We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (371)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveller rating
354
13
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
354
13
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teaour honeymoonbrown lemurshis teamfishthe reservenight walklocal communityprivate beachclamsflora and faunaboat tripvery special placeindian oceanspent daysdry forestan adventure
Filter
Updating list...
227 - 232 of 371 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We stayed at Anjajavy for 5 days in August and can't say enough great things about the place. We're living in Africa for a few years on an expat assignment and really want to see the best each country has to offer while we're here. Anjajavy is a great way to do that in Madagascar! When we first started researching Madagascar we were a bit overwhelmed on all the places to visit, how to manage transportation around the country without speaking French (or Malagasy) and realized that what we really wanted was to see the Lemurs, do some hiking to see some of the landscape and relax on a beach. Then we found Anjajavy - which is all of this with the addition of fabulous service, amazing food and perfect accomodations. True - it is expensive, but it is very worth it - and it is not easy to get to - but that's what makes it special!

We flew into Tana on Friday and stayed the night at Le Pavillon de l'Emyrne, a great little hotel in a very cute (cobble stone streets) area of town. We were then picked up early the next morning to catch our puddle jumper to Anjajavy. It's about an hour & 40 min flight from Tana. We were greeted by the manager and the guest services manager as we landed and headed off for the 30 minute ride to the resort. From the moment we arrived, the 'little touches' were obvious. A welcome drink as we arrived, crepes on the patio while our luggage was moved to our room, and a gorgeous view of the pool and beach while we sipped our drinks. The resort has several individual villas along the beach, all facing the water. We stayed in villa 10 which was a bit closer to the water than the rest, which gave us privacy on our balcony and the ability to keep the curtains open at night (some of the villas have the walkway in front which would inhibit the privacy aspect). The room was beautiful - well maintained, air conditioned, with a great balcony and fabulous view.

We chose different activities every day - from hiking and running trails on our own (Crique en Criques was our favorite with views of 5 beaches and lemurs in the trees), to the guided night hike and and evening hike to a cave, to taking a morning boat cruise through the bay and an evening cruise into the mangroves, to relaxing on the beach and by the pool. Every evening we'd have tea in the Oasis and watch as the Lemurs played in the trees all around us. A couple nights they played in the trees around our villa so close we could sit on our steps and watch them only a few feet away. By far - our favorite activity was the picnic on the beach. For an extra 50 Euro each (and trust us - it was worth it) they will set up a fantastic white table cloth BBQ on a private beach, then leave you in privacy all afternoon. They thought of everything - chairs and an umbrella, a hammock, a day tent for some shade and a netted tent in the shade with pillows and scattered flowers. It's a must do!

The food was consistently fantastic. Much better quality, presentation and creativity than we expected for a resort so remote. The service was also great - always with a smile and very refined. We got lucky and had the entire resort to ourselves for 2 days. The staff went out of their way to make us feel like celebrities - first setting up our dinner table in the lawn near the pool one night then surprising us with dinner in the oasis surrounded by lanterns and candles for our last night and surprising us with a cake to celebrate our anniversary.

All in all - highly recommended. We're already raving about it to all of our expat friends. Wouldn't change a thing!

Room Tip: Ask for a villa in front of the walkway for extra privacy.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bec-n-rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in July at the end of 3 1/2 weeks travelling around Madagascar. You get there by private plane from Tana 1 1/2 hrs. Cedric the manager meets you at Anjajavy International Airport and guides you to the hotel himself. The hotel is perfect for couples and you should stay here at the end of your trip to avoid being disappointed by everywhere else.
Cedric and his staff are excellent and the food sublime. The bungalows are beautiful and any small issues were dealt with immediately. Afternoon tea in the Oasis Garden with lemurs and Sifaka's in the trees is a lovely way to end the afternoon. Plenty of easy walks available. Not really set up for young children, mainly couples. A fantastic end to a great island!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We were so fortunate to be able to stay here. The location is outstanding.....beautiful beaches and walking trails. Food is fantastic. One night they surprised us with dinner in the Oasis garden. We had a picnic on a beach which was just ours for the day, with lovely shading structures and great meal. On our last night there was a performance of traditional song and dance. It's clear that the management and staff are passionate about conserving this area. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marymandmarkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

To begin with, the two most important things to know about Anjajavy are these: first, if you are thinking of going, do not delay – go now. Second, however long you are thinking of staying, stay longer.

It is hard to explain just how wonderful Anjajavy is. Not only is it in a beautiful location, but the service and facilities are equally top-notch. It is a credit to all involved. Such attention to detail is evident right from the moment of arrival, when resident manager Cédric meets guests coming off the light aeroplane from Antananarivo. It continues throughout the stay as Aina, the guest relations manager, and all other staff ensure that your stay is as close to perfect as it possibly can be.

As mentioned, the setting is truly beautiful and you will have no trouble spotting the sifakas most probably within minutes of your arrival. The beautifully kept grounds are home to a great many of these wonderful creatures.

We were very pleased with both the food and the service and have no complaints about the selections available or the portion sizes. Seafood meals were always particularly good.

The accommodation is very comfortable and is kept spotlessly clean, with great views over the beach and out to sea. We stayed in villa number two, which is located at the far end of the resort. It was very peaceful and private. Being a bit fartherflung than the other villas, there was an absolute minimum of foot traffic and it really did feel very much like we had our own little bit of paradise.

For something special, the picnic in a private bay (or crique) is highly recommended. You will have a great lunch freshly prepared for you and then a beautiful beach all to yourselves for the whole afternoon – a great way to pass a day at Anjajavy! Even if you don’t opt for the picnic, do consider doing the crique-en-crique walk. It’s an easy walk along the clifftop and takes you to each of the five stunning little bays along the way.

For us, Anjajavy was a very definite highlight of a great trip to some amazing destinations. The only shame was having to leave and we were very disappointed that we only had three nights there. In out opinio, for a great mix of relaxation, sightseeing and wildlife spotting in a truly beautliful spot, would be five nights would be a good minimum stay.

Room Tip: Villa number two is some distance from the main resort area, but is more private and very quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TashandLuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Anjajavy is a special place. One to which I hope to return. From the moment you fly in by light aircraft to the private landing strip (there are no roads; the only alternative is by sea), you can completely relax. The resort is set in a natural environment, but in modern comfort with private individual lodges overlooking the sea and superb food, much of which is sourced from the three nearby villages..
This is a small, truly environmentally-friendly resort, which interacts responsibly with the local people and with the wildlife. Where else in the world could you be having a drink or meal within a few metres of Sifakas dancing sideways, or jumping from tree to tree, totally oblivious to humans. We went on several walks, some alone, others guided by the knowledgeable staff, including a night walk. They are truly adept at spotting wildlife, including over ten varieties of lemur. Other optional activities include visits to a local village market, fishing trips, a bat cave and a sunset cocktail cruise.
Resort manager Cedric meets, greets and takes a personal interest in the well-being of every guest and conveys his passion and eco-values both personally and through his team. The Malagasy staff are friendly and attentive, but not overly so. If you wish to spend time away from other guests (there were never more than eight in residence during our stay), you can arrange for one of the small beaches to be set aside for you, complete with picnic. For special occasions, a private candlelit table in the gardens is ideal.
Five nights was not enough. At least seven next time.

Room Tip: Allof the rooms face the sea
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Owen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews