We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anjajavy L'Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$22
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$19
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Coco Lodge(Mahajanga)
US$48
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saara Hotel(Mahajanga)(Great Value!)
US$27
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$42
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$39
Booking.com
View Deal
New Park Resort(Mahajanga)
US$32
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$28
Booking.com
View Deal
US$23
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$20
Booking.com
View Deal
Holidays Hotel(Mahajanga)(Great Value!)
US$15
Booking.com
View Deal
Edena Kely(Mahajanga)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (357)
Filter reviews
357 results
Traveller rating
340
13
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
340
13
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teaour honeymoonbrown lemurslocal villagehis teamfishthe reservenight walkprivate beachflora and faunasmall planeboat tripclamsnothing is too much troublefood is excellentspent daysdry forest
Filter
Updating list...
218 - 223 of 357 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Anjajavy is a special place. One to which I hope to return. From the moment you fly in by light aircraft to the private landing strip (there are no roads; the only alternative is by sea), you can completely relax. The resort is set in a natural environment, but in modern comfort with private individual lodges overlooking the sea and superb food, much of which is sourced from the three nearby villages..
This is a small, truly environmentally-friendly resort, which interacts responsibly with the local people and with the wildlife. Where else in the world could you be having a drink or meal within a few metres of Sifakas dancing sideways, or jumping from tree to tree, totally oblivious to humans. We went on several walks, some alone, others guided by the knowledgeable staff, including a night walk. They are truly adept at spotting wildlife, including over ten varieties of lemur. Other optional activities include visits to a local village market, fishing trips, a bat cave and a sunset cocktail cruise.
Resort manager Cedric meets, greets and takes a personal interest in the well-being of every guest and conveys his passion and eco-values both personally and through his team. The Malagasy staff are friendly and attentive, but not overly so. If you wish to spend time away from other guests (there were never more than eight in residence during our stay), you can arrange for one of the small beaches to be set aside for you, complete with picnic. For special occasions, a private candlelit table in the gardens is ideal.
Five nights was not enough. At least seven next time.

Room Tip: Allof the rooms face the sea
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Owen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

The first class service and stunning surroundings at Anjajavy made for the most amazing honeymoon. Our expectations were exceeded on every front. Our advice would be, do whatever you need to do to get there; smaller wedding, work extra shifts, have your gift list contribute, it is truly magical and not to be missed! Thanks a million Anjajavy!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GillJones30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Stunning Hotel, Stunning Beaches, Stunning Staff! Well worth a trip

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OttoThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We'd read a lot about Anjajavy before we arrived. This was our second week in Madagascar and we were looking forward to kicking back, relaxing and seeing some great wildlife.
We have seen the bouncing Coquerel"s Sifaka within 30 mins, some bouncing past the pool, and then hanging out on our terrace at our Bungalow! The Brown Lemurs were equally easy to see - in the Oasis or on the walkway to the beach. The wildlife here is amazing - it is so relaxed that it's sometimes hard to imagine these are wild animals.
We were advised to go into the Oasis gardens when dark with a good torch to see snakes - and snakes we saw. Loads of them - curled up and ready to punch on an unsuspecting frog.
The food here started off plentiful but over the course of our 5 days stay, the portion sizes reduced and it seemed as though they were waiting for a delivery of food. The lodge is very remote but we wondered whether they should control portion sizes better. The children's menu was great and our 7 year old enjoyed the fish and the pizzas.
We did a number of excursions. The sunset cruise is a must for birdwatchers - we saw Sacred Ibis on this trip into the mangroves. Crested Ibis were seen only once in the grounds of the hotel. We also went on the Moromba Bay Boat Trip. This was really enjoyable, with a stop at the sacred tree (you'll see why when you get there). We also saw Madagascar Fish Eagle on this trip (two times). The night walk is recommended - it's short and you see Mouse Lemurs well.
Our daughter developed the symptoms of a bug whilst we were here (caught from a previous hotel we think). We cannot praise Gail enough for the help she gave us, calling the on site doctor, translating for us and generally going out of her way to help. Food was delivered to our room so that we still ate (they don't typically do room service). The health service we were given put the UK's to shame - we had antibiotics and multivitamins delivered 15 minutes later with several more visits to 'check up' made over the next few days. You definitely don't need to worry about the remoteness of this accommodation with respect to health concerns - they have got it covered.
This is a relaxing place to come with beautiful accommodation, intimate service and care, and one of the best wildlife experiences. Where else can you have your lunch with a Sifaka sitting in the tree above you?

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SolihullPetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Reading the Trip Advisory reviews for this hotel is what convinced my husband and I to take our Honeymoon to Madagascar, and specifically to Anjajavy. Everything said in the other tons of great reviews are 100% true, so I hope to speak to some things that I questioned before going and things you might not be thinking about.

The flight getting to Anjajavy was interesting, we were on a 6-passenger flight and we flew over with the previous owner of the resort, he warned me that the staff will be on high alert while he was there, and that was an understatement. They treated him like the creator of the universe, and when you see the place, you might understand why he would be treated by the staff (all Malagasy) the way he was. When we arrived at the hotel, we were greeted with all the staff singing and dancing in a traditional Madagascar welcome ceremony. We thought it was for us since it was our honeymoon, but our bubble was quickly burst when we were told it was "special, but not for you". We had a good laugh and got over it. It was lovely no matter who it was for. We learned on arrival, that my husband and I, the former owner, and a staff member's parents were the only guests at the hotel. We found that surprising, but we were told it was because it was the "wet season". We did have some rain while were there, but mostly at night and did not bother us, so this was probably a great time to visit since we had the place to ourselves the majority of time. This was in early December.

I am a vegetarian, and it was difficult to be a vegetarian here. Even though they have you fill out a dietary questionnaire before you come, they do not pay attention to it. Being we were the only real couple staying there at the time, you would think they would be able to accommodate a dietary need like vegetarian. Most of the options were duck, zebu, and shell fish. I do not eat shell fish and I do not eat meat, so it was often that I had to choose from the "bar" menu. The food I did get to eat was absolutely fantastic, I just wish there were more options for vegetarians, especially since they asked our dietary restrictions before arrival.

We were on the full board package which includes all food, just not beverages (except tea and coffee at breakfast and tea time in the garden). We also did not see the elusive free drinks everyone talked about after our hikes and outings like everyone else mentioned except for once or twice. This is how Trip Advisor can sometimes get your hopes up for the little things. I highly suggest trying their home infused vanilla rum, it was to die for. Also, if you order some of the Malagasy wines to try, it will keep your bill down rather than the more expensive French or South African wine.

What really makes this place like no other is the wildlife. There is no question that you will see lemurs here. Its a matter of how many you will see in a day. They really have an amazing thing here, you are not allowed to feed the lemurs, but they come so close anyway, it is basically like you are living among them in their habitat. I could sit for hours in the garden and watch the lemurs if it was not for the mosquitoes. I would highly suggest bringing repellent with you, they were overbearing at times, especially in the garden and on some of the walks. By the restaurant, the breeze was so heavy from the ocean that it keeps the bugs away at meals.

As part of the Honeymoon package, we had a private dinner in the garden one night, and it was really lovely, except we could not stay because the mosquitoes are so bad. I would suggest the hotel offer a private dinner on the beach, or on your villa balcony instead so the breeze would keep the bugs and the heat away.

Since luggage is so limited on the small flight, we were worried about laundry. The hotel does in fact offer laundry, it isn't dirt cheap, but it was well worth it.

The service and people who worked there were wonderful. We did not get to know Cedric as well as other people mention below, but we did get to know Max and Gaele very well and they were more than accommodating. Max was our guide for all of our walks and trips and he was unbelievably knowledgeable and his English was great. I suggest going on as many of the walks and outings as possible. One that was really fantastic was visiting the local village. The locals are so welcoming and they have the biggest hearts. Visiting them and learning about their culture was such an important part of the trip. When we were leaving, we left a lot of our clothes and shoes behind because they truthfully needed them more than we did. If you want to pack a lot and can spare it, bring items you don't mind leaving behind for the local villagers.

One thing to note for packing, they do not have conditioner in the room, and maybe its an American thing, but I needed my hair conditioner and I was trusting they would have some so I chose to not bring it to save on the weight in my luggage with the restrictions. Also, the main airport in Tana has their own rules for carry on luggage, while in the US you can bring two carry on bags, in Tana they will only allow one, so be prepared to check your carry on bags on the way home.

If your planning a honeymoon or just a vacation and are looking for an adventure with some luxury, this is the place to go. hands down. You will not regret it.

Room Tip: All of the Villas are beautiful, but I think villa #10 is probably the closest to the beach and still close to the restaurant and things like that. We were in Villa #24 (I think) and it was great.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank adiandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews