We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience, we miss it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great experience, we miss it!”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at Samburu Intrepids in May 2014 and loved it! I had been worried about traveling in the rainy season but we got lucky, it wasn't a problem at all. The weather was lovely -- a bit dusty (as expected), not too hot, not too cold. We went there with the arrangement of Chameleon tours. Flew in from Nairobi on a small plane and were met by our guide and driver, Jelly, right on the airstrip. Jelly drove us out into the bush right then and there, for about an hour and a half, before our first lunch. Within minutes we saw giraffes, elephants and tons of birds. It was amazing. There aren't enough good adjectives in my vocabulary to describe Jelly, he is a fantastic guide. He's like the animal whisperer, he just gets them. He can immitate their noises even to make them come a bit closer, he can spot things from miles away, he follows their tracks, he is sweet and gentle. Our tents were great. Our waiter, Kenneth, was fantastic. James was a barrel of laughs and energy. We enjoyed the talks he gave each night and learned a lot from him. I never imagined myself as someone who would want to go to a hotel-provided lecture, but honestly they were fantastic and I highly recommend them. After reading other reviews, I am surprised that some people were bothered by the sounds on the other side of the river. For us, that was a highlight and when we went to Maasai Mara, we missed those sounds. After all, that is the reality of village life! If anything, we would have wanted more contact with the local villagers, not less. HIghly recommend! Keep in mind, this is quite a big camp with capacity for about 60 people so that makes a difference, if you want a tiny intimate experience you might want a different place. We loved Samburu and are so glad we added it into our itinerary -- it is much smaller than Mara but the landscape is prettier and we actually saw more elephants and giraffes there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lasarilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard Y, Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to spend your holiday with us at Samburu Intrepids Camp. I am glad that the weather was favorable to you and that you had such an excellent time on your trip. Wonderful that you had Jelly as your guide and thank you for the marvelous comments you have mentioned about his guiding abilities. He is a true asset to us and it is very encouraging that you have noted all his excellent attributes. I can see that the other staff in the camp also made an impression on you and I just want you to know that all those that you mentioned will get a special recognition for their good work.
The community living on the other side of the river will always cause a controversy but I am glad that you appreciate their presence and the fact that they belong here since it has been there land for many generations.
Once again thank you for coming to Samburu and hopefully we will see you again in the not so distant future.

Best regards,
Richard Yoga.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    71
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
154
150
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed 3 nights and loved the place, the people and the food. Best of all was the family tent (2 spacious interconnected tents) !
We also thank James for the nice presentations and activities with kids!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank fdocx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard Y, Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this excellent review about Samburu Intrepids Camp. We are happy that your family had a wonderful stay with us. James is an excellent attendant for the kids and I am sure he will be exited to read your excellent feedback about him.

We hope that you will plan another holiday to Samburu Intrepids soon.

Best regards,
Richard Yoga.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Very comfortable tented camp/lodge experience with excellent game viewing and bird life.
Nice to have a pool area, meals and night time entertainment were excellent. Sound of the wild were mixed with sounds of Masai cattle bells, donkeys, and greetings because the other side of the river is communal land - but this did not detract from the overall experience which was wonderful.

Room Tip: Family orientated and child friendly so not a pristine wildlife experience if that is what you seek...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hglynjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard Y, Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to spend your holiday at Samburu Intrepids Camp. It is our joy to know that you had a fantastic stay with us. I am glad you got to experience some wonderful game viewing and bird life. Samburu Game reserve has a lot to offer especially if you consider the “special five” which are only found in the Northern part of Kenya.

Thank you once again and I hope that you will plan to visit us again in the not so distant future.

Best regards,
Richard Yoga.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This place was heavenly!! The tents were over the top luxurious and the staff were exceptional!! I was able to observe Tilas & James do an evening presentation on the Samburu culture as well as the special 5 species to see at this individual reserve.

We had a special experience of having two elephants feeding outside I out tent balcony ~25 yards away. So special !

Food was great. Wake up call was special with coffee/tea/biscuit delivery.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank druzzo5030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard Y, Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Guest,

“Heaven on Earth” is the most majestic description for any place. The team here at Samburu Intrepids Camp is very humbled by the excellent review you have posted about your stay. Tilas and James are very precious to employees to us because they add so much value to the guest stay. I am glad that they made a good impression on your experience as well.

The joy of a safari is definitely to see the wildlife up-close and for you I think this was an added bonus; to see the elephants so close to your tent. Thank you for taking time to send this review and we hope to see you at Samburu Intrepids again for a repeat visit.

Best regards,
Richard Yoga.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed there for 2 nights in April and had a great time. The animals were plentiful and the staff was excellent. Dom, our guide, was very informative and knew the park well.

I would recommend this for families because of the kids club. The food was ok but besides that the trip was awesome.

Room Tip: Plan on having about $150 USD (13,000 KSH) for tips for a 2 day stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GinoOdjick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard Y, Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Samburu Intrepids Camp. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience at the camp and on the game drives as well. I wish to thank you for mentioning our very experienced guide Dominic. He is one of the best at what he does and he is always focused on his job.

As you have rightly recommended, Samburu Intrepids Camp is ideal for families since we have a very active kids club. The attendants at the club are very friendly with the kids and they have a host of activities which keep the kids busy, happy and educate them at the same time.

Thank you once again for taking time to write this review and I truly hope that you will visit us again in the not so distant future.

Best regards,
Richard Yoga.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Having read all the positive reviews of Intrepids, we choose Intrepids over other excellent lodges in Samburu. We had a nice stay but expected more.
Price was good but a couple of things made us think it was a bit average. First of all, the lodge is located in Samburu at the river bank but at the other side there are human settlements with cattle. Some of these cows have bells around their neck. Also at night. So you can imagine...
The dining area is also very dark and you do not have a clear view on the river. A pity, especially when the weather is beautiful.
Service was very good and the people of Intrepids did everything to make us feel welcome.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank koends12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard Y, Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to send our special greetings to you and thank you for having chosen to stay at Samburu Intrepids Camp during your recent safari holiday.
I would like to appreciate your positive feedback on your experience at the camp and I am glad that the service offered by our team left a good impression on your mind.
Please allow me to comment on the shortcomings that you have highlighted in this review. I agree with you that it is common to see cattle being brought to the river by the locals to drink some water. This is mainly because the land across the river adjacent to our camp is community land. The river acts as a boundary between the game reserve and the community settlements. Initially when we built our camp the population in these areas was very small but because of our efforts to continually support the community mainly by providing medical services from our clinic the numbers around us has increased over the years.
Our ultimate goal would be to see these areas converted into conservation land for preservation of nature and wildlife and to this end we are committed to working with the county government and the local community leaders to make this happen.
The other area of concern is the dining room lighting. Our lighting system works on dimmer switches and since we do candle lit sit down dinner menus in the evenings we prefer to dim the lights to create that elegant effect. Otherwise it can easily be adjusted on guest request.
As for the view of the river, I can say that we do have a lot of brush growing along the river banks. These can sometimes conceal the view while the guest is dinning in the restaurant. We tend to trim it and create viewing windows but we try not to cut them down because we want to avoid any form of erosion. Since the rains are with us now we will embark on trimming them immediately to get that very important view of the river.
Finally please accept our apologies for any inconveniences caused by the above mentioned issues. We truly hope that this will not dampen your enthusiasm for the Intrepids brand and we look forward to your repeat visit.

Best regards,
Richard Yoga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mattawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2014

An excellent lodge. Located within the reserve, arriving was an exciting game drive in itself. The tents were luxurious, spacious and clean. The food was great and we found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyPaavola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard Y, Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking some precious moments of your time to post this very excellent review about your stay at Samburu Intrepids Camp. You have really captured the essence of our hospitality very well in your narration and we are most grateful that you chose to spend your safari holiday with us. We are happy that you mentioned the friendliness of the staff and the great meal experience. Thank you for adding the stunning tent photos as well.

We hope that you will visit us again when you plan for your next holiday.

Best wishes,
Richard Yoga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samburu National Reserve
16.1 mi away
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shaba National Reserve
344 reviews
7.8 mi away
Elephant Bedroom Camp
Elephant Bedroom Camp
#3 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
323 reviews
13.1 mi away
Ashnil Samburu Camp
Ashnil Samburu Camp
#4 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Saruni Samburu
Saruni Samburu
#1 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
279 reviews
3.0 mi away
Samburu Sopa Lodge
Samburu Sopa Lodge
#7 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
224 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sentrim Samburu Lodge
Sentrim Samburu Lodge
#13 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp

Property: Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Address: Archers Post, Samburu National Reserve 74888, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Samburu District > Samburu National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Samburu National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samburu Intrepids' location deep inside the reserve guarantees close encounters with Samburu's shyer species, including elephant, leopard and Samburu famous 'special five' - the rare reticulated giraffe, long-necked genernuk antelope, Somali ostrich, Grevy's zebra, and majestic Beisa oryx. This luxurious tented lodge offers modern tents with a private view over the riverbanks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp Hotel Samburu National Reserve
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp Kenya/Samburu National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing