only negative was the bed in our tent. The mattress was thin and one could feel the slats underneath. While this did not bother me much, it did bother my wife, who had difficulty sleeping on this bed (she had no problem with the beds in the other two tented camps where we stayed on this trip). Otherwise the review would be "excellent" rather than "very good".

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandyRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard Y, Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our luxurious tented camp. At Samburu Intrepids our goal is to make sure that all our visitors leave with fond memories of the camp and the people who work here. I am glad you enjoyed our Special Samburu Five – unique to this region and you equally enjoyed the food and services we offer.

I have noted your comment on the mattresses and on behalf of camp management I would like to apologize for the inconveniences that this caused during your stay. Rest assured that we have taken this matter very seriously and I will personally initiate a process where all the mattresses will be upgraded to meet the guest requirement. I also want to mention that this is the sort of comments that really help us to improve and maintain our standard of service.

Thank you once again and I hope that we will be seeing you again in the not so distant future.

Regards,
Richard Yoga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samburu National Reserve
16.1 mi away
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shaba National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
7.8 mi away
Elephant Bedroom Camp
Elephant Bedroom Camp
#3 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
13.1 mi away
Ashnil Samburu Camp
Ashnil Samburu Camp
#4 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Saruni Samburu
Saruni Samburu
#1 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sentrim Samburu Lodge
Sentrim Samburu Lodge
#13 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lewa Safari Camp
Lewa Safari Camp
#2 of 57 in Laikipia County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp

Property: Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Address: Archers Post, Samburu National Reserve 74888, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Samburu District > Samburu National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Samburu National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samburu Intrepids' location deep inside the reserve guarantees close encounters with Samburu's shyer species, including elephant, leopard and Samburu famous 'special five' - the rare reticulated giraffe, long-necked genernuk antelope, Somali ostrich, Grevy's zebra, and majestic Beisa oryx. This luxurious tented lodge offers modern tents with a private view over the riverbanks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp Hotel Samburu National Reserve
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp Kenya/Samburu National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing