We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Anjajavy L'Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anjajavy L'Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anjajavy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Having gathered together to celebrate Christmas as a family, conversation constantly returns to our wonderful holiday to Anjajavy in August 2013. The photographs that have now been printed (and some on our walls) remind us again of how much we enjoyed our time with Cedric and his team of amazing staff. The guest service was outstanding and no leaf was left unturned in order to provide us with a first class experience. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff, with particularlattention shown to a member of the group who was pregnant. The meals were delightfully created using fresh and local produce. The setting was beautiful with several pristine and deserted beaches to explore, along with the numerous paths through the dry forest for which guides were available. Some of our highlights were the following:
- kayaking to crique (beach) 3 to snorkel
- boat trip and snorkelling in Morumba Bay
- afternoon tea with the lemurs
- dancing Sifakas crossing the lawn during lunch
- private picnic

We would love to return some day with the baby (or two)!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrCornish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

Wonderful hotel in an amazing location with excellent villas and private beaches
The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful and the food was first rate
We have stayed in many luxury hotels all over the world this must be the best in madegascar

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Spent 4 magical days/nights at Anjajavy L'Hotel. There was nothing that wasn't perfect. From the moment we arrived at the PRIVATE lounge at the Antananarivo Airport for the PRIVATE flight to Anjajavy, we were treated like royalty. When we arrived at Anjajavy, the "Maitre D'Maison" Cedric was apologetic, even for a weather-related flight delay (as if he controlled the weather!) but that was just his attitude throughout--taking personal responsibility that every guest's experience is stellar. Let me give another concrete example: Approximately 2 weeks before my arrival, I had noted by chance that a special species of lemur (the blue-eyed black lemur) is endemic in the very next peninsula north of the hotel. Well, on a lark, I emailed Anjajavy L'Hotel asking them if they could take me to see this lemur. To my shock they wrote back in 24 hours to say: yes, we are game if you are! I had thought they would scoff at this off-the-cuff idea, but they took it on as a challenge! A few days before my arrival, they sent a guide on a "test run" and he was successful! So of course I leapt at this adventure and had the time of my life--a dawn boat journey across choppy (but not sickening) seas to the peninsula, hike up a red-dirt ridge overlooking the sea through an exotic landscape filling with multi-color giant grasshoppers and austere praying mantis, through a jungle to a camp straight out of an Indiana Jones set, and then on to a troop of 8 lemurs with hair as black as night and eyes as blue as ice! So close that one peed on me (almost--I had been warned and jumped away at the critical moment!) And if that's not enough they also spotted the beyond-rare Sahamalaza sportive lemur in his tree-hole hideout (unBElieveable!) Certainly if you stay at Anjajavy, ask to go on these specific; super-pricy but worth it. The rest of the stay was also magical--you will easily see sifakas dancing daily, as well as George the giant snake (don't worry, he's harmless). The staff also treated us to a private lantern-lit dinner on our final night in the "oasis" (a beautiful tropical hideaway-like area on the grounds of the hotel). I must also mention that the food was excellent and completely safe (a rarity in Madagascar--I have gotten sick at other "high end" hotels but not Anjajavy). The ocean is warm, with just enough waves to be fun, and there is a good place for snorkeling. On an minor point, I don't know where in Madagascar they got their mattresses and pillows, because they are the better than those at the finest city hotels in the country (we got more sound sleep in Anjajavy than anywhere else in Madagascar). In summary, when my fiancee booked us here, I said (ignorantly): why spend so much time "at the beach" when we could be travelling around seeing all that Madagascar has to offfer; the truth is that Anjajavy combines much of what Madagascar has to offer in a beach resort that is second-to-none.

Room Tip: Bungalow number 10 is right on the beach and has great lemur trees right next to the porch (but any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TadW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This is as luxurious as it gets in Madagascar, from the private flight in, the charming welcome from maître de maison, Cedric, the gorgeous beach front bungalows and the range of activities on offer. The peninsula is private and safe and the local wildlife is easy to see, with lemurs regularly bouncing through the complex and lovebirds on the lawn.
For us though 5 days was 2 days too long to spend here. If you don't want to go on (and pay for) the boat trips you don't get much access to the wildlife guides. There are a number of walks you can easily do on your own but a guide is very useful for a night walk and you have to book your slot. There were lots of watersports on offer and there is a pool as well as the beach.
This is an expensive place to visit but it's good that so much of the cost is invested in paying staff a proper wage and consequently you are urged not to tip. Staff are very courteous and have excellent English generally.

Room Tip: All the bungalows have great views to sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marilyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We spent a week at Anjajvay and as one reviewer has already commented 'no website or words can do justice to the exceptional welcome, food and service'. This really one of the best places I have ever stayed in with wonderful accommodation in a fabulous location in the middle of a nature reserve with the friendliest staff anywhere. Everybody from Cedric down has your interest at heart and you can be as active or otherwise as you like.The food is magnificent and the garden a superb haven for wildlife. Go into it at night and see the spiders, frogs and snakes (non poisonous). The walks are fabulous especially the night walks and the boat trips and the guides so knowledgeable and obliging. If you only have a limited time in Madagascar go to Anjajavy. You won't be dispoointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RicMicDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We spent a wonderful week in Anjajavy with our nature-loving son. No website or words can do justice to the exceptional welcome, food and service. The setting is amazing and the walks and guides help you build up an appetite for the food and for life. So peaceful, so alive. We will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sally b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Anjajavy is really close to paradise. Cedric manages the hotel with a lot of enthusiasm and passion. The staff are so friendly and competent and the service is excellent. We enjoyed the tranquility and the peaceful surroundings, the lush garden, the white beaches and the crystal clear water. The meals are just superb and we even had our private dinner in the garden Oasis.
Running the length of the reserve is a series of small and beautiful coves. Paths lead from one to the other allowing you to go snorkelling and to get the feeling of having a private beach all to yourself. Don't miss the night walks, there is a lot to see and also the wonderful trip by boat is a must. We really hope to come back one day!

Thanks to all the great staff of Anjajavy - you made our holiday just unforgettable.

Ingrid and Leo
Switzerland

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingrid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Anjajavy L'Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anjajavy L'Hotel

Address: Longitude 47o Est _ Lattitude 18o Sud, Anjajavy, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Mahajanga Province > Anjajavy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anjajavy
Price Range: £24 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anjajavy L'Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a peninsula in Northwest Madagascar, Anjajavy is only accessible by light aircraft or by boat, the lodge includes 24 villas, a nautical centre and a designed garden. The property is tucked in a forest reserve of 550 hectares and opens to a number of deserted coves. The forest is host of a variety of lemurs and one of the most endangered bird of the world (Madagascan fish eagle). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Anjajavy L'Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hotel Anjajavy
Anjajavy l Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing