We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must for everyone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Blantyre Ryalls
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Blantyre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The rooms were clean and spacious. The food was excellent, a good combination of continental and Malawian cuisine. Staff were friendly and courteous. The surroundings were also very pleasant, a good combination of old charm, and modernity. I would recommend it to anyone visiting Blantyre, for any purpose, as it is centrally located, and easy to find. A must for everyone

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsTM199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mischa L, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Blantyre Ryalls, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear GUEST

I trust you are well. We really appreciate the positive comments. We are glad that you enjoyed all of our services we have to offer at PH Ryalls.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future .

Regards
Mischa Lehner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

Protea Hotels Ryalls is a very good hotel, with clean rooms with very friendly front desk staff and potters. They food is very good as well - a mixture of western cuisine and Malawian traditional food. Each time i have gone to Malawi for business I have always made Protea Hotel Ryalls my home away from home. They just need to continue retraining their staff in the latest trends in customer service as some of their staff were found wanting - particularly the waiters in the 21st Grill restaurant who I find to be rather casual in their service delivery to customers.
The gym attendants also need to be well trained as they were never ever present each time I used the gym.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shipango M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mischa L, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Blantyre Ryalls, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear GUEST

I trust you are well. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at PH Ryalls & the 21Grill. We are very happy that you enjoyed your entire stay with us at PH Ryalls and that you experienced all of what we have to offer.

We really appreciate the feedback it really assists us in striving to improve our product so that we can maintain excellency and consistency always.

Thank you for your support, we look forward to seeing you again in the future .

Regards
Mischa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed at Mount Soche, where service and food were both excellent, but decided one evening to try dinner at what was supposed to be the best restaurant in Blantyre. After standing around unattended for about 10 minutes, we went up to a waiter asking for a table. Another 10 minutes passed until we called someone over to order a drink. Ten more minutes, we called a 3rd waiter over to ask for a menu. We asked him to not leave, we will order immediately, but he was not willing to do so. Called waitress no. 4, by now starving. We ask for some bread and give our order. 10 minutes later I got up to take left-over bread from another table. Having specifically asked that there should be no onions in my meal, we start waiting an hour - my food arrived, covered in onions. No apology. My worst restaurant experience ever.

Room Tip: I cant comment on their rooms, but suggest you avoid the place and stay at Mount Soche - great servi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Illse N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mischa L, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Blantyre Ryalls, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear GUEST

I trust you are well. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our Restaurant.

I sincerely apologies for the experience that you had. Would you be so kind as to email me a contact number or email address so that I may personally apologies for your experience you had and to get more detailed information about that night.

Regards
Mischa : mischa@proteamalawi.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

ryalls hotel is one of the oldest hotels in malawi and after they made renovations its one of the better hotels, centrally located in the heart of blantyre. they have a world class breakfast fit for a king, other meals are decent, there 21st Grill is excellent especially their steaks! my only concern is that i feel that the rates are too high making it unaffordable for locals to enjoy their facilities.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mischa L, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Blantyre Ryalls, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear GUEST

I trust you are well. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at PH Ryalls & 21Grill Restaurant. We really appreciate the positive comments and feedback and we are extremely happy you enjoyed everything that PH Ryalls has to offer.

PH Ryalls does have a lot of history and it is important that we preserve that to the best of our ability as it is definitely in my opinion one of the landmark hotels in Malawi.

Regards
Mischa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Definitely the best hotel in Malawi. Located in the center of Blantyre, Protea hotel offers all the amenities you could look for in a luxury hotel. Very modern, the rooms are spacious and well appointed. You will certainly appreciate the TV channels available as well as the free movies library available on demand in your room. If you are fan of food adventure, you should try the crocodile starter at 21 grill restaurant, certainly the best address in the country. "slow death by chocolate" remains my favorite desert.

Room Tip: Choose a corner room they often are a bit bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeilaAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mischa L, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Blantyre Ryalls, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear GUEST

I trust you are well. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at PH Ryalls & the 21Grill. We really appreciate the AWESOME comments and positive feedback for both PH Ryalls and 21 Grill.

We are glad that you enjoyed the popular crocodile starter and of course one of my favorites too “slow death by chocolate”.

Regards
Mischa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Stayed at Ryalls as part of a party of 6 over four rooms for three nights.
Hotel was welcoming and ready when we arrived. The rooms were modern, perhaps a little dark but generally very well appointed. Towels and toiletries were replenished, though there was no turndown service. It was also a bit noisy early in the morning when housekeeping started. Hot water appeared variable. My shower was fine and broadly hot. My son in the room next door always had a cold shower. Breakfast buffet was generally good with a good international selection. All in all, this is a decent international standard hotel - for which it obviously charges international prices. Service was pretty good and facilities modern and clean. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms over the car park seemed to be noisier. Rooms near the elevator / housekeeping station (eg 222...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mischa L, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Blantyre Ryalls, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear GUEST

I trust you are well. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at PH Ryalls. We really appreciate the positive comments and feedback on areas where we can improve on.

Thank you for your support and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Regards
Mischa Lehner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The Ryalls Hotel is easily the best in Blantyre. As part of the Protea (South African) chain it maintains good service standards and is clean and located in the Central Business District which is the financial district. Rooms clean and grounds well maintained. Food quite decent except for Grill 21 which is excellent... Good news is that Internet now has 500Mb/day free, bad news it it has not worked most of the time which I hear is common in Malawi. Once that is fixed it will be the best business hotel. Rates higher than others but with Prokard membership ($50) the discount gets it closer to other rates nearby.

Room Tip: Ryalls has a courtyard between buildings. Best rooms face inward towards trees and grass away from s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steveuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mischa L, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Blantyre Ryalls, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear GUEST

I trust you are well. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at PH Ryalls. We really appreciate the positive comments and feedback, thank you for your support .

We thank you for the comments about the internet we will do all that is possible to solve this challenge and provide a consistent and reliable Wi-Fi infrastructure all the time.


We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Regards
Mischa Lehner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blantyre
0.1 mi away
Sunbird Mount Soche
Sunbird Mount Soche
#3 of 5 in Blantyre
105 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Hotel Masongola
Hotel Masongola
#2 of 2 in Zomba
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
152.9 mi away
Bridgeview Hotel & Conference Centre
0.2 mi away
Malawi Sun Hotel & Conference Centre
1.3 mi away
Villa 33
Villa 33
#2 of 19 in Blantyre
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Blantyre Ryalls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Blantyre Ryalls

Address: 2 Hannover Avenue, Blantyre, Malawi (Formerly Protea Hotel Blantyre Ryalls)
Region: Malawi > Southern Region > Blantyre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Blantyre
Price Range: £155 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Blantyre Ryalls 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the central business district of Blantyre, the commercial capital of Malawi, Protea Hotel by Marriott Blantyre Ryalls is perfectly suited for business travellers and holidaymakers alike. This district has become the financial hub of Malawi and the hotel is only 15 minutes from the airport. The hotel accommodation is spacious, elegant and comfortable, comprising of air-conditioned and en-suite rooms, with satellite TV amongst its facilities, as well as up to 500MB free wireless internet access per day. Protea Hotel Ryalls is the most technologically-advanced hotel in the country - the hotel for any result-orientated executive. After a hard and stressful day, you can either relax at the pool or work up a sweat in the Fitness Centre. Blantyre Sports Club, just down the road, offers the use of additional sporting activities such as golf, tennis, squash and bowls. Wining and dining facilities are available in the hotel and in town, plus an ideal venue for conferencing and banquets, offering world class facilities unique to the Malawi market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Blantyre Ryalls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Blantyre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing