We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anjajavy L'Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$23
US$21
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Coco Lodge(Mahajanga)
US$61
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$57
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saara Hotel(Mahajanga)(Great Value!)
US$28
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Karibu Lodge(Mahajanga)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (356)
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveller rating
339
13
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
339
13
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teaour honeymoonbrown lemurslocal villagehis teamfishthe reservenight walkprivate beachflora and faunasmall planeboat tripclamsnothing is too much troublefood is excellentspent daysdry forest
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
190 - 195 of 356 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Anjajavy, a secluded 5-Star hotel named after a local indigenous tree is only accessible by air or sea. Its experiences are many; from cave exploring to night walks looking for noctural lemurs to snorkeling amongst the floating limestone islands where sacred baobab trees dwell amidst the turquoise Mozambique Channel.

The small cottages are very well appointed, food and service was superb and there is more than enough to keep one content with daily tea time at 5 in their landscaped oasis teeming with lemurs and dancing sifaka's.

Your host and director Cedric de Foucault is a Malagasy native whose knowledge of the country and area is exceptional.

This is a must on any global travelers list!

Scott, Boris and Rem Lindenau
Aspen, Colorado USA

Room Tip: All of the individual cottages are on the beach and enjoy the setting sun over the Mozambique Channel.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1956Ruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

If paradise exsiste then Anjajavy is it.we spend 4 days with friends and family.
Beautiful designed houses and hotel in an amazing nearly dreamy setting by the sea.
Quality all the way through from warm and personal service to surprising high standard cusine.
Simple and very healthy.
Beach sports and trips up the coast visiting local villages made it a more complet experience.
Our best beachresort experience in our globetrotter life this far.

Room Tip: Choose houses on the beach.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara6045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

My husband and I travelled here in July 2012. We loved this place as soon as we walked into the lobby. This is the perfect honeymoon place. We had no idea what to expect as we arrived in Tana and trusted the travel agent! This place is gorgeous. The staff are nothing but courteous and very accomodating. A special shout out has to go to Aina who arranged all our activities and greeted us with a smile every morning. We had lovely informative nature walks with Rado who was so passionate about the wildlife. You really do appreciate what Anjajavy nature reserve is doing for the greater good of Madagascar. The beach villa is very clean and comfortable and the food is fresh and tasty. I have nothing negative to say. Anjajavy will always hold a special place in my heart.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Avi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

After staying in comparatively basic accommodation elsewhere in Madagascar (there isn't too much choice!) Anjajavy was a real treat. We booked 'directly' with the hotel, which actually involved a Parisian travel agent called Voyages Inedit. We then booked a tour of the other places we wanted to visit through a Malgasy tour agency called Espace Mada, and found this made the holiday considerably cheaper than booking with a UK tour company. Slightly more work though!

The villas are very comfortable and we had number 25 which is very private with a lovely sea view. The lemurs are very entertaining and for wild lemurs they come as close as you will see them anywhere. The food was excellent and, being on half board, the lunch was not as expensive as we expected. There is a daily changing lunch menu and also a snack menu to choose from. The wine was reasonably priced, with very drinkable bottles in the 20-25 Euro range. A large beer is 6 Euros (admittedly 3 or 4 times the price of one elsewhere in the country, but remember there is no road going to the hotel!)

The staff were all excellent, led by the resort manager Cedric who is very passionate about the hotel and its relationship with the local villages and the environment. Activities included free guided walks, night walks and excursions to local villages. The pool is lovely and was always empty during our stay as it was low season and there were only 5-8 guests in the resort at a time. As honeymooners we had a free sunset cruise and massage - the massage was probably the least exciting part of the stay as the service wasn't quite as polished as the rest of Anjajavy. The cruise to Moramba Bay was excellent.

Overall the feel of the place is great and the weather was fantastic - going into 'winter' the temperature was around 30 degrees each day without a cloud in the sky. The expense of Anjajavy is added to by the cost of the flight there (595 Euros pp return) but this was an experience in itself in a 5 seater plane. The honeymoon package offered a reasonable reduction and there may also be other deals if you book directly e.g. stay 7 night pay 5. I would agree with the previous reviewer that the website could be updated and it would be helpful to clarify that bookings are handled by the Parisian agent. Other than that it was pretty perfect and five nights seemed just right to us.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alexcat2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

My husband and I spent a week at Anjajavy at the end of our honeymoon in May. We had booked the trip months before, and having read all the reviews on Trip Advisor I had very high expectations and was beginning to worry that I might be disappointed. I needn't have worried for a second as our stay here exceeded all expectations!
The hotel is set in stunning surroundings, and we never got bored of the discovering the numerous beaches and fascinating forest, and watching the sifaka lemurs dance across the lawn in front of us at lunch time. The food and service was wonderful. From the moment you wake up in the morning you are looked after so well, with the friendly staff being attentive without being too much. Every time we came back from a walk we were greeted with fresh juice, there were delicious homemade cakes and biscuits in the oasis every afternoon, and tasty snacks were bought to us as we sat sunbathing on the beach! Every day there were little surprises or activities that we loved, and as honeymooners we were certainly made to feel very special!
For me, what sets this hotel apart from other 5* luxury resorts, is the relationship the hotel has with its surroundings and the local villages, and the passion that Cedric (the manager) shows towards maintaining the delicate balance of this relationship.
I can not recommend this hotel highly enough, and I really hope that we get to come back for another holiday here in the future!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RN80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews