We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chilled out place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Hostaria

L'Hostaria
Ranked #10 of 47 Restaurants in Blantyre
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Infront of Twiga Lounge Club
Blantyre, Malawi
Level Contributor
136 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Chilled out place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Great pizza, very good italian food. The unsofisticated place to be in Blantyre for a few beers and good food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MikeWeiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    32
    20
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A small pieces of Italy in Malawi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

I was there on Friday night. From the Outside it doesn't look good but the atmosphere is relax and informal. Iam Italian and I can say that sometimes I eat worst food in Italy! We have to consider that here The same raw materials are not available.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alexariete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nahant, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
116 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very good food, worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

I thought the food was quite good... since you are in Blantyre and not Rome, you probably can't expect the best Italian meal ever, but I enjoyed my linguine, and tried my friend's pizza which was also really good. And nice red wine. I'd definitely recommend.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bea409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Losing its way!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

Am sitting here at the restaurant as I type the review.
On arrival we were presented with bread which was crumbling due to being stale. Asked th waiter and he said it was not baked today (Tuesday) and that they were closed yesterday so maybe it was baked on Sunday. What nonsense??
Meals arrived fast which is unusual.
Saltimbocca was covered in sauce unlike its usual style. Taste was okay.
Bolognese was great.
Prawn pasta was okay. Loads and loads of mushroom to hide the fact that 3 halves of prawn were in the meal.
Brandy steak was layered in pepper sauce to disguise the fact that it was actually a disgusting slice up of thin layers of roast beef also from some days before. Also confirmed by the waiter.
Worst steak ever eaten here.
Chocolate brownie was 1 inch long at the most and dry and hard. The ice cream helped swallowing!!

Since the owner Flavia sold some of her shares this place is going down fast and will likely see the pots soon if a u-turn by Flavia herself is not put into action. She is the success behind this restaurant that has been a delightful place for families and friends to frequent. Now ... Not so much.

Hope you read this Flavia so you can save the place.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BwanaSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blantyre
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Large Menu but average quality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

This good looking restaurant has a very large menu but the standard of the food is only average. The service is inconsistent with some staff giving very good service and others either inexperienced or not interested.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Hostaria also viewed

Blantyre, Southern Region
Blantyre, Southern Region
 
Blantyre, Southern Region
Blantyre, Southern Region
 

Been to L'Hostaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing