We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Samburu Heaven.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Samburu Heaven.”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Arrived 26th May 2014 for 3 nights. Flew in from Nairobi by Safari Link, about a hour flight, great flight. We were greeted by Dominic, who checked all our paper work and then drove us to the camp, about 2 minutes. After a quick check in, a refreshing drink and info about the camp we were led to our tent. The tents are fantastic, everything you need Shower, toilet, toiletries, double bed and a veranda. In the evening the steward turns your bed down, puts the mossie net down and puts a hot water bottle in your bed. There are 2 game drives per day, 6.30 and 15.30. You are awoken in the morning (time arranged the night before) by your steward, who brings Tea, Coffee or Hot Chocolate and cookies. Dominic was our driver and he was brilliant, very knowledgeable and funny, he knew where to find all the animals (on our first drive he found a Leopard). After the evening game drive before dinner, you could meet Tilas or James, who would give talks about the animals, the local culture and Samburu tribes. The talks lasted about 30 minutes and were very interesting. The food was excellent, real five star. Our waiter was Josephat and he would look after all our dining needs. The whole camp was fantastic from the tents to the bar area, to the pool, to the reception. Kenneth the bar man, Maurice and the rest of the staff were brilliant. Richard the camp Manager had been away, but on our last day he returned and the first thing he did was to come and meet his guests to make sure everything was ok. That's customer service. Would I return to Samburu Intrepids, try and keep me away.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pkaysheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard Y, Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Samburu Intrepids Camp during your recent safari holiday in Kenya. We are very grateful that you took some precious moments from your time to post this excellent review about our facility.
I have noted with great delight that you have given a very comprehensive account of your experience right from the reception at the airstrip, check in at the camp, description of our facilities in the tent and the services offered by our very competent associates.
Your special mention of Dominic, Tilas, James, Kenneth and Josephat is greatly appreciated; this will earn them a special recognition for their exemplary performance.
We are truly humbled by all your beautiful comments about our service delivery and we eagerly look forward to your repeat visit.

Best regards,
Richard Yoga.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    68
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
149
148
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed there on a recent Safari to Samburu and loved the camp. The people were awesome and the grounds and accommodations were great. The location was prime within the reserve. I would highly recommend this place and would look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buzzaldren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard Y, Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen to stay at Samburu Intrepids Camp for your recent safari holiday. We appreciate your rating of our facility which was nothing less than a perfect score and also for highly recommending our people and camp grounds.
We hope that this will not be your last visit to Samburu Intrepids Camp. We look forward to your return visit.

Regards,
Richard Yoga.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Lovely setting on the river bank, very comfortable "tents" with proper bathrooms, really great bar/sitting/eating deck and even a swimming pool/sun area. Wildlife all around, game drives really good with our very knowledgeable Intrepids guide Dominic in open land-rovers - we saw lion, leopard, cheetah, Reticulated Giraffe, Grevy Zebra, Grants Gazelle and all the other Samburu wildlife except the blue-legged ostrich (they eluded us!). Resident naturalists Tilas and James run the in-camp information centre and give very interesting short talks every evening on the wildlife and local Samburu people. Daily wildlife entertainment in the camp - from the constant monkeys to the visiting Genet during dinner, roosting bats, eagles nest with chick, roosting eagle owls and the evening when the elephants came in across the river. Food was excellent, and the staff all really friendly - even had personal nature walks inside the camp with one of the security staff (security from invading animals, not because of any human threat). We really couldn't think of anything the staff or camp could do better - thoroughly recommended

Room Tip: All tents are on raised platforms, have verandas and face the river - all are equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theoldpostoffice178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard Y, Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to spend your safari holiday at the Intrepids Camp in Samburu. Thank you as well for taking a few minutes of your time to write such a marvelous review about our camp. I am especially delighted by the different species of wild life that you managed to spot on your game drives. Samburu might be a small game reserve but it is teaming with a lot of interesting wildlife species. Well, since the Blue-legged Somali Ostrich eluded you then it means you need to come back for a repeat visit to find it.
You have mentioned a few of our staff and I am glad you did that because Tilas, James and Dominic are the best of the best. They really improve the quality of the guest stay and we are very privileged to have these high performing associates as part of our team. Your acknowledgement of their good work is much appreciated and for this they will get a special recognition from the management.
I truly hope that this will not be your last visit to Samburu and more so to the Intrepids Camp. We look forward to meeting you again in the not so distant future.

Best regards,
Richard Yoga.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Tents comfortable and pretty with gorgeous views of the river, every meal was lovely (from the morning coffee and cookies in our tent ).
The grounds and pool area are spotlessly clean with very naughty monkeys leaping around.
Very high quality guides.
The thing that made this camp exceptional for me were the truly excellent staff - they all seemed to have a huge personal interest in guests having a great time and the camp doing well - every member of staff was brilliant however worth a special mention cleothus, Dominic and Duncan who looked after us the most and made sure we had the best time .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YorkMinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard Y, Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I want to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay Samburu Intrepids Camp. I am happy that your stay at our camp was of great worth to you. We always try to maintain the level of cleanliness in our facility and thank you for mentioning this on your comments. I am also very happy about that the associates that you have mentioned because it shows that you value the effort that they put into their work. This is always a great morale booster and at the same time they will be recognized with a small award for their good work.
I hope that this will not be your last visit to Samburu and that you will plan for a second trip in the not so distant future.

Best regards,
Richard Yoga.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We travelled in february with my 2 children (4 and 3 years). We had really a great welcome. family tent perfect for children, close to swimming pool and the closest to the bar, so after supper when they went to sleep we could stay at the bar without any problem.
The game drives were just fabulous we had very nice views, including on the way in and back at around noon at the river we saw not less than 100 elephants!
Thanks to samburu intrepids!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Tommaso L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard Y, Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We at Samburu Intrepids want to thank you for choosing to spend your holiday at our camp. We also want to say thank you for taking the time to write these wonderful review about our facility. It is a good place to come with your family and the family tents are just the perfect accommodation when you are traveling with the kids.
We are truly grateful and we hope that you will plan to come back for your next holiday.

Best regards,
Richard Yoga.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
133 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The family headed to Intrepids in our first time to Samburu. The hotel is very good located on the Awaso Nyero river. All tents have a view on the river and are very clean with good facilities. The kids club is very special for that hotel and the swimming pool is a good relaxation between game drives. The food is very nice and set menu which is not the normal practice in many lodges in safari. The hotel is in the centre the actions in the park and there is always something you and your kid can do. Visiting a Samburu village, or watch the wild life lecture before dinner. Samburu is a very special place to visit with its 5 special animals that you can never see outside Samburu.

Room Tip: For families traveling together with kids, it is highly recommended to book one of the 2 family tent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mansi66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard Y, Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to spend your safari holiday at Samburu Intrepids Camp. Our facility is especially well suited for families since we have both the Kids Club for children below 12 and the Young Rangers Club for the teenagers. I am sure that the kids were kept busy with activities all through the day by our kid’s attendants. I am so glad that you also enjoyed the game drives and the food. The Chef here will always go out of his way to do special menus for the kids.
As you have put it we hope that this will not be your last visit to Samburu Intrepids and we look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,
Richard Yoga.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2014

It is hard to find new ways to explain why we love Samburu Intrepids so. I think it’s the delightful mix of charmingly comfortable tents, warm & genuine welcome, good food, great staff & fantastic wildlife.
As before, we had an amazingly fantastic stay with all our requests being met by the efficient team lead by Richard & Florence. Everyone is unfailingly delightful & helpful. Our guide Jelly did us proud again with outstanding game drives – 3 leopards & happy picnics amongst the ele’s. Special mention to Tilas, Mary & Geoffery for taking such good care of us & to Ken for taking the time to come & say Hi when he returned from his trip home during our visit. The kitchen staff always turn out excellent food & there is always a vegetarian option; not to mention our delicious picnics. It seems wrong to single out people for special mention when everyone is involved in making our stay so enjoyable, but particular thanks to Nuno for the early morning coffee & hot chocolate wake up call.
We consider Samburu Intrepids our home away from home & look forward to being there again before too long.
Thanks to all the staff for making our holiday so special.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterMaeers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard Y, Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Once again we thank you for visiting Samburu Intrepids again. This is now your fourth visit and I am glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Thank you for all the wonderful comments and commendations for the camp and the staff. They are all so excited every time you mention them on the reviews. We look forward to your next visit and wish you all the best for the rest of this year.

Best regards,
Richard Yoga.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samburu National Reserve
16.1 mi away
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shaba National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
7.8 mi away
Elephant Bedroom Camp
Elephant Bedroom Camp
#3 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
13.1 mi away
Ashnil Samburu Camp
Ashnil Samburu Camp
#4 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Saruni Samburu
Saruni Samburu
#1 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sentrim Samburu Lodge
Sentrim Samburu Lodge
#13 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lewa Safari Camp
Lewa Safari Camp
#2 of 57 in Laikipia County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp

Property: Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Address: Archers Post, Samburu National Reserve 74888, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Samburu District > Samburu National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Samburu National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samburu Intrepids' location deep inside the reserve guarantees close encounters with Samburu's shyer species, including elephant, leopard and Samburu famous 'special five' - the rare reticulated giraffe, long-necked genernuk antelope, Somali ostrich, Grevy's zebra, and majestic Beisa oryx. This luxurious tented lodge offers modern tents with a private view over the riverbanks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp Hotel Samburu National Reserve
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp Kenya/Samburu National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing