We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a beautiful place with everything five stars”
Review of Anjajavy L'Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anjajavy L'Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anjajavy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Our visit to Anjajavy came at the end of a three week visit to Madagascar. We'd built our hopes up that this would be a perfect place for some R&R as well as seeing unique Madagascan flora & fauna. From the moment we arrived to the time we left, it exceeded our expectations.
The hotel is professionally managed but remains friendly - the staff were all first class and tried constantly to make our stay enjoyable.
The rooms (chalets) are quite luxurious, very well located and have a/c and very nice bathrooms. It was very hot while we were at Anjajavy so we spent quite a lot of time in our room during the heat of the day - or on the little private terrace.
The restaurant was excellent and they made great efforts to cater for dietary requirements - their wine list was also quite impressive (for Madagascar). Breakfast was a real delight - sitting on the veranda looking out across the square with its fringe of palm trees with much bird life - particularly a little flock of love-birds.
We did several walks during our 5 day stay - excellent guides and interesting things to see including mangroves, several snakes, crabs, many flowers, baobabs etc.
One highlight was a "sundowner cruise" which gave us chance to sip a local cocktail while gliding round the nearby bay watching the sun set.
Another highlight was a boat trip up the coast to a very interesting bay where several different birds were seen as well as some very beautiful coves / crags with baobabs and other amazing flora.
We will have to return as we didn't have time to take advantage of the special "private" romantic lunch on one of the many beaches as well as other delights Anjajavy has to offer.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2014

This was by far one of the best places we have visited - Cedric promised us paradise and yes it was- from the location to the rooms to the wonderful staff all of whom were exceptional. We have already booked to return in September 2014.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JuneSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed here for four nights at the end of a two week Madagascar trip - it was a truly magical experience and even better than Vamizi or Kaya Mawa (which is saying a lot). We wish it had been for one or two nights longer. It's a glittering jewel on the Indian Ocean...it really has it all from excellent service, cozy pretty villas with gorgeous views, delicious food, great cocktails, beautiful lemurs and a charming host who is very passionate about Anjajvy and the surrounding community. When we arrived a lemur was sitting on our patio and proceeded to inch his way over to me, it was such a once in a lifetime experience! There are some very interesting walks with guides, and even just strolling on our own along the coastal path we came across many lemurs and got some wonderful photos. We hope one day to be able to return - it was a very long trip to get there, but totally worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank intrepidgirlLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Anjajavy was a surprise from my husband for our honeymoon in October 2013 and he couldn't have chosen anything that would have suited us better. The natural beauty and isolated feel were such as I have never before experienced and the attention to detail at the resort was just the best. I particularly enjoyed the romantic picnic on the beach and the deep sea fishing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice_Gordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Spent four nights at gorgeous Anjajavy. This hideaway is truly the garden of eden and definitely the best in Mada, I was glad that this was at the end of my 2 wk stay in Mada as of the four hotels on this trip, while this hotel was definitely the most decadent, the most spectacular, with the best service under Cedric's capable & passionate leadership, it was also the most sedate one.

The bungalows had aircon and all the creature comforts of a top hotel, swinging hammocks etc (including much appreciated strong insect repellent). To be able to experience these comforts in the middle of nowhere in Madagascar was truly a triumph against the odds.

Food was top notch, the new year's eve dinner was excellent and the dance performance by the staff & local village was fantastic and entertaining. The entire place is very pretty, manicured and beautifully designed, a great place to come and just be holed up.

A small minor issue for me was that I had higher expectations for their guided walks and studied their "activities book". As I came to Madagascar to see the wildlife (as we have incredible beaches back at home). The guided walks (did 3 of them) by comparison to the other 3 hotels in Mada (Vakona, Mandrare & Manafiafy) were super tame, ie the l'enclos des tsingy (supposedly 7km & a 3 hr) took less than an hour.

Otherwise, this is a stunning place to visit for a few days at the end of a trip as it is a socially responsible hotel that employs over 110 staff from the local villages and is impressively helping the local community/environment (ie reforestation via 250,000 trees planted), it is a tempting place to laze all day on 1 of the picture perfect beaches or by the pool, hang out with dancing Sifakas (bungalow 12 was a great location, seaview and right next to the Sifakas' "oasis"), but for more adventure /wildlife, other places in Mada are better.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anilegna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Just returned from one of the most memorable vacations ever. Anjajavy has it all, white sandy beaches, a crystal pool, hammocks on your patio, excellent food and without a doubt some of the best service we have ever had at a hotel. As if all of this is not enough you have lemurs visiting in the garden during afternoon tea! Cedric has a fantastic team and we can not praise the entire team enough! If you are going to Madagascar- stay here. It is absolutely Brilliant!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reenwoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We were at Anjajavy for a week and absolutely loved the resort. It is a smallish resort stuck in the middle of forests housing various species of lemurs. Our daily walks brought us face to face with Sifaka's and brown lemurs- the lemurs were not skittish allowing us amazing photo opportunities. But the experience was not just about the forests and wildlife (though that was very special).

The food was excellent, especially the seafood and local dishes that the chef prepared. We were not left disappointed by any meal. The highlight was the picnic on beach 2-- an absolute must for anyone who travels to Anjajavy. You have a private beach with a butler/chef who prepares your lunch, serves you wine while you laze under the umbrellas or in the hammock. After lunch their are beds setup in the shade for an afternoon nap-- a really special experience.

The service was at all times excellent, friendly and efficient and you never had want of anything- a really great team where all staff from the waiters to the gardeners are warm and friendly. The manager Cedric was warm and engaging and always around. It was really great to see the enthusiasm he has for preserving the wildlife and forests around the lodge.

I would definitely recommend the lodge to all!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a clear view of the beach and close to the beach, a couple of the rooms were sli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BushFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Anjajavy L'Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anjajavy L'Hotel

Address: Longitude 47o Est _ Lattitude 18o Sud, Anjajavy, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Mahajanga Province > Anjajavy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anjajavy
Price Range: £24 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anjajavy L'Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a peninsula in Northwest Madagascar, Anjajavy is only accessible by light aircraft or by boat, the lodge includes 24 villas, a nautical centre and a designed garden. The property is tucked in a forest reserve of 550 hectares and opens to a number of deserted coves. The forest is host of a variety of lemurs and one of the most endangered bird of the world (Madagascan fish eagle). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Anjajavy L'Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hotel Anjajavy
Anjajavy l Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing