We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved every minute of this special place”
Review of Anjajavy L'Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anjajavy L'Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anjajavy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2011

We stayed here in December 2010 on our honeymoon. Everything about our stay was perfect. As soon as you land on the tiny dusty runway you know you are in for a real treat. The journey to the hotel is exciting as you are surrounded by amazing wildlife.

The hotel is immaculate. Our villa was beach fronted and really lovely. The food is delicious, especially the breakfasts. Every day we did some form of activity in the morning and then chilled out in the afternoon. There are plenty of walks that you can do by yourself, which is great as you feel like you can really discover the area. Lemurs are everywhere and we never tired of seeing them. Every day we went for afternoon tea in the oasis and just watched the lemurs jumping around above our heads.

The level of service is outstanding. The staff are so great and Cedric the manager is incredibly welcoming. As others have said we were made to feel really special and now have lots of fond memories from our wonderful honeymoon.

This is the best place we have ever stayed in and we would definitely recommend it. We'd love to go back

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Croyde78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
There are newer reviews for Anjajavy L'Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2011

We would agree with all the other comments written about Anjajavy with one exception.We spent 2 of our 3 week trip to Madagascar at Anjajavy and never had time to be bored. The walks with Rado were wildlife adventures. Special sightings were the baby boa in the Sakalava cave,the cuckoo that arrived a month early, the mouse lemur that could be a new species. We enjoyed the visit to Anjajavy village one Sunday when the people were celebrating the anniversary of their market. The picnics on beach 2 were wonderful, especially the sighting of a humpback whale breaching and displaying on the horizon.All beaches were beautiful and deserted. Beach 5 had some amazing rockpools,The kayaking was well worth doing. The cruise through the mangroves gave us the opportunity to watch the flying-foxes as the sun went down.On a couple of occassions during dinner the local people sang and danced for the guests. The "quiz" was especially entertaining. Cedric and Gaelle did everything they could to make our stay so memorable. The dinner they arranged for us in the Oasis was very special.
All the staff were so pleasant and nothing was too much trouble. All our requests were greeted with "of course" and a wonderful smile.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holidaymakerx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Just had 5 days of perfection at this hotel at the end of a very memorable holiday in Madagascar, but glad we saved this one til the last. It is quite unbeatable. Everything about it is first rate - the beautiful bungalows, right by the beach, the glorious Oasis garden where lemurs visit daily at afternoon tea time, wanting nothing more than to see and be seen! The food was fantastic, the walks were led by a wonderful guide, Rado who can spot a tiny mouse lemur at a hundred paces and made each trip a real adventure but where this hotel excels is in its staff, for whom nothing is too much trouble.
The manager, Cedric, leads a first rate group of staff, with the delightful Gail as his second in command they make a formidable team. We were made to feel very special and part of the Anjajavy family - 5 days was just too short.
If you only treat yourselves once in a lifetime, make it here. It is a little piece of heaven!
Thank you, Cedric, Gail and your team.

Room Tip: Just make sure it is right by the beach - most are but one or two are set back a little. Some are ra...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank katherine153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

The best hotel I have ever stayed in because the management team really make you feel that nothing is too much trouble to ensure that you as guest are having a great time. With the added bonus that the animals to see are amazing from lemurs thru whales to baobabs.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Camexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

This hotel has everything, A small piece of paradise on earth. Staff, food, scenery and wildlife all outstanding. I have travelled the world and have never found a better place to unwind and enjoy all its amenities.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent and face the sea.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We stayed here in September 2011 on the first leg of our honeymoon in Madagascar. There are too few superlatives to do it justice - the location is extraordinary, being situated within a 450 hectare dry deciduous forest nature reserve with the hotel itself having a superb beach front location, with access to a furher 5 private beaches, and a private marina allowing further access to the spectacular Morumba Bay. The hotel is very special - beautifully constructed with 2 dozen individual villas, finished to a high standard and well maintained and spotlessly clean. Lunch and dinner are a la carte and although there are only 2 choices for each course at each meal, all are superbly prepared and presented, and no dish was repeated in our 5 day stay. The hotel's own 'Oasis Garden' is visited daily by lemurs, and drinks are served there to allow you to enjoy their visit in comfort. The hotel's guides are knowledgeable and helpful whether you take a forest wallk or a boat trip - there are enough of these to keep you busy for a week or more, should you wish to stay that long. There are also opportunities to visit the local village. The wildlife seen on the guided trips is plentiful - reptiles, amphibians, birds and mammals all in abundance. However - what really sets the hotel apart is the staff, led by the brilliant Cedric. Nothing is too much trouble for them. I have never encountered such a friendly and helpful team, and it is the little touches - cold towels on arrival at the airstrip, or complimentary drinks on return from a walk, which make the difference. Two tips - honeymooners, make sure that you bring a copy of your marriage certificate (or have it emailed to you there if that is the best you can do) as some activities - the massage, the private beach picnic (an absolute must!), the cocktail cruise or the private dinner in the Oasis) - are either discounted or free for honeymooners on production of the certificate. Secondly, it is worth knowing that the hotel is accessible only by air, and the planes in question are small - we arrived by 6 seater, and returned in a plane so small that I sat in the co-pilot's seat. Even for nervous flyers, however, Anjajavy is definitely worth the trip. Anything else in Madagascar may seem a disapointment after staying here, so it is worth making Anjajavy your final destination.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Edward F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

This is the most amazing place to have a honeymoon - relax on holiday or just to get away from it all.
The beaches are gorgeous. The wildlife great ( lemurs, chameleons, crabs and birds galore), the villas are beautiful and very comfortable. The food is to die for - fresh fish every day..or tasty meat, fresh veg and the most delicious desserts..
The staff are the best..so kind, gentle and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble - your every need is catered for.
The manager Cedric will even show you saturn and jupiter, as clear as crystal in his amazing telecope.
Wonderful place..

Room Tip: Yes, if you are a honeymooner ask for room 25 or 26.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryammoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anjajavy
272.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Urban
Grand Hotel Urban
#14 of 59 in Antananarivo
41 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Crique
La Crique
#9 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Lagon
Hotel Le Lagon
#1 of 3 in Mahavelona
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
575.7 mi away
Shangri-la Lodge
Shangri-la Lodge
#2 of 2 in Ambatomilo
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lodge des Terres Blanches
Lodge des Terres Blanches
#2 of 15 in Mahajanga
51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Auberge Le Maki Lodge
Auberge Le Maki Lodge
#3 of 8 in Nosy Komba
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anjajavy L'Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anjajavy L'Hotel

Address: Longitude 47o Est _ Lattitude 18o Sud, Anjajavy, Madagascar
Phone Number:
Region: Madagascar > Mahajanga Province > Anjajavy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anjajavy
Price Range: £26 - £873 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anjajavy L'Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a peninsula in Northwest Madagascar, Anjajavy is only accessible by light aircraft or by boat, the lodge includes 24 villas, a nautical centre and a designed garden. The property is tucked in a forest reserve of 550 hectares and opens to a number of deserted coves. The forest is host of a variety of lemurs and one of the most endangered bird of the world (Madagascan fish eagle). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
l Hotel Anjajavy
Anjajavy l Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing