We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeds expectations”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maroantsetra
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Relais du Masoala
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceeds expectations”
Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

Charming & comfortable accommodations in the local style + mod cons, all in a beautiful setting. Warm welcome, great food & service. Best of the 4 nature lodges I stayed in during my 2 weeks of travel around Madagascar.

Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    4
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
14
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

If you like nature, this is the place to be! I spent there 2 weeks (for a volunteering project with the local National Park committee) and I really enjoyed my staying there. the owners are extremely kind and the local personnel helped me all the time (also in the middle of the night when I needed them to intervene to kill the big insects in my bungalow!). The park around is wonderful with the river just next where the sunset mirrors and gives wonderful scenery! Food is good, wifi might be arranged, bikes to get to the center are available...
Warning: if yua re afraid of snakes, insects (of any type, size and shape), birds and so on, this is not the place to stay (but would you chose to visit a country like Madagascar if you are afraid of all those!?!?)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cucciolo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

My wife and I stayed at Relais either side of a trip to Masaola in August. This was our third visit to Madagascar, and having now covered most of the country we can say with certainty that Relais is one of the stand-out hotels. This is due in part to the dual force that is the owner (Monique) and her partner in crime (Denise). They went out of their way to help us and to make our stay comfortable.

In terms of the hotel itself, the rooms are big and beautiful, the food is delicious and the service excellent. Staff are kind and friendly, and Monique keeps a close eye on every detail. English is spoken too, which is a big help.

The location is also of note, as it sits on a wonderfully serene river-front location, close enough to the sea to hear the waves crashing. A decking area out on the river allows you to enjoy the setting whilst being a stone's throw from the comfort of the bar/restaurant.

The hotel offers free activities, such as kayaking and bike rental. We took advantage of the latter and would recommend it, because Maroantsetra is one of the friendliest, most authentic, most laid-back places you're ever likely to find, and is best explored this way.

When in Masaola itself we stayed at Monique and Denise's new hotel, called Petit Relais. The finishing touches were still being added, Petit is well-positioned and hopelessly romantic. It will soon be a boutique resort in the Tsara Komba mould, perfect for honeymooners i.e. primary rainforest in the day, all the trappings of a luxury resort in the evening. It will also allow visitors who fly into Maroantsetra the advantage of staying with the same group/owners when they head up to the rainforest, as most seem to do.

Footnote: the price of gasoline has sky-rocketed in Madagascar, so a boat from Maroantsetra to Masoala is now over $200 return! The hotels on the peninsula really need to come together on this issue to pool resources and cut costs, otherwise clients will be priced out.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Feature A nice lodge about 15 mins out of Maroantsetra - not in Masoala. Good for 1 night.
Pos - Nice large huts, set in well-maintained grounds
Pos - Well managed, pleasant, competent staff.
Neutral - grounds are sandy, so thin vegetation. It is beach flats rather than rainforest.
Neg - The name and PR are misleading - this is not part of Masoala, it is 15 mins walk from Maroantsetra town. Nice for a day or two, uninteresting for longer. If staying longer, better to stay in the town itself, or go straight to Masoala.
Neg - Food was good but no veges. When I asked they said "No veges in this area." So I went to the market and bought some for them to cook.
Neg - no wifi, internet access only via usb stick, if you have an appropriate plan. Unexpected so close to the town.
Neg - big mosquito nets on the beds but no screens on the windows / doors, and in fact many windows were slatted, so no way to keep out the mosquitoes except when in bed. Silly.
Stay Again - Unlikely.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

My wife and I, along with our 2 friends, stayed at Relais du Masoala either side of a visit to the Masoala Peninsula. We wish we could have stayed longer. We were met at the airport and driven to this beautiful hotel, where on arrival we were met by Monique, the most charming hostess and owner. After a welcome drink we were escorted to our respective bungalows. These are lovely with a veranda all round (perfect for sitting), inside it got even better. Great room with the best 2 double beds in Madagascar. The pillows and linen were fantastic. Monique, her friend Denise and all the staff looked after us so well. My wife is a gluten-free vegetarian and the kitchen catered for her very well.
They helped us organise a night walk, where we managed to see several different species of lemur and a tenrec.
If you are planning a trip to Madagascar you really must stay here, and by the time I write this, Monique will have opened her new sister resort on the peninsular. I have a feeling we may be returning!

Room Tip: Any of the bungalows would be worth staying in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WildlifeandLuxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maun, Botswana
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

When you travel in Madagascar you start to understand why you need to spend time in different places before moving on. I had hoped to go straight to Nosy Mangabe from Maroantsetra and not "waste time" in between the spots I wanted to see. Well it was a good thing I stopped over at R du M. I got to meet Monique, a very interesting lady and very luckily managed to see an Aye-Aye on the night that I spent there! The place is beautiful, the rooms are huge, the pool is welcoming, the beer is cold and the staff are great. You get what you pay for and R du M is worth every Ariary you will spend there. If you have not included Nosy Mangabe in our itinerary it is well worth speaking to Monique about this - that's if you like camping...

Room Tip: Stayed in two different rooms during the time I stayed in Maroantsetra. Both were great. There is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Monique's place (and Monique) is charming and was a magical spot from which to start the real "en brousse" part of my Madagascar trip far from Tana. Monique and Denise warmly welcomed our small group with comfortable accommodations, good meals, suggestions on when to go out and see the local people fishing in the mornings, and interesting insights about the area and country. Le Relais du Masoala is a good base from which to visit Nosy Mangabe and the entire area.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ready4thenexttrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maroantsetra
0.0 mi away
Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa
Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa
#1 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
269 reviews
0.0 mi away
Les Trois Metis
Les Trois Metis
#8 of 59 in Antananarivo
114 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Beach Hotel
Royal Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Madirokely
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sarimanok
Hotel Sarimanok
#2 of 3 in Ambatoloaka
97 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Jardin du Roy
Le Jardin du Roy
#2 of 2 in Isalo
220 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ravintsara Wellness Hotel
Ravintsara Wellness Hotel
#19 of 32 in Nosy Be
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Relais du Masoala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais du Masoala

Property: Hotel Relais du Masoala
Address: Ambatomasina, Maroantsetra, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Toamasina Province > Maroantsetra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Maroantsetra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Relais du Masoala 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the top of Antongil Bay on the north-east coast of Madagascar, in the heart of the clove and vanilla growing region of the island, the Relais is a collection of 15 well-appointed Malagasy-style bungalows (with American comfort levels) scattered in an expansive lush coconut grove. A narrow causeway separates the Relais from the natural wild sandy beach along the Bay overlooking the island reserve of Mangabe. Gently bathed by the trade winds, the graceful and peaceful property lies a few minutes west of the center of Maroantsetra, the gateway to Masoala, Makira, Farankaraina and Nosy Mangabe. The Relais now has a satellite eco-lodge at the very edge of Masoala National Park. Indeed, the Petit Relais is a collection of just 6 bungalows nestled into the hillock known locally as "Lohatrozona" (literally, the "head of the whale"), where twenty pristine hectares of primary coastal tropical forest await you. The Petit Relais is discreetly set just behind a mile-long private beach of golden sand extending along Tampolo Marine Park from the village of Ambodiforaha to the South up to the very entrance to Masoala National Park to the North. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Relais Du Masoala Madagascar/Maroantsetra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing