We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 20 Blantyre B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good restaurant, good location”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed at Casa mia for two nights. The place is well located close to Blantyre business centre and Hanover str where you can find restaurants and shops. The food at the lodge is good and not too expensive. The rooms are a bit small but there is a nice pool (with no shade though). There is wifi but you have to purchase internet cards to use it - although the price is quite reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleonora A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, Manager at Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thanks very much for your review, its really appreciated. As rule our rooms are about 25sq mtrs, but 2 of them are a little smaller. We are about to start expanding our lodge to 20 rooms and those will all be larger. We really try to be affordable and also offer a great standard and we are so pleased that you appreciate this. Be assured that we value all revues and will continue to try to exceed expectations. Thank you so much!
Cathy
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    57
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
18
15
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We arrived from Lilongwe on Friday evening having booked a room for our family of 5. They were very accommodating in their email to us and said that we could all fit into one room. When we arrived however the room was not prepared and we had to request the kids' bed to be made. When we asked for a mosquito net the staff were not very willing to oblige. After about an hour of saying we will not sleep there if all the beds did not have nets, they reluctantly provided one and my husband screwed it to the ceiling. At $150 per night for a queen size bed and a 3/4 sleeping couch I expected nets. So we did complain and a very nice gentleman, Gracious, gave us an additional discount.
The bed was comfortable. The bathroom clean and shower very nice. No mosquito nets on the windows. Lots of mosquitos in the room. Aircon was efficient. Floor mats not clean. Bed linen crisp white and clean. The gym that was advertised on the website consisted of a bike and another machine which were both worn and dusty standing in the sun next to the pool. Not in a state for use. The poolside bar and furniture around the pool was extremely dusty and the sunbeds were dirty. There was no bar service around the pool.
We had a good stay but we expected more from the website.
The restaurant was excellent. Some of the best food I have had in Malawi.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naylas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, Manager at Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
We take our business very seriously and pay attention to all our reviews, good or not so good. However from time to time we do get reviews that are not contructive/correct. We must therefore respond appropriately.
At Casa Mia we DO NOT have family rooms niether are they advertised on Tripadvisor or our website. We can accommodate a child sharing with parents and we would normally charge half the lowest room rate for this.
In your case at the time of booking you indicated that your youngest child could share your bed and so we initially agreed to charge you MK64000 ($164) and we offered you a 10% discount bring the total to Mk57600 ($147.60) for 5 guests ( average $29.52 per person including breakfast) At checkout because of your complaint I authorised another 10% discount bringing the total to Mk51840 ($132.92 or $26.59 per person)including breakfast
During this time of year we always fumigate for mosquitos, and in fact this was done within the week that you stayed with us. Although the rooms do have mosquito nets, nowhwere on our literature does it say that they are there. Most people find that they are not neccessary as the rooms are airconditioned.
Before the rains is a very dusty time of year, the pool area and pool are serviced at 7 am everyday, i am sorry for the dust, but we are surrounded by trees and if the wind blows, of course dust will fall.
We do not provide poolside service or room service as a rule, however if you ask, our staff are always willing to assist.
Finally regarding the issue of floor mats not being clean. All rooms are serviced everyday. i think it is fair to say that if there are children running around the garden and pool, small feet will muddy the carpet. Afrter you had checked out we did give the room a thorough spring clean.
I do wish you had raised your concerns at breakfast after your first night, when it would have been much easier to address and rectify where appropriate. We still thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I've just left Malawi after working there for 18 months during which time I stayed around half a dozen times at Casa Mia. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

The location is excellent, quiet yet still an easy walk to the city centre. The rooms are clean, comfortable and everything works as it should. As others have described here, the restaurant is excellent, certainly some of the best food I have had in Malawi.

But, all that written, the thing that really stood out for me about Casa Mia was the service. If I had any kind of problem the staff were always ready to try and help. Most of the time they could, but what impressed me most was that when they couldn't they explained why in a clear and courteous way- this was rarely my experience elsewhere in Malawi where international standards of service frequently go unmet.

Given the price and the competition I can't see why any business traveller coming to Blantyre would stay anywhere else. I hope to return in the future.

Ndathokhoza kwa anthu onse amene amagwria nchito komweko ku casa mia. Ndikabwerara ku Malawi ndidzakhala kwanu ku casa mia. Zikomo kwambiri.

Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank DGW87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed in Blantyre for one night, which is enough if you're stopping over to cross borders or are on your way to the lake. We read the restaurant is amazing, which proved to be exactly the case. On our 4-week trip we never had such divine food as here, so compliments for that! Somewhat disappointing, though, was our room. We had the cheapest one, which was tucked away on the back of the property. The room was clean, but small (emphasized by a low ceiling), very simple and filled with mosquitos. There was a pool outside, but with old creaky sunbeds and faded pillows around it. It seems Casa Mia revolves much more around the famous restaurant than anything else, which is a bit unfortunate.

Room Tip: Funny enough it is cheaper to pay the room rate in USD than in local Kwacha...!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, Manager at Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you for your review of our property. In our business we do strive to please all the time and sometimes this is just not possible. The vast majority of our guests believe we are better than average, as evidensed by our receiving a Certificate of Excellence from Tripadvisor just this year.
To respond to your negative points though, indeed you did opt to stay in the cheapest of our rooms, which naturally is smaller than the others. In terms of being simple, the room has a queen size bed, is ensuite with airconditioning, satellite TV, Tea/coffee facilities, pictures on the walls, bed side lamps, a room safe, smoke alarm, mosquito nets over the bed etc, hardly simple.
In respect of being "filled with mosquitos", every room as mentioned above has a mosquito net, additionally, as we are in Africa where there are mosquitos! we do have insect sprays in all the rooms. We also fumigate the whole property every 6 weeks as a control measure and we ensure there is no standing water to attract same.
You comments on the pool is actually incorrect. The whole pool area was only built last year, and the bar extension and pool changing rooms, this year. The sunbeds are virtually brand new, being made from solid Mbawa hardwood, they are most definately not creaky. The cushions on the beds were also bought this year from South Africa, and being in the sun, of course they will fade.
In short we do thank you for your review, but feel your negatives are not well placed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dangriga, Belize
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Arranged an airport pickup (25$ US) and the driver was there waiting for me when I arrived. Casa Mia is in Kabula Hill part of Blantyre, in a quiet neighborhood, a 5 minute walk from city centre. Very welcoming staff when I arrived. Room was exactly what I needed after a VERY long 3 days of travel. Clean, great bathrooms and HOT water. It was cold and the beds had nice, thick comforters. I slept 13 hours the first night. Complimentary breakfast options are great. I had croissants and fresh fruit with orange juice and coffee. I didn't have dinner there but I hear they are very good, not for the budget traveller. I stayed 2 nights in a single deluxe for 70$ US a night. There is a nice pool but it was too cold to swim.

Room Tip: I had a room in the back of the yard and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Casa Mia started out as a restaurant, and what food! Elegant fare from Beef Wellington and sea scallop risotto to the best homemade muesli ever for the included full English breakfast. It also seems to be where the locals come for a night out. The room was clean and comfortable, with a snowy mosquito net which was needed. The staff was welcoming and helpful. The walk to the CBD is an easy one from this oasis on Kabula Hill. I made the reservation at their website and the response was swift, cordial and efficiently handled. I'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulaF168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala, Uganda
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I spent three nights at Casa Mia earlier this week, and can honestly say that it was excellent. Management and staff are welcoming, polite and efficient. It would be hard to find a more charming and helpful waitress than Caro, and how many owner/managers would drive a guest downtown to make an urgent appointment, and wait until the appointment was finished? The food is delicious: a special word of praise for the perfectly poached Eggs Benedict for breakfast. The rooms are far more comfortable than can reasonably be expected, given the modest price tag. And it's a great location, too, tucked away on Kabula Hill but no more than 10 minutes' walk to Blantyre city centre.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomAdlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, Owner at Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Hello Mr. Adlam, and thankyou for taking the time to review us. Carol was so pleased to get her first mention on Tripadvisor.
One of the good things about being small is that we really can (easily) go that extra mile, even for simple things, which I know are so appreciated by our guests.
It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and I hope that when you are next in Blantyre you will stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blantyre
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Blantyre Ryalls
0.4 mi away
Sunbird Mount Soche
Sunbird Mount Soche
#2 of 4 in Blantyre
96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Madidi Lodge
Madidi Lodge
#6 of 12 in Lilongwe
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bridgeview Hotel & Conference Centre
0.0 mi away
President Walmont Hotel
President Walmont Hotel
#3 of 12 in Lilongwe
86 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa 33
Villa 33
#3 of 20 in Blantyre
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant

Property: Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant
Address: Kabula Hill Road, Blantyre 3, Malawi
Phone Number:
Region: Malawi > Southern Region > Blantyre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Blantyre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Mia offers accommodation, conferencing and a first class restaurant. Situated in the heart of Blantyre we are a stone's throw from shops, banks and other amenities. Our well trained staff will do there utmost to make your stay comfortable & enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mia Lodge And Restaurant
Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant Hotel Blantyre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing