We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Lodge in the midst of the Desert”
Review of Samburu Sopa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Samburu Sopa Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Lodge in the midst of the Desert”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My stay here was excellent,the rooms here are delightfully and tastefully built,The lodge has a miniature watering point next to the restaurant,where you can see all sorts of Bird-life,warthogs,dik dik and lots of gazelles,Occasionaly if you are lucky you will spot a lion as you enjoy your breakfast,lunch or dinner.The bar has an array of signature cocktails and premium whiskeys so my evening was well sorted...Top that up with excellent food and outstanding hospitality from the staff.

Room Tip: They have two wings and both are nicely located,so you can enjoy the sunset right at your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeHassan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    108
    24
    5
    2
See reviews for
46
103
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The Samburu Sopa Lodge was one of the best experiences I have had at any facility (ignoring the fact that leading up to my two nights here I was camping for two weeks, so anything seemed lavish after that).
The staff was amazing and helpful, even going so far as to get me a coffee pot during the "in between time" after breakfast and before lunch when there is usually none available. They did everything with a smile on their faces and made the experience that much better. Security was very good about escorting people to their rooms at night as well (remember, you're in the middle of an unfenced reserve)
The lodge itself was stunning, situated right in the middle of the Samburu National Reserve. The bar/eating areas overlooks the reserve and is absolutely stunning day or night. The food was buffet style and was a major treat (omelets cooked to order for breakfast = fantastic.
The rooms were nice, with a porch that overlooked the reserve, a great place to relax before bed. Beds were comfortable (they even brought in a third bed when they found out that we were three guys staying in a two bed room).

I had a great time here and would be likely to return on my next visit to Kenya.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

An awesome facility to base from for the Safari experience in the desert climate of the Samburu National Reserve of Kenya, Africa. Staff was excellent, great food, rooms and public areas always clean and welcoming. A very safe place in the middle of the Big 5 Habitat. Lion, Giraffe, Elephant all within a few miles of the Lodge. Road leading to this remote are were a bit on the rough side, but really added to the adventure.

Room Tip: While any location is peaceful, the rooms farther from the main lodge offer dead silence and more ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandFlogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed as a large family group ( teens to fifties ) and this lodge exceeded our expectations. It provided a very comfortable and welcoming base for game drives and animal / bird watching in the immediate vicinity if the lodge. Good food with lots of choice and variety , spacious quiet rooms with well appointed bathrooms. Colourful Samburu dancers and a local choir provided some true African Christmas spirit and the present given to every guest was a thoughtful touch. All the staff were friendly and helpful.The clean swimming pool and comfortable sunbeds were very welcome after a hot morning's game drive. Drinks, including water, are not included in the price ( although a small bottle of water is provided for each guest daily) and the bar bill can build up rapidly with thirsty teenagers.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Espagne
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

This was the simpler lodge we were staying at during our safari in Kenya, we were a little afraid, and it was much better than expected, you can stay at it with total confidence, for sure. Not luxurious but very correct and comfortable.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huizen
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

nice lodge in a stunning landscape. It was a bit quiet in this time of year and because of the rains many animals migrated north. But the sitting at the lodge whatching the surroundings is amazing. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are huge!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeroen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

If your looking to escape the troubles of the concrete jungle and crave for an experience where you feel one with nature, and I mean truly feel one with nature, then Samburu Sopa Lodge is your destination. We were fortunate enough to spend 5 days at the lodge and what was most memorable about it was the fact that the hotel and it's lodges were designed to integrate seamlessly with their surroundings giving them an authentic and stunning appeal with their manyatta-esque design, the bush thickets retained as gardens and the rugged look of the landscape. It just felt so wild without actually being in the wild. Then there's the diversity of bird species and lizards, if you're a bird watcher this will feel like bird heaven, their everywhere and each beautiful in it's own unique way. The game drives are a bit pricey(ksh.20,000 per drive), but if you have your own private means you can tag along with the tour guides for free, definitely worth exploring given the wide range of wildlife you see even as you drive into Samburu National Reserve. The food was generally Ok, not 5 star dining but tasty nonetheless. The Hotel service and hospitality was definitely 5 star though, our waiter who are individually assigned to each guests' table specifically throughout their stay, went out of his way to educate us on the origin and meanings behind the various indigenous names and people of the area and their rich history even as he continued to serve us diligently throughout our stay. Room service was timely and efficient and everything in our room was kept spick and span. All in all Sopa Samburu is a great remote retreat where you leave all the technological hurly-burly behind and embrace nature at it's divine best.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrRicoSlick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samburu National Reserve
13.4 mi away
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shaba National Reserve
357 reviews
3.0 mi away
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented ...
#2 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
469 reviews
10.5 mi away
Ashnil Samburu Camp
Ashnil Samburu Camp
#4 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Elephant Bedroom Camp
Elephant Bedroom Camp
#3 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
331 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kitich Camp
Kitich Camp
#13 of 21 in Samburu District
24 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Naivasha Crescent Camp
Lake Naivasha Crescent Camp
#15 of 41 in Naivasha
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samburu Sopa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samburu Sopa Lodge

Property: Samburu Sopa Lodge
Address: Samburu National Reserve 60302, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Samburu District > Samburu National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Samburu National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Samburu Sopa Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Jovago.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Samburu Sopa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samburu Sopa Hotel Samburu National Reserve
Samburu Sopa Lodge Kenya/Samburu National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing