We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best.Trip.Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elephant Bedroom Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We spent two nights at the Elephant Bedroom Camp in July. This had actually been the camp which started our planning of our African safari, as friends had stayed there the previous year and their pictures convinced us we had to go. It was amazing! Sam the elephant spent a lot of time in the camp, so close ups were easy. The tents were comfortable, plunge pools a lovely luxury and the food excellent. We liked the portion sizes and variety and were amazed at what could be produced in limited electricity a day! The staff were great - making sure every guest had an amazing experience. Samburu is a lovely reserve - we saw so much - one day we sat in the vehicle surrounded by 45 elephants peacefully grazing. The whole place, people and ambience were outstanding. Everyone needs a few days in this camp!

Room Tip: All the tents are fine - its not a party place. Wind is more likely to keep you awake (or elephants...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caseycatkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

Yes,you hang out with the elephants,monkeys and baboons,if you stay at this very nice tented camp. The tents are on the river bank.,where you can watch parade of elephants and even baboons crossing the river. Samburu Game Reserve is teeming with animals and we were lucky to have exciting game drives. The tents are spacious,clean with comfortable beds and hot water showers. We were requested to zip up the tent and lock it to keep the monkeys from getting into the tent and getting into your things.
There are two lovable resident elephants that stroll in out of the camp area. We were told that the smaller one,Sam and the larger one,Obama (yes really) have been hanging out here since the camp was set up. Lunch and sometimes breakfast is served outside on the grounds but when the elephants come marching in, the staff and security ask us to move up the steps to the dining room. We can have a nice view of the elephants from the deck. Once the elephants pass we were allowed to back to our tables.We were surprised to see the elephants gently make their way around the chairs and tables without knocking or even touching them. Sam and Obama made our day every time they came for a visit. Of course there were so many monkeys and baboons to make you giggle with their antics.
The staff is very friendly. They always escort you from and to your tent when it is dark for safety reasons. Julius was always there to answer questions and kept us laughing with his sense of humor. Food for the most part was ok but one dinner specially stands out as it was quite bad. We vegetarians were served frozen pizza that was cold. We sent the pizza back and it came back and tasted like it was microwaved. Wine that was served tasted quite stale,reason being lack
of proper storage.
In spite of these little problems we had a great time. We were thrilled by our fabulous game drives and a cold pizza and a glass of stale wine did not ruin our time there. We were there for two nights.
Wifi was better at the dinning room lobby but not very strong.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bluesage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is a wonderful tented camp. The staff are friendly and helpful, the food (both choice and standard) was very good, and the views and visitors (ellies!) were outstanding. We have visited many similar camps around Kenya, and had many wonderful safaris, but this was outstanding. We drove ourselves around the park, and had the best sightings of lions, cheetahs and leopard - but also enjoyed seeing Grevy's Zebra, Oryx, Vulturine Guinea-fowl and Somalia Ostrich for the first time. This was a really lovely place to spend a couple of days, loved every minute. Our daughters (aged 8 and 11) loved the plunge pool, hammock and chatty staff, my husband and I enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere!!

Room Tip: We stayed in tent no. 3 and ellies visited us twice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LisaO634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This was our 2 nd tented camp we stayed in on our safari in Kenya . What luxury awaited in the middle of no where . The staff where excellent nothing was a problem . Even escorting you back to your tent after dinner . The food was fantastic great choice in such a remote area . Even in writer the splash pool was really appreciated after a dust game drive . Sure they work on generator but the timing is perfect . It is fantastic to see that they respect the elephants and other wild life that are allowed to wonder freely around the camp including the elephants disrupting breakfast or lunch which means the guests move to the veranda leaving your food while the elephants roam free . The staff are absolutely five star even organising a sunset sipper on a fantastic sunset . The game viewing is also exceptional . we always felt very safe with guards patrolling at all times .

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

An elegant intimate luxurious tented camp privately located under Doum Palm trees on the banks of mighty Ewaso Nyiro River. Giraffe Elephants Baboons Gazelle all grazing quietly nearby is surreal. Drinks on the river bank at sunset was a highlight. Excellent food, warm friendly team. The game viewing is exceptional. I will be back soon. Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoMcLaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We have been 5 times so far to Elephant bedroom camp,it truly is fabulous and still my most favourite place out of all the places in Kenya that I have visited,for tented accommodation it is so comfortable with fab views of the river,and visits from Elephants.
The staff are absolutely fabulous Joseph,Julius,James and Anthony.
The rooms are comfortable spacious and just fabulous we have always been well looked after and I cannot wait until my next visit.if you want a great safari fabulous accommodation and food then visit Elephant bedroom camp in Samburu!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JackieNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The tents are spacious, the food was excellent, and the game drives very well done. Breakfast and lunch are served at a lovely area near the river, and dinner is served in the main dining area. On two consecutive days our lunch was temporarily interrupted by an elephant affectionately named Obama who strode into the lunch area and we followed orders to abandon ship and get up to the main dining area. All in all, the elephant walked right past and didn't bother anyone. At night elephants were close by the tent making noise and bumping against trees attempting to knock down fruit. We had a chance to meet the owner of this spot later in our trip, and they have gone to great ends to make this place really nice. A wonderful tented camp experience. We also made arrangements to visit one of the Samburu villages nearby and that was quite an experience. Lots of good animal viewing and a very pleasant place to stay. Our tent had a "soaking tub" on a nice deck in front of the tent.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank bonemd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samburu National Reserve
8.9 mi away
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shaba National Reserve
362 reviews
7.8 mi away
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented ...
#2 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
485 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ashnil Samburu Camp
Ashnil Samburu Camp
#5 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Samburu Sopa Lodge
Samburu Sopa Lodge
#6 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
251 reviews
9.6 mi away
Saruni Samburu
Saruni Samburu
#1 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
306 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sentrim Samburu Lodge
Sentrim Samburu Lodge
#14 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Bedroom Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Bedroom Camp

Address: Pio Gama Pinto Road | Westlands, Samburu National Reserve 00100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Samburu District > Samburu National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Samburu National Reserve
Price Range: £418 - £440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Elephant Bedroom Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elephant Bedroom Camp offers luxury in a setting of breathtaking beauty. It is set along the banks of the Ewaso Nyiro River and shaded by doum palms and other trees that make up this green belt of riverine forest in Samburu National Reserve. The surrounding Samburu National Reserve is an area of spectacular scenery; its dry plains bisected by the meandering river, with the backdrop of Africa's dramatic mountains, including Mt Kenya. The spacious tents have rustic and colourful African touches, offering all the comforts; including a private plunge pool on the deck, hot and cold running water, electricity (and complimentary herbal shower and bath products.)​ The lounge and dining area is decorated with vibrant safari style, its soft intimate lighting assuring that this is the ultimate place to relax in between exciting game drives. Elephant, Monkeys, Impalas are amongst the camp's many regular wild visitors, whilst Samburu National Reserve has a good number of lions and leopards and offers the opportunity to see many species endemic to northern Kenya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Elephant Bedroom Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Bedroom Camp Hotel Samburu National Reserve
Elephant Bedroom Camp Kenya/Samburu National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing