We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Hotel Stay”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Stayed at this hotel in October and had a wonderful stay. The rooms were clean and modern. The food at the hotel was very good. Breakfast was a standard European style one with bread, croissants, fruit, jams, ham, cheese and coffee. The location was in an excellent location in the middle of a nice shopping district. I loved the vibe of the city and this hotel was a safe and comfortable place to stay. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2012

we stayed here when our flight to Antananarivo was cancelled due to a military mutiny at the airport....! we picked it as it was relatively close to the airport, and had free WiFi which we needed to try and sort out our onward travel...unfortunately it was difficult to connect to the WiFi in our room, and we kept having to go and sit in the hallway or foyer in order to get a consistent connection.
the rooms were large and well equipped, and very clean. the pool was lovely and had a swim up bar - always nice! Breakfast was a very well stocked buffet which was great, dinner was a bit on the average side.
Staff were polite but not overly helpful or friendly. all in all a pleasant enough place to stay if you like big hotels...

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenandmatt1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Nice hotel, the location is good, I think this is supposed to be the best in Diego Suarez. Nice/new rooms, nice pool, the spa was very nice, though a bit odd that you had to pay to use the steam bath. The food was good, and there was a nice pool bar and another bar at the front of the hotel.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Nikhil_Advani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

very nice rooms, beautiful lounge, gorgeous pool and restaurant area BUT reception staff and above all bar & restaurant staff is very non-professional (yet friendly). They got everything wrong all the time + the food & drinks were not good.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
Thank susanned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Rooms are clean, spacious and modern but lacking the colonial atmosphere that makes Diego Suarez a special place. WIFI works well in the rooms and their big pool is their major asset. Hotel gym is a joke, just some rusted pre-world war machines next to the pool. Price of 98 EUR per night is ok. Breakfast was so poor (variety, quality and presentation) that I only had a tea-sip and left.

Only major problem for me was that the hotel does not accept Mastercard (as in many places in Madagascar); plus, there is only one ATM in town that hands a out a max. of 200k-400k Ariary per withdrawal. So make sure you take enough cash with you.

Furthermore, receptionist English is almost non-existent and their their sense of service-orientation quite poor.

Had great zebu beef-lunch at Melville Terrace Restaurant (belongs to Hotel Allamanda) with a great ocean view. Grilled lobster dinner at Tsara Be Restaurant also highly recommendable.

Nightlife in Diego is colorful, usually starting at Vainee, afterwards turning to the two other major venues on Rue Colbert (I guess their names were “Boit Noir” and “Nouvel Hotel”), all of them very close to Grand Hotel. As everywhere in Madagascar, local girls tend to be over-pushy with male tourists.

The hotel travel desk is run by ESF (Evasion Sans Frontière) that arranged a guided SUV-transfer to Nosy Be (stopping by Ankarana Park and lunch in Ambilobe), a bit expensive if you cannot share the expense with more passengers, but highly professional/interesting.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hons_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

This hotel is unlike all the others we stayed in Madagascar. It is very modern and fancy with a huge swimming pool. If you want the "real" Madagascar or a unique hotel, I would not stay here. The dinner was pretty good and the breakfast was nice as well.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alliemacq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018
Thank erikamelimada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antsiranana (Diego Suarez) hotels
0.6 mi away
Allamanda Hotel
Allamanda Hotel
#1 of 14 in Antsiranana (Diego Suarez)
170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Petit Paradis
Hotel Le Petit Paradis
#5 of 14 in Antsiranana (Diego Suarez)
46 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel de la Baie
Hotel de la Baie
#2 of 14 in Antsiranana (Diego Suarez)
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Royal Sakalava
Royal Sakalava
#14 of 14 in Antsiranana (Diego Suarez)
48 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel de la Poste
Hotel de la Poste
#7 of 14 in Antsiranana (Diego Suarez)
32 reviews
0 mi away
Le Village Diego
Le Village Diego
#10 of 14 in Antsiranana (Diego Suarez)
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: 46 Rue Colbert | Diego Suarez, Antsiranana (Diego Suarez) 201, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Antsiranana Province > Antsiranana (Diego Suarez)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Antsiranana (Diego Suarez)
Price Range: £70 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Madagascar/Antsiranana (Diego Suarez)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing