We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, stunning hotel with wildlife on its doorstep - worth every penny”
Review of Anjajavy L'Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anjajavy L'Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anjajavy
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Amazing, stunning hotel with wildlife on its doorstep - worth every penny”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We spent four night here at the end of our 17 day Madagascar holiday and it was absolutely the best place to finish off our amazing trip. The setting of the hotel, the facilities and staff were wonderful and quite frankly wanted to move in.

The journey here is an adventure on its own and my husband and I were unfrotunate, and I really feel unfortunate to be in the 3 seater plane which was an experience to say the least however once we arrived the trauma of the small plane was soon history as we settled in to enjoy Anjajavy.

The staff here could not do enough to help you, the food was excellent and the rooms very well appointed with everything you need. We had a room which was right on the beach front and the sound of the lapping water was delightful.

One of the highlights was having afternoon tea in the gardens and you could just sit there and watch two or three types of lemurs come to feed and put on quite the show. Birdlife was also in abundance and we walked extensively around the grounds which always gave many opportunities to see plenty of lemurs and birds as well.

I recommend you visit this hotel at the end of a trip to Madagascar as it was by far our highlight and other hotels/areas potentially could have difficulty living up to Anjajavy. It would be remiss of me not to comment on the price, it is expensive, however you get what you pay for and you certainly do get a lot for your money and in my opinion worth every penny!!

If I could pass one comment that it could do with due to the price would be a fitness centre - that said with so much wildlife to watch I probably would never have gone!!!

Room Tip: From a flying there perspective - make sure you are not in the 3 seater plane - just a little too sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riocobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    13
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
54
200
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hutton Rudby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed 5 nights in Anjajavy in September - and it was superb. One of the best hotel experiences (of many) that we have had. The location is perfect, perched on the edge of a glorious beach - the water was so clear and warm it was like bathing in a bath. Although we were there to have some relaxation at the start of our holiday, in fact the wildlife was as good as we saw anywhere in Madagascar. The thrill of being surrounded by lemurs in the trees whilst having afternoon tea in the Oasis garden remained for the whole stay, and arranged walks and boat trips were all most interesting - including a beautiful snorkel above some reefs in Moramba Bay.

Above all though the staff were incredibly friendly and attentive - they couldn't do enough to make us welcome, and were very helpful in reuniting us with some luggage we had left behind! One night we had a surprise dinner for two arranged for us in the Oasis garden - perfect!

And the food is excellent; definitely first class restaurant standard.

Whilst we were there it was quite - only two other guests for part of the stay. The hotel deserves more! Visit and be pampered!

Room Tip: We were in cabin 24 - which had its own steps down to the beach. Low numbers are furthest from the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonA50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Picture perfect location, wonderful service, luxury accommodation and great food. Expensive, however due to it's isolated location. A wide variety of activities from animal night walks, deep sea fishing, caving, cycling, pool and ocean swimming etc.etc. A wonderful family holiday with our children 11 and 13. We found we needed 5 days to complete all the activities comfortably. The oasis with the meandering lemurs are a treat at afternoon tea time. Night time walks finding chameleons by head lamp was interesting. We travelled in July and as such there were not many insects around which disappointed our bug hunting son. But the weather was warm enough to swim. The hotel owners and staff are very friendly and helpful. Our final night dinner was a table and lamp on the beach and the chef cooked us local mud crab at our instant request. The chef also cooked the 12kg yellow fin tuna caught by our 11 year old son that day for dinner, for us and the other guests. Nothing was any trouble and the staff couldn't have made our trip anymore terrific. Keep a lookout for George and Georgina!. The owners and manager do a wonderful job to support the local community. We left behind clothes and pharmaceutical items which we no longer needed for the remainder of our trip, which management distributes to the local people.

Room Tip: Most of the chalets are located directly over the beach, just a couple are setback from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Adventurers1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwood Middlesex
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The most wonderful 'fly-in' resort in the North West of Madagascar where we have spent 3 great days.

The lodge is in a remote area accessible only with a 2 hour flight by light aircraft from Tana. It employs one hundred local people, has a French//Malagasy manager called Cedric and is very aware of its duty to preserve the ecology of the area.

We had a visit to the village to see how the hotel has helped the local community by building a market and providing a doctor etc.

Most of the walks and tours are included in the basic price but any involving boats are extra.

Before our night walk we had a wonderful evening walking along the beach to examine the Tsingy at each end of the beach and the curious crabs that ran in and out of the sea as the waves came in and ran away from us very fast when we got close.

Monday morning we went in a speedboat north along the coast to Moramba Bay. There are curious mushroom shaped islands where the sea has eroded the bases so they sit on narrow stalks. You can only see the bases at low tide.

At mealtimes, and tea in the garden called the Oasis we see (sometimes) Brown Lemurs and Coquerelle Sifaka lemurs who browse on the early buds of growth on the trees here (it's late Winter now in September and approaching spring) or sometimes walking (or dancing in the case of the Sifakas) across the lawns. Iguanas and birds like Ibises are everywhere and the crabs that pop out of their holes and stare at us are just some of the curious creatures we have been seeing. The crabs on the beach see you approaching and run away very fast back to the sea.

The hotel has invested in a speedboat, new Nissan 4x4's and air conditioning and wi-fi in the reception and some chalets. The main building itself is huge and built with dark wood and is very luxurious. The dining area overlooks green lawns with coconut palms and a large swimming pool. Just past this is a beautiful beach with white sands and the ocean.
The hotel have taken great care to reduce risks of Malaria etc. It has all but been eradicated from the local community and if a sick malarious person arrives from outside, they are isolated from mosquitoes whilst being treated.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonBrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Whatever you do, go to Anjajavy! It is one of the best places that we have every stayed at. The service is the VERY best. It feels like the local staff owns the hotel. They are caring, friendly, efficient, gentle, everything is possible, without ever being intrusive - they make your stay unbelievable. Add to this the natural beauty - 4 private beaches within walking distance. The resort exudes peace and quiet - a balm to the soul. We stayed for 7 nights and could have stayed longer! Tea time in the garden with the lemurs and sifakas arriving on queue is special beyond - watching all their funny sideways moves and jumps. On a short night walk we saw 3 different types of mouse lemurs and on a boat trip the flying foxes. We also saw a number of birds that are endemic to Madagascar. We walked, snorkelled, had an amazing trip on the catamaran, saw tsingy coral and giant sacred baobabs. We even found time to lie in a hammock and read. The views from every chalet is spectacular - the website doesn't do it justice.The food is superb. The staff was incredible with our 10yr old son. On Independence Day the staff dressed up in outfits of all the different regions of Madagascar and served traditional dishes for supper - all a surprise to the manager who returned from France that day. The staff even organised a complementary massage for me as I had trouble with my back. AND had supper organised for the 3 of us on the beach on the last night. We travel a lot and don't normally return to places, but we will definitely go back here. It stays with you long after you have been - even though it feels like a dream!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mimi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

If you are looking for something so beautiful but still with a cultural feel then you will never beat Anjajavy. Not only is it a stunning situation, it is very natural and nothing is too much trouble.

Students often take gap years out to work here and they try and employ as many locals as possible so although you are totally in a 5 star place being waited on hand and foot, you know that money is going back into the local community and village.

It has a wonderful garden where they serve tea and cake every day at 4pm and the Lemurs come down and sunbath on the fence just being nosey. The chalets are to die for with views over the Indian Ocean.

Food could not be faulted and you can use bikes, canoes, kayaks to get to the local village or they have five stunning bays where if you request a picnic in advance it will be there.

Washing and ironing is picked up every day and returned the next. This must be the only place I have ever stayed on my travels that I would go back to; it isn't cheap but it is sooo worth it!

Room Tip: I can't imagine you would get sub-standard accommodation here; the chalets all looked the same a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathousefood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We spent 7 nights at Anjajavy and had the most amazing time. We have travelled widely but this place beats anywhere we have stayed hands down. All the positive reviews on trip adviser are true. Seeing the lemurs so close is amazing, everything was perfect and the staff are a delight and nothing is too much trouble. Cedric the Manager welcomes you on arrival and from the minute you board the light aircraft you know you are going somewhere special, there is lots to do the setting is romantic the food delicious and the villas perfect. And for anyone who enjoys deep sea fishing well, that is fabulous too! We miss this very special place and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: we stayed in no 7 steps right down to the sea very private wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmadNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anjajavy
161.9 mi away
Constance Tsarabanjina
Constance Tsarabanjina
#1 of 1 in Nosy Mitsio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
224.8 mi away
Boraha Village
Boraha Village
#8 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Crique
La Crique
#9 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
232.3 mi away
Hotel de la Baie
Hotel de la Baie
#2 of 14 in Antsiranana (Diego Suarez)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Brajas
Hotel Brajas
#42 of 59 in Antananarivo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
271.8 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anjajavy L'Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anjajavy L'Hotel

Property: Anjajavy L'Hotel
Address: Longitude 47o Est _ Lattitude 18o Sud, Anjajavy, Madagascar
Phone Number:
Region: Madagascar > Mahajanga Province > Anjajavy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anjajavy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Anjajavy L'Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a peninsula in Northwest Madagascar, Anjajavy is only accessible by light aircraft or by boat, the lodge includes 24 villas, a nautical centre and a designed garden. The property is tucked in a forest reserve of 550 hectares and opens to a number of deserted coves. The forest is host of a variety of lemurs and one of the most endangered bird of the world (Madagascan fish eagle). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Anjajavy L'Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hotel Anjajavy
Anjajavy l Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing