We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La belle Blantyre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostellerie de France hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Blantyre
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Obviously, from earlier reviews, some visitors don't get along with the owner's idiosyncratic manner! We found him welcoming and entertaining. The room was fine, and the place is good value by Malawi standards, having a lovely pool area with great views, and good meals on offer. A strange experience, in central Africa, and very refreshing if you like that sort of thing!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank merrickPhomPenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostfrance, Propriétaire at Hostellerie de France hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013
Google Translation

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our modest hotel.
The pleasure of this review ..... Biou and Jean Michel
Merci infiniment d'avoir pris Le temps de donner votre Avis sur Notre modeste hotel.
Au plaisir de ce revoir.....Biou et Jean Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
There are newer reviews for Hostellerie de France hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 35 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

After a long trip we managed to find this hotel to be greeted by 3 german shepherds one of which was particularly unfriendly. We were shown to our rooms by friendly staff(the owner was not) but had to dodge dog poo along the way.
Our apartment below the pool was smokey and in desperate need of decoration. It was dirty,linen threadbare and pillows lumpy or flat.
Breakfast was substandard , my daughter had some fruit from the fruit bowl when a cockroach made an appearance.
It is such a pity that this place has not been looked after as the setting is stunning.On a positive note the pool was clean.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostfrance, Propriétaire at Hostellerie de France hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our modest hotel.
The pleasure of this review ..... Biou and Jean Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The accommodation was no cheap and we paid in advance because the owner doesn't get up early in the morning to settle up. The organisation was chaotic and when we were eventually shown to our room (the family room) we found;
The bedding was threadbare and the same as the 2007 picture on the website. The covers were not freshly laundered. The ceiling was damp. A millipede walked across the room. The bathroom door didn't close properly. There was no hot water. The bath/shower was dirty. The loo seat was hanging on by a
thread. No tea/coffee making facilities. The towels were grubby. The pillows were lumpy and the cases didn't fit. No plug in the wash hand basin. Truly shocking. Setting is fab but cannot compensate for the general sense of malaise about the place. We were thoroughly enjoying a well coked breakfast until a long hair was retrieved from the marmalade. Throughout it all, the owner slept blissfully. I think the report about the beg bugs has some truth.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mplmetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostfrance, Propriétaire at Hostellerie de France hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our modest hotel.
The pleasure of this review ..... Biou and Jean Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We have stayed here now a few times and always looked after well by the owners. The hotel is well placed for easy travelling around Blantyre and further afield. The rooms range in finish, all are clean, have TV with cable and good WiFi. The food is particularly good, thanks to a French approach and just about anything you wish for can be on the menu!! Our daughter has just finished a 3 month stay and enjoyed it, was well looked after and would stay again. I have to agree, on the occasions when I have stayed the service has always been good and the quality consistent. I believe it offers good value for money and will stay again when I return to Malawi next year.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool have excellent views across the city to the mountains.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank are_u_sure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostfrance, Propriétaire at Hostellerie de France hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our modest hotel.
The pleasure of this review ..... Biou and Jean Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Jimmy from Mexico by the way of California and his beautiful Zimbabwean wife.
The host, his wife and the staff were some of the best we have encountered in all of our African travels. The hotel is clean, the prices are very reasonable. The restaurant meals were very good. No where do you get a better breakfast. The portions are twice as big as you would get in Europe. The only negative comment that you will get from me is that many items on the menu are not available. There was a menu in our room; I would spend an hour with it before dinner. When I would give my order to the waiter; it was upsetting to hear "that is no longer available". Suggestion #1 cross off the menu items that you no longer have or #2 print a current menu. We will return, hopefully in December.

Room Tip: SPA was not heated
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank nowayjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostfrance, Propriétaire at Hostellerie de France hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our modest hotel.
The pleasure of this review ..... Biou and Jean Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I have stayed at this place twice during 2014 - a total of about 8 nights.
The hotel is located a short (less than USD 1, less than flive minutes) ride with one of the many mini busses that constantly flow through the street from/to the city center.

The food is easily the best in Blantyre with a number of French and international dishes with a broad selection of wine and liquer.

The hotel is placed on a beautiful hill side overlooking the city and it has a great and peaceful pool area for the guest to enjoy.

Rooms come in different sizes, but all are clean and well kept. I cannot help to wonder if the previous review regarding bed bugs is truly reflecting reality or just some personal vengence - I did not encounter any problems and the five other guest I traveled with certainly did not either.

Only downside is the dogs - the owner has three peaceful but somewhat noisy dogs that alert the night crew of guests arriving at night. If you are a very light sleeper it might be a consern to you - I did not have any problems sleeping through the night.

Staff was very helpful to me and the owner was very knowledgable giving me good advice on Blantyre and general travel tips. He also has a small library in one of the common rooms.

I will not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone - and I will surely choose to stay here again if I return to Blantyre.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostfrance, Propriétaire at Hostellerie de France hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our modest hotel.
The pleasure of this review ..... Biou and Jean Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The hotel was well placed and the owners are welcoming if not a little eccentric. Unfortunately, we had high expectations of the food based on previous reviews but it fell far short and was way over priced for the quality. It is good value for money although on the second night I asked for extra blankets as it was quite cold. The next day I was suffering from severe bites from bed bugs, not pleasant when I had a full day of work ahead and a long drive back to Lilongwe. Perhaps standards have slipped since the previous reviews!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynchei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostfrance, Responsable commercial at Hostellerie de France hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

...hi..
See the costumer is sleep ere...ave pictur....in the room at 30 us$ for 2 person....
Ave problem for pay the dinner....cash is small ....after discus...ave cash for pay....
Problem animal in the bed is only vengeance....
Friend of Denmark costumer is sleep 6 day and no ave complaints.
Butt no problem..
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our modest hotel.
The pleasure of this review ..... Biou and Jean Michel
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blantyre hotels
1.4 mi away
Sunbird Mount Soche
Sunbird Mount Soche
#2 of 4 in Blantyre
97 reviews
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Blantyre Ryalls
1.2 mi away
Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa 33
Villa 33
#3 of 20 in Blantyre
53 reviews
2.0 mi away
Annie's Lodge Blantyre
Annie's Lodge Blantyre
#4 of 20 in Blantyre
26 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mount Pleasant Inn
Mount Pleasant Inn
#10 of 20 in Blantyre
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie de France hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie de France hotel

Address: Chilomoni Ring Road 3 kazuni close | Namiwawa, Blantyre PB 246 BT, Malawi
Region: Malawi > Southern Region > Blantyre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Blantyre
Price Range: £18 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostellerie de France is only situated 2 minutes drive from Blantyre City Centre just off Glyn Jones Chilomoni Ring Road. The House is set in tranquil spacious gardens with fantastic views and a large swimming pool salt water and Spa. On offer B&B: Executive room ,70us$, standard room 50/60 us$,family room 100 us$ B&B (4peoples), self catering:Flats 25/30/40/50 us$, Apartment 100 us$2 bedroom (4 people) ,apartment 130 us$ 3 bedroom (6 people) restaurant,bar,gym and Conference room.wifi, rant a car ,Bus at 20 meters ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostellerie De France Blantyre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing