We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hills, a Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Broummana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Grand Hills Broummana is considered to be one of THE hotels in Lebanon. I personally didn't see the reason for all the hype, but it is certainly a nice hotel.

Its situated on the outskirts of Beirut, in the suburb Broummana, it has magnificent views of mountains on one side and downtown Beirut and sea on the other side (see my photos). For me the most impressive is actually a beautiful terrace around pool with its calm atmosphere and the view of Lebanon mountains .

Food and service were both ok, hotel very spacious, the decor opulent on the border of kitschy. The biggest drawback for anyone who came to Beirut for the sake of Beirut that it is some 30-45 minutes away from city centre (approx 20-30 US$ taxi).

In short, nothing to write home about, however a nice and pleasant hotel. I wouldn't mind staying in it again (if company paid for it as it has this time), however if your goal is to explore Beirut then choose something more central!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prekovici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hills, a Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2012

I stayed five nights at Grand Hills as a guest of the organisers of a conference held in the hotel's conference centre. The mixed reviews on this site proved to be accurate - lovely rooms but variable service, particularly at reception.

The drive from the airport up into the hills took around an hour and, while the location offers good views of the city and the sea, it does add cost and time to evening meals. I was allocated a double room with a large living room which I never used. The fixtures and fittings were all fine and the hotel has a range of shops (which never seemed to be open), restaurants (which had varying days for opening) and lots of places to wander around.

The reception staff varied considerably - one chap was surly and off-hand, another was rather more helpful. The female receptionist was generally very helpful. They could not change English pounds to Lebanese pounds despite the exchange rate being posted and I was taken to an ATM near the entrance to the car park by one of the junior lobby staff.

The Italian restaurant was fine although as I was the only person in it it was rather soulless. The main breakfast and 'international' restaurant was rather good and the staff reasonably competent and polite.

As soon as the conference finished, the hotel emptied and I was left for a couple of days with a handful of other guests as it was late March.

Would I stay here again? Probably not - there must be better (managed), friendlier and busier places than this.

Room Tip: Higher up rooms facing Beirut have good views
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin_Dillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

My Wife & i went there last December, Fabulous Hotel & spa, the staff were very helpful, Super Classy & elegant, Beautiful mountains View & Mediterranean Sea as well.
30 minutes away from Beirut, the restaurants selection is wide, italian, Japanese, lebanese...
I made reservation & contacted the Hotel by email from the USA, they were so professional & prompt reply.

Would love to go there in the summer, it is more enjoyable I guess.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nmbt211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Four nights at the Grand Hills gave me some time to review the many interesting features of this resort. First, I was there on business and spent each full day away from the property, so my impressions are limited to the public areas, my room, the front desk and breakfast.

The hotel is a wonder on many levels; the return on investment cannot make financial sense. The scale and general quality of the place is great. Very nice landscaping, terraced roofs, cobblestone drives, marble halls and more bronze statuary than in a J. Seward Johnson retrospective. The rooms are up to "western" standards with generous baths and king sized beds, all done to different interior styles. High ceilings helped create the feeling of spaciousness and a nice balcony off of the bedroom was large enough for four people to enjoy. Room service was prompt and the maid service was thorough.

The hotel is so sprawling that finding breakfast offered an involuntary tour through many ground floor public spaces and up to the second floor off of which is the outdoor pool and dining terrace. The front desk hands out a property map on check which is badly designed and confusing. There were a number of elevators, too, which made circulation additionally confusing.

Breakfast was disappointing. A 6 meter long buffet table with a number of chafing dishes was set up in the windowless hall leading to the terrace. I didn't check, but I don't think that there was any supplemental heat under any of them. As a result, every item was room-temperature, which is alarming with egg dishes and sausages. Service was hit and miss or completely unprofessional. Waiters skulked in doorways or removed plates that were only half-eaten. Tea was ordered by my client while meeting in the lounge and, after an hour, never appeared.

One note regarding the pool; it is very nice with great exposure to sun and views, however, there is a bizarre 2 meter tall chrome clock on a revolving pedestal mounted at the far end of the pool. It can't help the relaxing mood of the loungers there since it spins at an energetic rate that all but urges you to pack up and get on with your schedule.

The front desk was helpful and, while I was there, overwhelmed by a large wedding party that had commandeered the premises for two days. Needless to say, the amplified midnight reception was held in the courtyard under my window.

The location is beautiful with breathtaking views of the surrounding valleys and the city of Beirut far below. The ride to the airport was a convenient 25 minutes on a Saturday morning, arranged by the hotel using the local taxi.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank familytravelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 5 days because I was dealing with some rather tough stuff and needed to relax. We got to Grand Hills and I immediately thought, "We picked the right place to relax." Within minutes the staff began to prove me terribly, terribly wrong. I won't even begin to list all the various ways in which the staff members were, at best, incompetent, and, at worst, hideously full of themselves and downright rude.
We ended up speaking with the hotel manager who falls into the latter category - full of himself and rude.
By pure coincidence, I discovered that the hotel belongs to the Mouawad Jewelry Group. All this because I was interested in a ring in the store in the hotel but the store was always closed and when I asked about it, I was told they were shut down and no one seemed to know if they would ever re-open... With all the jewelry still in the store????? So I rang the Mouawad head office to ask about this ring and, as you do, got into a conversation with the lady with whom I spoke, about why I couldn't see it in the hotel, and what had happened. Anyway, very long story short, we ended up being given all sorts of major discounts and free nights at the hotel. However, that wasn't the point. I had gone to relax and it was a truly hideous experience.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mercedes71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Enjoyed the hotel. I stayed in a room with oriental/Japanese styling. The downside was wedding parties in the garden on the weekends which are extremely load and stay until 2am.

Room Tip: Find a room facing Beirut
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moonfull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

stayed here twice within 1 year, the 1st time was vacation with my wife, the 2nd was business meeting.
the area is amazing, just breathtaking views.
the room was clean, and good size.
food was average.
service in general was very poor and shocking.
u can find other hotels in the same area and definitely with better service .

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muathz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broummana
11.5 mi away
Pineland Hotel and Health Resort
8.0 mi away
Printania Palace
Printania Palace
#2 of 6 in Broummana
48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Crillon
Le Crillon
#3 of 6 in Broummana
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Al Bustan Hotel & Spa
Al Bustan Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Beit Mery
54 reviews
1.0 mi away
Phoenicia Hotel
Phoenicia Hotel
#2 of 116 in Beirut
762 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Gray Beirut
Le Gray Beirut
#1 of 116 in Beirut
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hills, a Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hills, a Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa

Address: Charkieh Main Road, Broummana 1204, Lebanon
Region: Lebanon > Mount Lebanon Governorate > Broummana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Broummana
Price Range: £152 - £317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hills, a Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most fascinating resorts in the region, Grand Hills, a Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa is also the home of an eclectic ensemble of over 1,200 pieces of art, sculptures, antiques and hand-crafted furniture that convey the compelling vision of the world's most prolific diamond collector. Nestled in Lebanon's popular mountain village of Broumana, the hotel offers an alluring sanctuary a cool 750 meters above sea level, and a convenient drive from the coast, ski slopes, buzzing downtown Beirut and Rafic Hariri International Airport. Spread out over 35,000 square meters, Grand Hills offers a picturesque pinewood pedestrian village setting with exquisite gardens and stunning views of both the mountains and gold coast of Beirut. The hotel's lobby and public spaces proudly reveal a mosaic of antiques and sculptures, each offering a glimpse of their fascinating history and the mastermind curator that acquired them. Grand Hills features 118 rooms and suites, including 62 Deluxe Rooms, 12 Grand Deluxe and 44 Luxury Suites. Each room is unique, with decor and hand-crafted furniture inspired by the exquisite antiques they contain from all over the world. In addition to the modern amenities and comforts expected by today's global explorers, all rooms and suites afford breathtaking views of the mountains, the sea, the gardens or the swimming pool. In addition, the village also incorporates 52 apartments offering views of the Sunrise and the Sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hills, a Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hills Hotel Broummana
Grand Hills Hotel And Spa
Grand Hills, a Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa Lebanon/Broummana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing