We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, but hot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Samburu Serena Safari Lodge
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This lodge is really great. The people at the lodge were wonderful. The buffet food was maybe a 7 (on a scale of 1 to 10) - OK but not outstanding. Game viewing was amazing, The pool has great views of game.
The only downside was the warmth of the rooms. They have big open sliding doors, with no screens (maybe for fear of animals getting in.) so they had to be kept closed to keep out insects In any case, the ventilation was pretty poor, so our room was around 81 to 82F day and night. Even with the ceiling fan on high, and just a sheet over us, sleeping was pretty sweaty. The other places we stayed out were much more comfortable for sleeping.

Room Tip: Ask about rooms with good ventilation - we did not, so that may have been our issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edward19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2013

If you want to really feel at one with nature this is the place to stay. Our first night we heard all the sounds of the bush including a lion killing. We visited the local Samburu tribe and had great safaris with Peter. The lodge was virtually empty - probably because the web site said it was closed (which it was after the flood of 2010!!)
Having stayed at other lodges the Lodge was very laid back but this was probably most of its charm.
It was very interesting to meet John who is being sponsored by the Serena group on his research into giraffes - if you go there and see a lone diner invite him to join you as he has lots of fascinating information on the Park. I am not sure why the Lodge don't serenade their sponsorship but it was nice to hear about.
Food was repetitive but I can imagine its remoteness was part of the cause.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SnazzySazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Our trip to Kenya was what really got me interested in buying an SLR camera and investing in a few courses to learn how to use it properly. It was worth the investment as when you get to places like Samburu you literally get transfixed by the beauty of the African wilderness. There are many wonderful parks in Kenya but Samburu had in my opinion something special in the air. Really felt like going back in time to how things should be! The lodge also helps you get in that mood as it is laid back, the food is excellent and you feel totally integrated with the nature around you - rooms were slightly hot in the period we were there in July, but despite this detail, I still give our experience in Samburu a 5 out of 5!

Room Tip: The rooms were a bit hot at night in July but this is probably less of an issue during other cooler...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AlderleyEdgeTiger007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Fine rooms, Good food, excellent game viewing - some animals rarely seen other than here - Gerenuk, Beisa Oryx, Reticulated Giraffe, Grevy Zebra. Great place to start a Kenya safari, then work south.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lajollabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Although this lodge is under construction at the moment I hope it opens shortly with the many lovely features that were there originally there.

We stayed at this lodge in 2004 taking the domestic flight to Nairobi and our driver meeting us with our main luggage as this was a long safari with various stops.

On arrival at the lodge we were amazed to be greeted by the GM Edwin of the Mara Serena and assistant GM who had transferred and was lovely to catch up with them.

Samburu lodge was/is situated on the banks of the Usaaso Nyiro river in the centre of the Samburu National Reserve in the Northern Provence.

Mount Kenya is in the distance and the landscape is inhabited by loads of different bird species.

Thw lodge itself is Masai themed and blends in with with the materials of the Samburu tribe.

There are thatched cabins and cottages with private verandas with beautiful views of the river and the wildlife it attracts as well as the great amount of crocs that make the river their home.

There is an outside pool with loungers and tables umbrellas and fresh towels

The open air dining room overlooks the swimming pool and the Uaaso river with superb food.

The Kiboko bar is located in the lodge and the pool terrace bar has upper and lower pool terraces serving drinks coffee and tea.

We actually booked the camel ride as there for two days and what breathtaking views across the plains and we followed the Uaaso Nyiro River with craggy purple mountans in the background.

We rode back along the shallow sandy banks of the river and saw an abundance of wildlife coming down to drink.

Our first evening there we arrived quite late and were tired with the early start to the airport and game drive when we saw a lot of animals especially elephant.

We decided on room service.

We had a cabin which was beautiful with two large beds a lovely en suite bathroom and spotless.

There was a lawn at the front and then views of the river.

There was a knock on the door and I fully expected a tray service but lo and behold they had set a candlelit table on the lawn with damask cloth and allocated a waiter in the background to serve and take our plates when fnished.

A lovely thoughtful touch.

We were up early for the early morning game drive the next day refreshed and saw many game and were sorry to leave our friends behind and the beautiful environment.

We shall certainly be back when construction is finished.

Asante to all staff for making our stay so special.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank malaikascotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2011

Arriving late afternoon to the wonderful views .pool so close to the reserve was a dream come true! The rooms and staff were superb,food excellent and we were made so welcome by all.Our group of 10 were the only guest for our 3 night stay and felt like celebrities!
Super Lodge and amazing location!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SandyPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

I'm a tour leader and have stayed at Samburu Serena over 20 times. Actually, my last stay was in June 2009 but this site doesn't let you go back that far. I'm only writing to say that the previous reviewer probably didn't stay at Serena because it was totally destroyed in a flash flood in March 2010. I was at Samburu in June 2010 and the lodge wasn't open, but I saw the damage and it's extensive. Serena plans to rebuild on higher ground and reopen in July 2011, the last I heard.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MicheleAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samburu National Reserve
0.0 mi away
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shaba National Reserve
367 reviews
0.0 mi away
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented ...
#2 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
491 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sentrim Samburu Lodge
Sentrim Samburu Lodge
#14 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Samburu Sopa Lodge
Samburu Sopa Lodge
#6 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
255 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saruni Samburu
Saruni Samburu
#1 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
314 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ashnil Samburu Camp
Ashnil Samburu Camp
#5 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samburu Serena Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samburu Serena Safari Lodge

Address: PO Box 48690, Samburu National Reserve, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Samburu District > Samburu National Reserve
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Samburu National Reserve
Price Range: £61 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Samburu Serena Safari Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the fertile banks of the Uaso Nyiro River at an altitude of 700 meters, in the center of the Samburu Game Reserve Kenya, Samburu Serena Safari Lodge echoes the robust rhythms of river front life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Samburu Serena Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samburu Serena Safari Hotel Samburu National Reserve
Samburu Serena Safari Lodge Kenya/Samburu National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing