We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A luxury resort with wildlife”
Review of Anjajavy L'Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anjajavy L'Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anjajavy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This is as luxurious as it gets in Madagascar, from the private flight in, the charming welcome from maître de maison, Cedric, the gorgeous beach front bungalows and the range of activities on offer. The peninsula is private and safe and the local wildlife is easy to see, with lemurs regularly bouncing through the complex and lovebirds on the lawn.
For us though 5 days was 2 days too long to spend here. If you don't want to go on (and pay for) the boat trips you don't get much access to the wildlife guides. There are a number of walks you can easily do on your own but a guide is very useful for a night walk and you have to book your slot. There were lots of watersports on offer and there is a pool as well as the beach.
This is an expensive place to visit but it's good that so much of the cost is invested in paying staff a proper wage and consequently you are urged not to tip. Staff are very courteous and have excellent English generally.

Room Tip: All the bungalows have great views to sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marilyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013

We spent a week at Anjajvay and as one reviewer has already commented 'no website or words can do justice to the exceptional welcome, food and service'. This really one of the best places I have ever stayed in with wonderful accommodation in a fabulous location in the middle of a nature reserve with the friendliest staff anywhere. Everybody from Cedric down has your interest at heart and you can be as active or otherwise as you like.The food is magnificent and the garden a superb haven for wildlife. Go into it at night and see the spiders, frogs and snakes (non poisonous). The walks are fabulous especially the night walks and the boat trips and the guides so knowledgeable and obliging. If you only have a limited time in Madagascar go to Anjajavy. You won't be dispoointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RicMicDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We spent a wonderful week in Anjajavy with our nature-loving son. No website or words can do justice to the exceptional welcome, food and service. The setting is amazing and the walks and guides help you build up an appetite for the food and for life. So peaceful, so alive. We will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sally b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Anjajavy is really close to paradise. Cedric manages the hotel with a lot of enthusiasm and passion. The staff are so friendly and competent and the service is excellent. We enjoyed the tranquility and the peaceful surroundings, the lush garden, the white beaches and the crystal clear water. The meals are just superb and we even had our private dinner in the garden Oasis.
Running the length of the reserve is a series of small and beautiful coves. Paths lead from one to the other allowing you to go snorkelling and to get the feeling of having a private beach all to yourself. Don't miss the night walks, there is a lot to see and also the wonderful trip by boat is a must. We really hope to come back one day!

Thanks to all the great staff of Anjajavy - you made our holiday just unforgettable.

Ingrid and Leo
Switzerland

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingrid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Anjajavy consists of a beautiful ensemble of villas scattered over a beautiful, white beach and is located within its own private nature reserve teeming with wildlife. Spending a week there was bliss! Days were filled exploring deserted beaches, visiting little fishing villages, relaxing in the tranquil gardens while lemurs jumped in the trees above or relaxing on the beach. It was the perfect end to what was an amazing honeymoon. The staff were attentive and friendly and the service was excellent. We would highly recommend Anjajavy for anyone considering a honeymoon destination!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I don't know where to begin.... so we arrived at Anjajavy "international Airport" where we were greeted by the manager Cedric.He was so welcoming and so passionate about the hotel,the nature reserve,the country,the local people and animals that we knew we were in the right place.The hotel and the facilities are superb and the staff are fantastic.They remembered everything we liked to eat and drink and always checked that we were enjoying ourselves.It just got better and better with all sorts of surprises which exceeded our expectations. We were treated to our own private dinner in the Oasis, then there was dinner in the garden, dinner on the beach and a complimentary massage. The beaches of white sand and crystal clear water were a revelation and we would recommend a private lunch on Cirque 2. We loved the wildlife and saw the lemurs literally everyday and sometimes just outside our villa. The night walks are a must and again we saw all 4 night lemurs as well as chameleons,snakes and the hairy crabs. Our holiday here was the one we had always dreamed about... we have been thoroughly spoilt and I just can't imagine finding a paradise like this anywhere in the world. We can't thank Cedric and his team enough for spoiling us and making it the best experience of our lives.

Room Tip: We stayed in villa number 3 but I would recommend any of the villlas 1-5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rodney z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This is the closest thing to paradise we have ever visited. Service is excellent while still friendly and making you feel so welcome. Cedric is devoted to preserving the wildlife and area and doing much to replant trees etc plus help the local people.
The rooms are large and have wonderful views over the sea, often you will get the odd lemur visitor in the nearby trees.
Guides on the activities are very good.

Only trouble was we were only there 3 days - already we plan going back for a week.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColchesterSleeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Anjajavy L'Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anjajavy L'Hotel

Address: Longitude 47o Est _ Lattitude 18o Sud, Anjajavy, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Mahajanga Province > Anjajavy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anjajavy
Price Range: £25 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anjajavy L'Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a peninsula in Northwest Madagascar, Anjajavy is only accessible by light aircraft or by boat, the lodge includes 24 villas, a nautical centre and a designed garden. The property is tucked in a forest reserve of 550 hectares and opens to a number of deserted coves. The forest is host of a variety of lemurs and one of the most endangered bird of the world (Madagascan fish eagle). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Anjajavy L'Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hotel Anjajavy
Anjajavy l Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing