We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fusion Lebanese Cuisine”
Review of Babel

Babel
Ranked #1 of 43 Restaurants in Dbayeh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$55
Cuisines: Lebanese
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Grandiose setting, comfortable seats, unique Lebanese dishes with a twist, attentive waiters... thumbs up!
(Not your destination if you're looking for traditional Lebanese cuisine though)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Maryam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryClaudeAbouKhalil, sales & Marketing coordinator at Babel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Maryam F,
Thank you for your valuable comments and for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor.
We are very excited to know that you loved our restaurant , and most important that you enjoyed our food.
Regarding the comment that our plates are only available in their revisited version, while they are available in their authentic version, the ones you have tried are signature items and their availability is a must to compliment the richness of traditional cuisine and reinvented combinations of inherited ingredients
As you have experienced, we re-think Lebanese classic cuisine while maintaining superior quality and exhibit an unfamiliar creative impulse originating from essential flavors. Therefore we strive to widen the array of selection to not only meet but exceed the guest’s expectation.

Looking forward to welcoming you back Soon!
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 185 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

The place is big but lighting and service are terrible. The food is not wow neither because of this new lebanese fusion cuisine...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wiss M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryClaudeAbouKhalil, Sales & marketing coordinator at Babel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Wiss M,

Thank you for your recent visit to Babel Dbayeh and for taking the time to post this review.

We regret that you have had such a negative experience at our restaurant on your latest visit.

Please be assured that your comment was shared with the operational team who in his turn will make sure to monitor the service in order to improve.

We would appreciate if you could reconsider visiting us in the future in order to have the chance to give you another impression of Babel.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

What strikes first is the imposing interior design, obviously Mesopotamian because of the name. The restaurant is vast, with a large tree (Eden's Tree of Life?) in the center. Everything is spotlessly clean, from the cutlery to the plates and glasses, and of a "different," superior design and quality. The restrooms continue the Mesopotamian motif, and are stylish, luxurious, and very clean. Service is excellent, with waiters running to help you serve yourself. Food is a twist on Lebanese cuisine, with almost everything given a face-lift to present it in a different way. While this is great, my only complaint was that some dishes, by being over-exoticized, have lost some of their "traditional" tastes. The Hommos doesn't quite taste like Hommos, for example, and the traditional raw meat selection, from being cosmetically sanitized, tends not to taste like the raw meat of Lebanese restaurants. However, grilled meats, which are presented the traditional way, are comparable to any Lebanese restaurant, i.e., while there is nothing wrong with them, they are not superlative.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BeirutPop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryClaudeAbouKhalil, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Babel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Beirut Pop,
Warmest greetings from Babel.
First we would like to thank you for taking the time to post on our TripAdvisor page following your recent visit to Babel. It is truly heartwarming hearing the elaborated review you have posted.
We appreciate your kind recognition of our services provided and you feedback will be shared with the whole team!
Your description is truly indulging and reflects the journey of amazement we are trying to deliver at every visit by our décor, atmosphere, service, food and many other elements, .
Regarding the complaint related to some plates losing their original flavor, while they are available in their authentic version, the ones you have tried are signature items and their availability is a must to compliment the richness of traditional cuisine and reinvented combinations of inherited ingredients
As you have experienced, we re-think Lebanese classic cuisine while maintaining superior quality and exhibit an unfamiliar creative impulse originating from essential flavors. Therefore we strive to widen the array of selection to not only meet but exceed the guest’s expectation.

“Babel is a story articulated by monumental sensations, captivating encounters and an inspiring atmosphere.” Therefore we are eager to receive you in our branches in Babel Bay and Babel Bahr and get your feedback as well as again in Babel Dbayeh.

Warmest wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

despite that the restaurant serve Lebanese cuisine but the way of preparation is specail to this restaurnat, sitting outside is amazing and inside is a very good decoration. expect to pay 45 usd per perosn for ful menu with desserts and fruits

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mazenhosn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarek C, Guest Relations Manager at Babel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear mazenhosn,

Thank you for posting on our Tripadvisor page.
Hearing that you enjoyed your visit, particularly the outdoor terrace and the indoor decoration was music to our ears! We take great pride in offering a unique design and style in Babel.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Tarek Chalhoub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The place is great. The interior is very nice, as well the service is very good. The menu is very good, despite the fact that I prefer more authentic, and simple Lebanese food.

Thank ShallalatAlBarouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryClaudeAbouKhalil, sales & marketing coordinator at Babel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Nizar M

We're glad that you enjoyed your visit to Babel Dbayeh. The team will be very happy to welcome you back and are always happy to assist. Our 5 star rating is one reason and your delightful feedback is the other to thrive to deliver the best performance.
We appreciate your kind recognition of our services provided and have shared your feedback with the whole team!
We look forward to welcoming you soon in our restaurant.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Babel also viewed

Beirut, Lebanon
Jounieh, Mount Lebanon Governorate
 
Jounieh, Mount Lebanon Governorate
Jounieh, Mount Lebanon Governorate
 

Been to Babel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing