We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Finally found paradise!”
Review of Anjajavy L'Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anjajavy L'Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anjajavy
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Finally found paradise!”
Reviewed 29 December 2009

This is an amazing place to stay, to us a paradise! Totally remote (you take a small Piper plane from Antanarivo to land at the hotel`s airstrip (!) located in the forest reserve!) and then a 30 minute transfer in the back of a pickup truck - you are immediatley immersed in a beautiful natural forest reserve and lemurs jumping through the trees. Arrival at the hotel and the view is breathtaking - wonderful green lawns with lovebirds then the blue pool moving onto the white sands and deep blue sea.Each villa is made of rosewood, spacious, with lovely verandahs and hammock. All overlook the sea and some are also close to the forest - we had lemurs jumping on our verandah during the day! Service is exceptional from everyone (especially Anna who is a marvellous guest relations manager). Food excellent, varied, fresh and nothing was any trouble if you wanted to vary the daily menu offered. This is a wonderful place to easily see lemurs (many species) and amazing birdlife, and fauna. There are many walks from the hotel through the forest, which you can do your self - but recommend a night walk with the guide - so interesting. Paradise deserted beaches/coves can easily be reached on the walks or if feeling active the hotel has a small marina nearby with catamaran/kayaks and waterskiing. We loved kayaking up through the mangroves and the boat trip to Marumba bay fascinating for seeing Sea Eagles and Flying Foxes! We loved the opportunity to make visits to the school/village/market and experience some local culture - fascinating. It was hot in October, clear blue skies and just a wonderful relaxing place to stay. Ideal if you are combining this with visiting other places in Madagascar and want to unwind. We are well travelled, having stayed in many "well known" hotels worldwide, and our whole trip to Madagascar (also stayed in Perinet and Antanarivo) surpassed our expectations by far and we will certainly return.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RhiannonDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    13
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
54
200
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2009

The most amazing end to a wonderful honeymoon. The accomodation is faultless with wonderful views to a deserted white sand beach with Tsingy pertruding from the sea. The staff are the friendliest people and genuine which we have discovered is a rare find. In particular the staff in the restaurant couldn't be more friendly and helpful. The staff who organise the tours are also excellent and the tours themselves were wonderful. We went on a night walk and spotted mouse lemurs, chameleons, hairy crabs and grey sportive lemurs (very rare to see) as well as many species of bird. The pool and beaches also were perfect. Active and restful the most perfect place on earth.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skyblue881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2009

My husband and I came to anjajavy for our honeymoon - it couldn't possibly have been any better. The hotel itself is beautifully luxurious and the staff very attentive whithout being in your face. The rooms (individual beach huts) were lovely and we had steps straight down onto the beach. Food was amazing - huge breakfast and three courses for lunch and dinner, all tasting fabulous. there was always a 'fish of the day' on the menu which we saw being brought in fresh by the local fisherman.
wine and cocktail menu was extensive and very good.
The hotel is set in its own private reserve where wilflife are protected. Guides were available to us and we went on a few walks, during the day and the night, and saw a huge array of wildlife. Lemurs also cut through the hotel grounds to get to different areas of trees and we saw them about the hotel most days.
We walked along the coast where there are 5 small coves with beautifully private beaches, on our way back the hotel delivered a picnic to one of the coves for us.
They knew it was our honeymoon and treated us to a private romantic dinner in the tropical garden, a sunset cruise with cocktails through the mangroves and gave us each the best massage we've ever had on the veranda of our room while we listened to the waves.

This hotel also has a huge involvement with the local community - the majority of the staff are from the surrounding villages, all fresh food apart from meat comes from the local villages (fruit, veg, eggs, fish). The hotel also support ecole du monde - an NGO working in the villages in the area. They have set up very good medical clinics in each village aswell as a school and also provide funding for families so the children can go to the city to get further education.

Tourism in Madagascar is suffering at the moment and this rolls over to affect the villages. It is an absolutely beautiful country and this hotel is supporing that very well.

www.anjajavy.com


sorry can't get our photos to load - will try again later

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oxfordtraveller84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rural Cheshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2009

I've come late to writing reviews for Trip Adviser but I'm hooked so my apologies for writing about a hotel we stayed in 18 months ago! Anjajavy is everything every other reviewer has raved about. The staff must surely rate as the most courteous, friendly and efficient in the world. One waiter helped me daily with my pathetic attempts at Malagasy but they were all darlings. The menus are fairly limited but the food is delicious. The wildlife is beyond your wildest dreams and often within arm's reach. Nothing is too much trouble. However, my 'Paradise at a price' title doesn't simply refer to rates. Despite all my attempts at avoiding certain foodstuffs and the local water, I still came down with a stomach bug whilst my husband 's developed when we came home. I was not the only one. There is a doctor on site and he did prescribe medication for me but my own solution was to only eat in the evening and to drink only bottled water. Unlike some of the other guests, I wasn't in any pain but I didn't stray far from a toilet. Despite this, I would thoroughly recommend Anjajavy and Madagascar and I'd go back tomorrow if I could but - and I hope this isn't a tip too far - I'd recommend taking panty liners and suggest you avoid ice cubes and anything that has to be washed (like salad). I'd go through it all again for the sight of a fledgling Madagascan Fish eagle and the lemurs that dance through the grounds!

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe NM
Level Contributor
105 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2008

Anjajavy is a beautiful and luxurious resort, with extremely comfortable bungalows, a very nice pool, good service and tipping policy, food that was sometimes outstanding, terrific lemur viewing, and lots of extras. More on each point below.

About the bungalows. They are large (ours was two story), with lots of wood and nicely designed overall. Good bathrooms with a large tub and separate W/C. Excellent windows for letting in the breeze and good A/C when that isn’t enough. A fridge to keep the water cold; a phone to the main office to schedule those massages; and mosquito nets that staff always let down but we never needed. Best of all, a front porch that was very relaxing with a view of the ocean and in our case, lemurs a few feet away. Also where those massages are given!

About the pool. The pool was nice, lounges comfortable, plenty of shade. This is where we hung out as the beach was very hot and the palapas didn’t have great chairs or much shade. Ocean had a fairly strong but manageable surf and the water was fine.

About the service and tipping policy. The service was extremely friendly and for the most part quite good. Meal orders sometimes were misunderstood, which is not surprising given that for most of the staff, English (and even French) is a new experience. We didn’t mind. English speaking hostesses come around on a regular basis to make sure everything is okay, and to answer questions, which is a nice touch. Best of all, you are not allowed to tip anyone individually - even the massage folks -- we thought that was great as the rest of our Madagascar trip was a fairly constant barrage of ariary expectations. One anonymous tip at the end was expected.

About the food. Some of the food was outstanding. Breakfasts were uniformly excellent -- the crepes especially. Almost all the appetizers at lunch and dinner were top notch as well - especially those involving sea creatures. Entrees were the weak spot, especially at dinner, and especially if involving meat. Not bad, just so-so and definitely not up to the standard of the top items.

About the lemurs. There is at least one brown lemur troop on the property that siestas in the “Oasis” area, and at least one sifaka troop as well (never saw their hideaway). We had bungalow 14 which had trees in front ripe with fruit, and both troops came by on an average of once per day, usually separate, but once at the same time. We sat on our porch and watched them up close and personal for as much as an hour before they moved off. The browns used our stairway and railing to get back to the woods (they had young ones who couldn’t make the jump to the railing directly), and passed a few feet away. The sifakas jumped to our roof on the way back; two mornings that’s what woke us up! We did spot the same animals at other spots on the property - seems like good lemur viewing is pretty much guaranteed.

About the extras. Great massages, not expensive. Free laundry. Lots of day tours. Decent library. Big plasma TV if you want to watch the few channels available. Internet exists more in theory than practice (not something we would normally care about on vacation, but our visit was during the heart of election season and the economic meltdown so we did struggle to get connected and succeeded on occasion). Nice that you fly in specially, though the road from air strip to hotel is hot and bumpy.

Bottom line. This is a great place to combine a beach vacation with lemur viewing. It was the end of our trip, and that seemed perfect timing. It is pricey by Madagascar standards, but we thought Anjajavy was absolutely worth it and we would return without hesitation.

  • Liked — Lemurs
  • Disliked — Some food was so so
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SantaFeUser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calfornia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2008

We (2 adults, 2 almost teens) capped off a 12-day tour Madagascar with 5 days at Anjajavy. It was heavenly!

The staff there are superb, and make sure that you know it's their job to make you happy and pamper you.

The hotel is waaay off the beaten track, and you'll need to take their own special charter plane to get to the Hotel's airfield (about 75 minutes from Antananarivo). Be sure to bring any special you'd want: medicines, snacks, and books/magazines to read, as you won't have access to any of these things. The setting is gorgeous... just the sea, the sand, and the dry forest filled with animals and birds.

The hotel pool, which faces out toward the sea, is lovely and peaceful. The ocean is fine for swimming, although when I was snorkeling I didn't see many fish here (I'm told that I would have seen many more, if I'd gone further out.) So if you're looking for wonderful snorkeling, this is probably not the place.

The hotel has a beautiful little garden where they serve afternoon tea, and the wild sifakas and lemurs (which are beautiful) come and jump from tree to tree above you whilst you are sitting there. Sometimes they come quite close, but they are gentle and will not bother you. Lots of beautiful birds too. This garden is one of the prettiest spots on the property.

Accommodations are luxurious: individual bungalows with thatched roofs, made of beautiful hardwood, that all face towards the sea. AC and all the modern conveniences, very, very nice.

Food was great (meals are included), and there's a nice bar in the beautiful central lodge. You do not have to worry about getting sick here; all the food and food prep is very high quality, and purified water is used to make the ice for the drinks.

There are plenty of lemurs here, and beautiful birds, and an assortment of outings (various hikes, boat trips, walks to beaches, a trip to a nearby Malagasy fishing village, a trip to a cave where you can see the skull of a now-extinct giant lemur, water-skiing, etc.) Night hikes to look for nocturnal mouse lemurs were excellent.

Yes, it is expensive, but in my opinion, for a wonderful taste of Madagascar without having to deal with anything unpleasant, surrounded by sea, sand, forest and lemurs, it was completely delightful. A wonderful place to "get away from it all!

  • Liked — Isolated, luxurious, beautiful, and you are surrounded by gorgeous lemurs
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelingLemur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2008

This was the climax to our trip to Madagascar and it proved to be an oustanding stay. From arrival at 'Anjajavy International Airport!' on the hotels own planes to the superb lodges and service this is the best hotel I have ever stayed in. Its setting is amazing - a peninsular dripping with wildlife, walks and peace. There is superb swimming in the pool or in the sea and walks which will certainly bring you up close to baobob trees, sifakas and lemurs. The food is superb, locally caught fish and fruit and vegetables grown in the local villages which are directly supported by the hotel. No surcharges for lobster and a readiness to meet special requests. The tea in the oasis garden is a highlight. Evening with the sifakas coming right up close and the birds eating the excellent cake from your hands was memorable. The lodges are excellently equipped with fantastic sea views. We even saw whales! I can't speak too highly of the care we received. Well worth it!

  • Liked — the setting and the quality of guest care
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anjajavy
161.9 mi away
Constance Tsarabanjina
Constance Tsarabanjina
#1 of 1 in Nosy Mitsio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
224.8 mi away
Boraha Village
Boraha Village
#8 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Crique
La Crique
#9 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
232.3 mi away
Hotel de la Baie
Hotel de la Baie
#2 of 14 in Antsiranana (Diego Suarez)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Brajas
Hotel Brajas
#42 of 59 in Antananarivo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
271.8 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anjajavy L'Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anjajavy L'Hotel

Property: Anjajavy L'Hotel
Address: Longitude 47o Est _ Lattitude 18o Sud, Anjajavy, Madagascar
Phone Number:
Region: Madagascar > Mahajanga Province > Anjajavy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anjajavy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Anjajavy L'Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a peninsula in Northwest Madagascar, Anjajavy is only accessible by light aircraft or by boat, the lodge includes 24 villas, a nautical centre and a designed garden. The property is tucked in a forest reserve of 550 hectares and opens to a number of deserted coves. The forest is host of a variety of lemurs and one of the most endangered bird of the world (Madagascan fish eagle). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Anjajavy L'Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hotel Anjajavy
Anjajavy l Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing