We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place, well located with a hotel feel”
Review of Samburu Sopa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Samburu Sopa Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A nice place, well located with a hotel feel”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I visited the Sopa lodge on a weekend break from Nairobi with Big Time Holidays. It transpired that i was the only one and effectively had my own personal guide for an incredibly good price. It is a long way from town, 6 hours or so and there are a couple of instances where the guide stopped to speak to someone which resulted in the hounding of the Mzungu by hawkers, luckily i am well used to independent travel in this part of Africa and speak some swahili but to the uninitiated it could be a little daunting.

Sopa has a main lodge building with a nice bar area and decent size pool overlooking a small waterhole, for the first day i was the only one there and enjoyed incredible personal service and obscene amounts of good food, when a large group arrived the following day it reverted to the usual buffet style which meant I could give my bursting stomach a rest.

The rooms are well equipped with bathroom including hot water, a nice terrace and are spacious. Some of my fellow guests were vocal about the electricity only being on for a few hours a day, the lack of wifi and no air conditioning. This is the bush in East Africa, if you want that go to Las vegas.

Samburu is a wonderful reserve, it is the sixth I have been to in recent years and was the best, it is dry, peaceful and has an excellent array and variety of game. There was a tendency for guides to communicate 'finds' to each other however I did not witness any Mara style surrounding of animals.

Overall, and conscious that it was low season, I was truly impressed by this place. i will always prefer being under canvas however it was a trip I will always remember.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smarshy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    107
    24
    5
    2
See reviews for
44
101
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vojens, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2014

On our safari round Kenya aranged by mr. Vincent from KETAS SAFARI we stayed for two nights at Samburu Sopa Lodge. We felt at home right away. Every body were friendly and helpfull. I celebrated my birthday the day after our arrival.As an extra KETAS SAFARI and the Sopa Lodge had - without my knowledge - arranged a picnic in the bush in the afternon on our way back to the hotel from our wild life safari.. And what a picnic: with champagne, Samburu dance and nice food.
KETAS SAFARI and Sopa Lodge,Samburu are second to none.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pemik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horgen
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Arriving at lunch time from Nairobi after a night flight with almost no sleep, after checking in into our bungalow - we went immediately for lunch. It was a small buffet with simple but good food. Especially the soups have been outstanding thru out the whole stay.
The rooms are small bungalows with a terasse . The bath was small but clean. It is a little bit outdated but everything works and it's clean.
The staff was friendly and helpful. On arrival they provided us a good introduction. Time for meals as well as the time when power (diesel generated) was on have been clearly communicated.
From the terasse or the dining room we seen Dik-Dik's, Hornbills, Squirells etc.

Room Tip: our room 12b (13 does not exist) was pretty close to the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clovis, California
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We loved this little oasis and really enjoyed our brief stay here. I'm hoping(!) that I won't forget watching, what seemed to be, hundreds of baboons stroll by while we were having lunch. I mean, really, how cool is that???

The rooms were nice (it seemed like we all had our separate little cabanas), check out the night sky if you get a chance, AMAZING! The staff was so friendly and accommodating. The meals were all good (buffet style, so nothing out of the ordinary buffet), but certainly nothing to complain about.

There were a few people in our group who complained that it was "hot" and that there wasn't any air conditioning. Um, ok. You are in Africa in a National Reserve, not at a Holiday Inn in Hoboken, soooooo buck it up. It was March, so it wasn't that bad!! They do turn the electric off at certain times, so one might be prepared for that.

Wifi worked well in the bar, pool area when the electric was on, and it was free.

We enjoyed the pool one warm afternoon and it was very refreshing. I loved staying here, and would not mind one bit staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jperkin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My stay here was excellent,the rooms here are delightfully and tastefully built,The lodge has a miniature watering point next to the restaurant,where you can see all sorts of Bird-life,warthogs,dik dik and lots of gazelles,Occasionaly if you are lucky you will spot a lion as you enjoy your breakfast,lunch or dinner.The bar has an array of signature cocktails and premium whiskeys so my evening was well sorted...Top that up with excellent food and outstanding hospitality from the staff.

Room Tip: They have two wings and both are nicely located,so you can enjoy the sunset right at your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeHassan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The Samburu Sopa Lodge was one of the best experiences I have had at any facility (ignoring the fact that leading up to my two nights here I was camping for two weeks, so anything seemed lavish after that).
The staff was amazing and helpful, even going so far as to get me a coffee pot during the "in between time" after breakfast and before lunch when there is usually none available. They did everything with a smile on their faces and made the experience that much better. Security was very good about escorting people to their rooms at night as well (remember, you're in the middle of an unfenced reserve)
The lodge itself was stunning, situated right in the middle of the Samburu National Reserve. The bar/eating areas overlooks the reserve and is absolutely stunning day or night. The food was buffet style and was a major treat (omelets cooked to order for breakfast = fantastic.
The rooms were nice, with a porch that overlooked the reserve, a great place to relax before bed. Beds were comfortable (they even brought in a third bed when they found out that we were three guys staying in a two bed room).

I had a great time here and would be likely to return on my next visit to Kenya.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

An awesome facility to base from for the Safari experience in the desert climate of the Samburu National Reserve of Kenya, Africa. Staff was excellent, great food, rooms and public areas always clean and welcoming. A very safe place in the middle of the Big 5 Habitat. Lion, Giraffe, Elephant all within a few miles of the Lodge. Road leading to this remote are were a bit on the rough side, but really added to the adventure.

Room Tip: While any location is peaceful, the rooms farther from the main lodge offer dead silence and more ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandFlogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samburu National Reserve
13.4 mi away
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shaba National Reserve
351 reviews
3.0 mi away
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented ...
#1 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
462 reviews
10.5 mi away
Ashnil Samburu Camp
Ashnil Samburu Camp
#4 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Elephant Bedroom Camp
Elephant Bedroom Camp
#2 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
329 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sentrim Samburu Lodge
Sentrim Samburu Lodge
#12 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fisi Camp
Fisi Camp
#2 of 20 in Narok
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samburu Sopa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samburu Sopa Lodge

Property: Samburu Sopa Lodge
Address: Samburu National Reserve 60302, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Samburu District > Samburu National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Samburu National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Samburu Sopa Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Jovago.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Samburu Sopa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samburu Sopa Hotel Samburu National Reserve
Samburu Sopa Lodge Kenya/Samburu National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing