We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth your money stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental Mzaar Mountain Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kfardebian
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This is truly a 5 star hotel. The location is breathtaking, there are enough activities to keep anyone busy, but more importantly the level of service of the front desk staff and managers was impeccable. The reception was warm and friendly, and the staff goes out of their way to make sure that each of their guests is satisfied. Bravo! I would highly
recommend this hotel.
Michele

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michimou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joost K, General Manager at InterContinental Mzaar Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Michele,

Thank you very much for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your experience with us. I was glad to learn that you found InterContinental Mzaar to truly 5 stars hotel with enough activities to keep you busy, the level of service at the front desk and from managers and the staff's ability to anticipate guest needs.

This is exactly the comments we like to receive to make sure we have made our guests' stay a memorable one. We look forward to your next visit to InterContinental Mzaar.

Sincerely,
Joost K.
General Manager
InterContinental Mzaar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

we stayed in march 2014. we got upgraded to a room with a view on the ski slope. amazing view and very nice room (clean and warm). the pool is very nice, you can swim while looking at the snow outside. the staff are very friendly (reception, chef, etc). we booked an offer including room with breakfast and diner. food was very good. highly recommended in snow season

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maya-Leb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joost K, General Manager at InterContinental Mzaar Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Maya-Leb,

Thank you very much for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your experience with us. I was glad to learn that you enjoyed your upgraded to room with an amazing view on the ski slopes as well as warm and clean. I also appreciated that you enjoyed the pool, the staff friendliness and the food.

This is exactly the comments we like to receive to make sure we have made our guests' stay a memorable one. We look forward to your next visit to InterContinental Mzaar.

Sincerely,

Joost K.
General Manager
InterContinental Mzaar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Comfortable rooms, good restaurants & great location for access to the slopes.
Enjoyed relaxing in the pool after a day of skiing.
The hot chocolate at the ground floor lounge was perfect & the cheese fondue was better than expected.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seyouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joost K, General Manager at InterContinental Mzaar Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Seyouri,

Thank you very much for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your experience with us. I was glad to learn that you found InterContinental Mzaar to have comfortable rooms, good restaurants & great location for access to the slopes and that you enjoyed relaxing in the pool after a day of skiing. I was also pleased that you found the hot chocolate at the lobby lounge perfect & that the cheese fondue was better than expected.

This is exactly the comments we like to receive to make sure we have made our guests' stay a memorable one. We look forward to your next visit to InterContinental Mzaar.

Sincerely,

Joost K.
General Manager
InterContinental Mzaar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We planned a family weekend in the mountain and waited long for snowfall till it was forecasted by all weather websites in 15 days. At that time I called by phone to book rooms for 2 adults and 3 very young children, the reservation officer of the hotel informed me that they can provide us with one of their “family rooms” by adding an extra bed to it on a half-board basis. I accepted their offer thinking that it was a good choice and confirmed the reservation by providing them with my credit card number to be used only in case of no show. On check-in the reception officer asked for an immediate payment for the whole period! Once in the room we discovered that its settings are not according to our reservation: no extra bed, just towels for 2 persons and the worst: while calling room service to adjust settings, my children moved the windows curtains to look at the snow but discovered that it was just a door with a metal cage and instead of having a landscape view, a very close wall was covering it all obliging us to check our watches to know if it was daytime or nighttime! We went down to the reception complaining and telling them that this situation should have been explained clearly upon reservation; the receptionist not finding any acceptable justification, called her manager who confirmed that they are aware of those rooms situation, when I told him it was their responsibility to be very clear about this abnormal situation upon reservation to let the customer decide if he accept it or not, he pretended trying to change our room then declared in few seconds that the hotel is fully booked and no other rooms are available. Our children went to the swimming pool but they get out of it very fast as the water was very cold there. Later we went for dinner that was served in a self-service buffet with a very bad quality of food, many dishes where empty and not replaced; a very limited number of non-professional waiters were serving this dinner by shouting at each other and on some customers. We went back to the room but our children could not sleep as they were hearing all the time the noises of the cars and the voices of all people at the entrance of the resort in addition to the Singer in the lobby. After some time we went to the lobby to have a drink and noticed there the same problems with waiters in addition to a bad smell filling the lobby from time to time. The only positive points in this resort are: its location just in front of a ski slope and its architecture except that everything else is bad. THIS RESORT DOES NOT DESERVE A 5 STARS RATING.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Antoine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joost K, General Manager at InterContinental Mzaar Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Antoinem,

I really appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve and continually provide the best guest experience possible.

I was glad to learn that you appreciated the location of the hotel in front of the ski slopes.

I am truly sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations in terms of room allocation, food quality and service levels and do regret but do fully understand that you were not satisfied with those.

I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of product we offer to our guests.

Thank you again for your feedback. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Joost K.
General Manager
InterContinental Mzaar Lebanon Mountain Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Friends and I booked for 2 nights. On arrival there was much confusion by the staff at reception. Half of us booked online through a much used and trusted site but for some reason breakfast was not included. After a discussion the hotel staff agreed to include breakfast. All good? No. On departure (we left a day early but THAT story is still to come) we were asked to pay for breakfast. Long story short. The hotel manager reneged on the arrangement. The Manager and one of his staff were highly unprofessional , talking over us, raising voices and very rude. One hour later we left.

Rooms were warm, decor okay, mini bar fridge locked shut with one of those plastic ties and no means of cutting it. There was no information folder in the room to tell us what services were available in the spa and the rest of the hotel and when we phoned for information, prices were rattled off. A woman my age(59)cannot keep all that information in my head.

Bar staff downstairs very helpful, English a bit rusty but always someone to interpret and we were in an Arab country. Cleaning staff lovely and helpful.

Dinner not hot enough and my chicken was grilled but the grill lines tasted burnt. I mentioned it to the head waiter who disregarded my comment.

Now, I understand that this year has been the worst snowfall in 50+ years but quality is quality. Two nights in luxury turned into 24 hours of blah. Reception team need to learn basic courtesy and Mr Manager needs to learn how to deal with any customer concerns with politeness and professionalism. I SERIOUSLY WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL.

Room Tip: Room on 3rd floor facing road was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wendsnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joost K, General Manager at InterContinental Mzaar Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Wendsnz,

I really appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve and continually provide the best guest experience possible.

I was glad to learn that you appreciated the bar & housekeeping staff.

I am truly sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations in terms of check in, promises kept & the food quality and regret but do fully understand that you were not satisfied with those.

I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of product we offer to our guests.

Thank you again for your feedback. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Joost K.
General Manager
InterContinental Mzaar Lebanon Mountain Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We came in for coffee and a desert over the weekend and were unpleasantly surprised by the level of service which we found very rude and unprofessional. We found waiters to be disrespectful, confused, and inefficient. Orders kept being mixed-up, small requests like a straw took forever, waiters kept providing irrational excuses to the different mistakes, and there was a general pressure to order, consume our beverages, and leave quickly. It should be noted that we initially wanted to stay in the lobby but it was being reorganized for valentines evening and hence we were asked to go to the refuge.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank louayac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joost K, General Manager at InterContinental Mzaar Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear Louayac,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review in regards to your experience in Le Refuge Restaurant .I am sorry for the inconvenience the unacceptable service might have caused you. Your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and while we understand that your restaurant experience was not 100% satisfactory, we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Joost K.
General Manager
InterContinental Mzaar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Took the kids for a weekend getaway to Faraya. After a long day outdoors we passed by Le Refuge to have hot drinks and desserts and what a mistake it was. The service is at bet amateurish at worst rude. The waiters were completely overwhelmed and uninterested. We had to reorder multiple times for missing items and in some cases got them multiple times and were blamee by a waiter for this.

What a disaster.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Lebmajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joost K, General Manager at InterContinental Mzaar Mountain Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear Lebmajor,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review in regards to your experience in Le Refuge Restaurant .I am sorry for the inconvenience the unacceptable service might have caused you. Your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and while we understand that your restaurant experience was not 100% satisfactory, we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Joost K.
General Manager
InterContinental Mzaar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kfardebian
13.7 mi away
Pineland Hotel and Health Resort
1.8 mi away
TerreBrune Hotel
TerreBrune Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kfardebian
40 reviews
22.1 mi away
Mist Hotel and Spa by Warwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Grand Hills, a Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
14.3 mi away
Le Royal Hotel - Beirut
14.4 mi away
Byblos Sur Mer
Byblos Sur Mer
#1 of 14 in Byblos
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Mzaar Mountain Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mzaar Mountain Resort & Spa

Address: Ouyoun El Simane, Kfardebian, Lebanon
Phone Number:
Region: Lebanon > Mount Lebanon Governorate > Kfardebian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kfardebian
Price Range: £143 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Mzaar Mountain Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amid the peaks of Mount Lebanon, InterContinental Mountain Resort & Spa, Mzaar is a family-friendly getaway offering year-round recreation. Skiing, snowmobiling, climbing, hiking, biking, rafting and ATV ing join a long list of sightseeing musts such as the Fagra ruins, the Jeita Grotto, the Phoenician temple and the famed Casino du Liban. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Mzaar Mountain Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mzaar Mountain Hotel Kfardebian
Intercontinental Mzaar Mountain Resort And Spa
InterContinental Mzaar Mountain Resort & Spa Lebanon/Kfardebian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing