We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing and friendly.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa 33

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa 33
Ranked #3 of 19 Blantyre B&B and Inns
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing and friendly.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

My wife and I stayed in Villa 33 for three months while I was working as a volunteer. We had lived and worked in Blantyre for five years during the late 70s and early 80s, when such establishments did not exist. It was nice to be back. Zein and his staff were most friendly and helpful. It was a very relaxing place to return in the evening, and there was always a pleasant mix of fellow guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zein D, Owner at Villa 33, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
It was so nice to have you and Fern at the lodge. It was an interesting 3 months with so much stuff happening. I'm sure you have lots of stories to tell all your friends!

You will be happy to know that the building work is finished, and the new structure complements the lodge really well. Thanks for the review and i hope all is well on your end.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    21
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
5
4
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Benoni, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

4 nights in Blantyre Villa 33 made every one of them a pleasant experience, where would you find such helpful and friendly staff and they are genuine, nothing appears to be too much trouble for them , the food is good , rooms comfortable , rates affordable nicely located quiet and comfortable. So pleasant to sit and just chat with other guests who feel as comfortable as you.
Zain all credit to you and your staff who make the task of guests comfort seem so natural and effortless thank you , I will certainly consider nowhere else on the next trip

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zein D, Owner at Villa 33, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thanks Alan for your very gracious review.
Reading your review makes what we do all the more meaningful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

I had a great stay at Villa 33 and would highly recommend it! Comfortable clean rooms and nice outside spaces to sit and enjoy the garden which is well maintained. Zain and staff were so helpful and friendly and make you feel very welcome. When I go back to Blantyre it will be my 1 & only choice, value for money doesn't get any better.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank john t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zein D, Owner at Villa 33, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thanks for the review! It was great having you and the team and after 6 weeks you guys were more like family then guests! Still i'm glad you made it home in time for xmas!
Please do let me know if you guys are coming up again and pass my regards the the others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Segundo, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

I stayed at Villa 33 for a whole week in between two Earthwatch adventures. It was really a great time and the staff took a personal interest in me. They walked me to the local church and market since I did not have a car. For this one American the proprietor cooked a special Thanksgiving Dinner that was completely gratis and absolutely wonderful.
I had more than enough to keep me happy at my villa, which for one person was very roomy. A couple would be very comfortable there. The internet was pretty fast and reasonably priced and I was able to stream NPR while doing other tasks. The staff was friendly and everything I had from the kitchen was consistently good. The chef took a lot of pride in bringing the eggs to you just as you ordered them. I am supposed to eat fish and there was an excellent salmon appetizer. Other Bed and Breakfasts in the area appear a tad rundown, which may fit in with the local culture. Villa 33 had a very nice clean and polished appearance as one would find in Europe or at the better hotels in downtown Blantyre. Villa 33 has a network of taxi drivers that can take you just about anywhere for a reasonable price, and you will know you are getting a fair price. I think the staff helped me with the electrical outlets (I am used to the standard USA plugs) and there was a very nice fan that was hooked to the UPS.

Room Tip: The highest villa is closest to the road. The normal traffic is not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hwbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zein D, Owner at Villa 33, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thanks for the great review!
The Thanksgiving dinner was indeed a lot of fun. Hopefully we will try and make it a yearly tradition at the lodge.
All of us at Vila 33 wish you a very happy New Year !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaborone, Botswana
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

I stayed at Villa 33 for a whole week (7th -13th Dec) and enjoyed it all. The place is serene, peaceful with nice landscaping. The management and staff were outstanding and very friendly. It is a good deal for your money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tresphor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zein D, Owner at Villa 33, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Thank you so much for your review!
It was a pleasure hosting you and your group.
We hope to see you next time you come to Malawi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

I had originally booking to Hostellerie De France, but that place was awful. We decided to see other places nearby and found this safe haven and stayed for many weeks. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good food with possibility to suggest your own dishes. Excellent price quality. If I ever go back to Blantyre this is the place to go!

Cheers from Finland,
Rami

Room Tip: Room number four has nice high ceiling and plenty of space (and a fridge)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rami P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zein D, Owner at Villa 33, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thanks for reviewing us! I’m happy you made it back home safely and hope all is going well for you. I have showed the staff your review and they were very happy. They pass their regards to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

This is a review of Cafe 33 because I don't see it listed on its own. We made plans to go there based on a write up in my Malawi guide which indicated that they serve tapas. However the menu is on the hotel website and we could tell that was no longer the case.

We arrived during a power outage (frequent in Blantyre) but that was no issue because they have a generator. We ordered the evening's specials, goat curry and campango (fish) in coconut sauce and both were very good. We would have ordered dessert but they didn't have either of the items on the menu (also something we encountered frequently in Blantyre) which were more inticing than the 2 on offer.

Service was attentive, the music was great and the grounds are attractive. The restaurant is located out of the city centre. This is no issue because tourists are advised to drive or take a taxi to most restaurants in the evening anyway, for safety.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SesterGTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zein D, Owner at Villa 33, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Thank you very much for reviewing the restaurant section of Villa 33. I am glad that you enjoyed the food and the music. Next time you visit Malawi, i hope you will come and stay with us as well. We hope to reintroduce some tapas back onto the menu soon, and we will always have our current menu posted on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blantyre hotels
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Blantyre Ryalls
1.6 mi away
Sunbird Mount Soche
Sunbird Mount Soche
#2 of 3 in Blantyre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Annie's Lodge Blantyre
Annie's Lodge Blantyre
#4 of 19 in Blantyre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Home Up Guesthouse
Home Up Guesthouse
#6 of 19 in Blantyre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
1.4 mi away
Malawi Sun Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa 33? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa 33

Property: Villa 33
Address: 33 Chilomoni Ring Road | Namiwawa, Blantyre 01, Malawi
Region: Malawi > Southern Region > Blantyre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Blantyre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa 33 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa 33 is the perfect location for business and independent travellers who need short to medium term accommodation in Blantyre. The lodge is set in 1.7 acres of beautiful tropical gardens in the quiet suburb of Namiwawa and is easily accessible from the centre of town.We have a nice, small restaurant on site and provide free laundry services to all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Villa 33 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing