We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place we like to call Home”
Review of Canari de Byblos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Canari de Byblos
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Byblos
Tripoli, Liban-Nord, Lebanon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A place we like to call Home”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

In the heart of the enchanting city of Byblos, lies Canari de Byblos Hotel, a place we like to call home.
The hotel is located right in the heart of Byblos city 5 minutes away from the Citadelle and Byblos Old souk.
The moment you walk in the hotel, you will be welcomed by warm people we consider now friends, the manager Mr. Safi is very humble, kind and always helpful. At the reception, the lovely Cynthia and the rest of the crew are always smiling and ready for your service.
The suites we stay in are very spacious with a big balcony that overviews the Mediterranean sea and a Jacuzzi on each balcony,
The rooms are always kept tidy with clean towels and hot water always available.
We want to thank the crew of the Canari for always giving us a great experience , my husband and I are always very satisfied and this is where we always like to stay whenever we are in Lebanon.
Maya and Nicolas

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanariByblos, General Manager at Canari de Byblos, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Dear Mrs. Maya ,
I would like to thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
we are so glad that our location and services were up to your expectations ,thus you felt that
Canari is a place to call * Home*
we hope to serve you again,

Wassim Safi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    19
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
12
14
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lubliniec, Poland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

very good location, nice and bright rooms, very clean, swimming pool, very good restaurant, very friendly service, good location in the center of modern, internet, all on a global level. I highly recommend! :) :) :)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michal_osa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AUH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The hotel was perfect for our needs during the time we stayed!
Staff were supper friendly and nice, rooms were clean, location was convenient too....
I will certainly stay there again .... however, I beleive for an area like byblos, they can do a lot of enhancements within the hotel and that will certainly add to their fans!
furniture for example can be upgraded in the rooms, also, adding some brochurs/flyers, maps and what's on magazine in the rooms can be helpful!
one last thing, Canari has to loose its chef :-) bad taste for basics and lots of salt!
Other than that it's a great hotel and had the potential to upgrade with such great staff, so WHY NOT!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie Nicolas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Canari de Byblos, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear Ms Nicolas,

Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor.
We are happy that our location and services met your needs, and hope to serve you again. Our team will work on a flyer including a simplified map of the region which we hope will be ready by your next trip.

Kind regards,
Wassim Safi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

After Beirut walking around Byblos aka Jbeil was reasonably less nerve wracking. I had booked the King George which was badly maintained and too far out so walked into the Canari de Byblos and for a few dollars more got another world. True, it's a 10-15mins walk from the souk but it's very handy for all sorts of things: cash machine out the front, shopping centre down the road with a great cafe Moka & More, Bou Khalil supermarket close by, grocery market for fresh fruit across the road and a few takeaway shops and patisseries along the way.
Breakfast was generous for room service (1 of 2 rooms booked into the hotel) and buffet was fine. Laundry service was what you expect from a 4 star plus and no problems using the phone for calls (unlike Jordan). Room was a good size with a few minor scrapes around the room but very good condition, cleaning was great - no hassle to get out if you want to sleep in and a nice bathroom. TV channels were also good for an english speaker. Staff were really good at exchanging money and the service was very friendly and helpful.
As for Jbeil itself, quite a lively place, good souk souvenir shopping, lots of bars and cafes; courtyard is lovely with a lot of variety for food from cheap to expensive plus there's a busker near the gate of the castle. Old Port has fabulous views in the evenings although restaurants are a bit expensive at this end of the town but in the town centre itself there's an amazing family style restaurant that does scrumptious shish tawook and the fruit cocktails are out of this world. Pizza Napoli around the back of the souk on the way to the Old Port is the best pizza in Lebanon - Beirutis drive up there just for pizza!!!
Visited the public beach which is way cheaper than visiting Edde Sands (USD$20 entry): LLB £3 for a sunlounger and then you can order beer, soft drinks, nargile and food brought to you. It's not really all that sandy but there's a simple little open style cafe that's good for every taste where you can sit in the shade and have fast food or full cafe style Lebanese food cheaply. They do jet ski hire and have a shower with changing room too.
Internet at the hotel was not a problem for me as I was travelling laptop free and there's an internet cafe at CD Master across from the souk which is in a small shopping arcade with a gym downstairs; a bit hard to find but cheap and helpful with good connection and printing facilities.
Had a great stay for about 8 nights at Canari de Byblos and wished I could've stayed in Jbeil for longer. Less frantic than Beirut and definitely going back for the festival next year.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room then ask for a room at the back of the hotel away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Siomareli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yokohama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We booked two rooms for three nights earlier this month. We bailed out after the first night. The location is horrible! You have to navigate major highways to get across before you get anywhere near the old town. It is not close at all.
The rooms are big, but there are no drawers, just a closet, and a long long table running the length of the room. Sure, there is a sea view in the distance, but you look out over one of the roads.
No tourist information at all,. and nothing in the rooms. I asked for a map, or information and the reception did not have anything, only a large book put out by the Tourism Ministry on all of Lebanon.
Breakfast was abominable and not fresh. The wi-fi rates were exhorbitant,
We navigated our way to the old town and went into the touristic information centre and the very helpful woman there rang Hotel Ahiram and arranged for us to go and look at rooms there. It was a very good move.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JRSinYokohama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel and liked it a lot. Our room was spacious, there was enough room for an extra bed. The hotel is within 7-10 min walk from 'the old city'. The hotel staff is very friendly and ready to help. The hotel is a good choice in terms of value for money, location (close to the key tourist attractions) and services.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizaveta3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
97 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2010

This new boutique hotel is cute and very well priced. I liked it a lot!

7 - 10 minute walk to the beautiful ancient city of Byblos. Wonderful view of both the city and the sea. from the balcony. I highly recommend it.

Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Myrza313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Byblos
0.2 mi away
Monoberge Byblos Hotel
Monoberge Byblos Hotel
#2 of 14 in Byblos
105 reviews
0.6 mi away
Byblos Sur Mer
Byblos Sur Mer
#1 of 14 in Byblos
211 reviews
1.2 mi away
Victory Byblos Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Byblos Comfort Hotel
#7 of 14 in Byblos
28 reviews
9.3 mi away
Al Murjan Palace Hotel
Al Murjan Palace Hotel
#3 of 29 in Jounieh
67 reviews
0.7 mi away
EddeSands Hotel & Wellness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canari de Byblos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canari de Byblos

Property: Canari de Byblos
Address: Voie 13, Highway Exit, Byblos, Lebanon
Region: Lebanon > Mount Lebanon Governorate > Byblos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Byblos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Canari de Byblos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Byblos, overlooking the city and the Mediterranean sea, 50 luxurious rooms and suites with high standard international amenities at a walking distance from the city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Canari de Byblos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing