We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable value close to the slope”
Review of Merab Hotel

Merab Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Merab Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kfardebian
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We visited Mzaar late Feb 2013, the snowboarding was great and highly recommended with lots of off piste opportunities. We stayed at Merab which after some difficulties contacting them, were very helpful and arranged an airport transfer. For $ 125 per night the room was ok, but with the smallest bathroom I have seen! Service was fine and breakfast adequate. The attached restaurant was nicely decorated, but a very dull menu.

We will certainly return to Mzaar next year and stay at the Merab hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Banking0nlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2013

We visited the Merab hotel in Feb 2013, the hotel is 2 min driving distance from the mzaar ski slopes, and walking distance from the mzaar intercontinental hotel. We had a suite with one bedroom and a huge living space and a terrace full of snow (the kids built a snowman at the terrace). The place was well equipped including a kitchenette (fridge, microwave) hairdryer, safebox, tv etc. many closets that fitted our clothes. We were 2 adults 2 children, baby and the babysitter, we did not even needed an extra bed since there was a big couch in our room. The breakfast was ok, croissant, labne, cheese, cornflakes, jam, manakich and coffee served at 8:00. Because we needed to be early on the ski slopes, we asked the nice lady of the reception if they can serve the breakfast before 8:00. The next day everything was ready at 7:30. The good thing about this hotel was the availability of a supermarket owned by the hotel where you can find all you need including hot bread. You can have tasty lunch anytime you want ( we had lunch at 5:00), you can visit 2 of the area restaurants by a simple walk. The staff was kind and helpfull. I really enjoyed staying at the Merab and i will definetly come again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alyne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We stayed here because the intercon and others were full, plus this looked like a good deal. They organized a taxi pickup which went very smoothly and took one hour. Was only $50 one way and last year I think the intercon charged us a lot more. We had a double room which was small but clean and warm. We were facing the back and had to put up with a noisy generator. Breakfast was basic but plentiful- fresh croissants, bread, jams, ham etc... Merab is well located and max 5 minutes from the intercon and refuge slopes. Generally the staff were very helpful although wouldn't give us a late checkout and did not have a shower for us to use prior to leaving for our flight. In summary this is a decent place, good value and well located. I would stay here again.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Andyw_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

The three storey hotel is quite basic with a very friendly receptionist who can’t do enough to help you, provide you with advice, arrange taxis, give you information about the slops opening times, cost etc and is fluent in French and English (as most Lebanese are). The reception is has a homely type lounge with a TV and an open fire place. The hotel also has its own bar which is run by one of the brothers who own the place and they also have their own restaurant which servers nice and western style dishes including steaks, spaghetti (popular with the little ones) etc. Prices of food and drinks at the hotel are quite good compared to anything else in the neighbourhood which seemed a bit pricey. The Intercontinental Hotel is only about 5 minutes walk from this hotel should you fancy a change (take your wallet with you and plenty of money as it is more expensive as one may know). From the airport the transfer is only about an hour and we stopped on the way at a bakery and loaded with fresh croissant and snacks as we arrived early in the morning at Beirut airport. The hotel provided us with a morning minibus to take us and our ski gear to the slopes (5 – 10 minutes ride max) and in the afternoon one can either ski back to the hotel if experienced enough or catch a taxi for a $10 fee. Rooms at the hotel are quite clean but a little small, housekeeping cleaned them and changed towels on daily basis, most importantly the rooms are nice and warm. Our stay included a breakfast, which was adequate and offered boiled eggs, fresh Lebanese zaatar mankouch, croissant, jam, yoghurt, fruits, tea coffee etc The only down side of the hotel is that it is all made of wood (Chalet style), including the floor and I believe the walls too, so you can be heard by other guests in the adjacent rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhoenixT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2010

I Stayed at the Merab as the Intercontinental was full, having booked thru Varianou in Cyprus.
Merab offers much better value than the Interconti & a more personal service.
Room was clean and decor could be considered quite up-to-date, apart from the incongruous pictures they hang on the wall (minibar, balcony, modern bathroom and TV). Restaurant & shop attached to the hotel (whole business run by 3 brothers). Had a good meal in the former and very friendly owner called Mansour. B&B basis, breakfast was comparable with Swiss, Austrian style ski breakfast and better than French.
NB If you don't pay the extra for the Refuge lift at the Interconti then you need to use the hotel's own transfer to the slopes at either Jonction or Warde. You need to be adaptable as thislift transfer service is pretty hap-hazard unfortunately - always a squeeze and even ran out of petrol one morning ! Jonction is a 3 min drive away.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichardMancinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Les suites sont spatieuses et bien aménagées
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Senga B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Yuridionisio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kfardebian hotels
0 mi away
InterContinental Mzaar Mountain Resort & Spa
0 mi away
TerreBrune Hotel
TerreBrune Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kfardebian
40 reviews
0 mi away
Auberge Beity
Auberge Beity
#2 of 6 in Kfardebian
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Auberge Le Valais
Auberge Le Valais
#1 of 2 in Kfardebian
18 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Eleven
Hotel Eleven
#4 of 6 in Kfardebian
14 reviews
0 mi away
MzaarViews Chalets
MzaarViews Chalets
#3 of 6 in Kfardebian
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merab Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merab Hotel

Address: Ouyoun El-Siman, Kfardebian, Lebanon
Region: Lebanon > Mount Lebanon Governorate > Kfardebian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kfardebian
Price Range: £90 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Merab Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Merab Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merab Hotel Lebanon/Kfardebian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing