We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Elephant Bedroom Camp
Nearby Hotels
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge(Shaba National Reserve)
US$339
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maiyan(Nanyuki Town)
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Hotel(Nanyuki Town)
US$49
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Grande Hotel(Isiolo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Alba Hotel Meru(Meru Town)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Wind Hotel(Meru Town)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Reviews (375)
Filter reviews
375 results
Traveller rating
302
67
4
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
302
67
4
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunge poolthe rivergame drivesguide anthonyon stiltssafe distanceeating breakfastelephants walkingwithin touching distancecool waterdining areaewaso nyiro riverlunch and dinnerluxury tentsgreat wildlifeeast africawildlife viewing
Filter
Updating list...
236 - 241 of 375 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Because of the rains when I was in camp in November we were not lucky enough to see any visiting elephants but we could see them on the banks of the river. I have stayed in several safari camps in Kenya but Elephant bedroom offered the biggest tent I have ever seen. The staff were friendly and courteous and the food was excellent. Game drives were professionally conducted and I would definitely return to Elephant Bedroom and recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: All tents are extremely comfortable and have good views
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newgranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The 12 tented bedrooms are spacious and beautifully finished combining Kenyan, Moroccan and Western touches. The ‘front door’ of each room is a zip which opens onto your private veranda and plunge pool (big enough for four people!) overlooking the rugged doum palm-lined banks of the on the Ewaso Nyiro River where you can see animals passing by unaware of their audience.

We saw lions, leopards and a cheetah thanks to our wonderful Elephant Bedroom Camp guides!

Each night we were joined by the other guests around the camp fire, swapping fresh and time-honoured wildlife stories over gin and tonics late into the night.

Before bed on night 2 one of us group spotted a tiny genet cat eating moths in a close-by tree!.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank SelfieJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

fantastic camp - took awhile to find the lions but so worth the wait - elephants roaming round the camp day and night just added to the experience ! all of the staff were friendly and helpful and the ' sun downers ' went down a treat.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

What an amazing place! I highly recommend this camp for a fantastic safari experience. Our guides Anthony and James were friendly, interesting and knowledgable and made the safari experience unforgettable. We had excellent views of lion, leopard and cheetah during the trip, and there is plenty to see in addition to the superb game drives. On the first morning I was woken up by staff to be shown an elephant sleeping metres from our tent! During breakfast we had an amazing view of a herd of elephants and troop of baboons strolling along the other side of the river bank.
The staff were super helpful and polite and we also met other lovely guests. The choice and amount of food offered was great, and the quality was good. The bedrooms are very comfortable and spacious.....switch off the lights when you go to dinner in the evening to avoid attracting bugs though!
A magical experience and I hope that I get the opportunity to return in the future. Thanks to everyone at the camp!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Alice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Samburu is very green due to the rains, and the Ewaso Nyiro river was flowing quite well.
Elephant Bedroom Camp is located very close to the river, so it's nice to sit back on the deck outside your tent, watching baboons, birds and elephants nearby. There's an outdoor plunge pool on the deck as it can get very hot during the day.
The rooms are very spacious, clean and almost insect-proof.
The en suite shower/toilet/dressing area is large enough with a shower, twin sinks, dressing gowns, slippers and toiletries.
The staff are very friendly, and Julius is a good driver/guide. On the 2nd day, we were caught in the middle of a storm while on an afternoon game drive, and all of us in our group were worried about crossing the dry riverbed which could have been flooded by the time we got back to Camp. Even though the dry riverbed had started getting full, Julius very smartly navigated us safely through the river bed and back to Camp in time for delicious bitings & sundowners.
The best part of the Camp is the fact that a few elephants sometimes walk through the camp, especially Sam & Obama. Sam came by twice, once when we were just about to have coffee after lunch, and the 2nd time when we were inside our tent getting ready to leave at 7 a.m., he just quietly strolled past the front of our tent, stood by the side of our tent when we lifted the tent flap, looked straight at us (while we held our breaths and took a step back), and then just continued walking past towards the back of our tent. This does seem part of their route.
Ask to stay in Tent No.4, that's where all the elephants come closest to.
I'm tempted to say it may not be child-friendly, but there were lots of small children around. So definitely adult supervision is required, as I can't imagine what would happen if unsupervised children encountered these elephants on their own.
What I wasn't too thrilled about; the lack of privacy due to the closeness of the tents next to each other and the food was mediocre.
Other than that, it is a wonderful place to stay.
And I would definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: Tent No. 4 is where the elephants walk by as part of their route.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaheentherani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews