We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expected the least, got the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Safari Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Safari Beach Lodge
Bronkhorstspruit, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Expected the least, got the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

First visit to Malawi and Safari Beach Lodge made it an unforgettable time! Even got engaged there! :) Friendly staff and great service! Awesome to wake up with Fish Eagles calling in the morning near our room!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelmoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    33
    16
    11
    9
See reviews for
14
31
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

Just returned from a wonderfully relaxing 6 days at this lodge. Very friendly staff, stunning location, and the baboons kept us endlessly entertained. Cocktails in the sundowner bar right by the sea with the manager on our last evening was a memorable event.

Can't recommend this lodge highly enough.

AW from Leeds

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanjedza, Blantyre, Malawi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

We spent a night at this place on 7th November 2012, on our honeymoon week, the place is very nice and very good scenery as well, as much as it is expensive, i wouldn't mind spending another day on our anniversary every year just to treat my wife.

The meals were very good as well, we had some kebabs and they were cooked nicely that I saw my wife finish off her meal from her plate.

Room Tip: Room one is probably the one which we slept in and is not located in the bushes
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmythembakak0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012 via mobile

The view of the lake is lovely. The staff are friendly and polite. Their rooms and chalets are available at the same price, $110 (for a single). I stayed in one of the rooms, and the room was slightly above basic. It had air conditioning, dstv, and hot water in the sink, but not in the shower. The shower had a slick and sloped concrete floor, which seemed less than ideal. The room had a good bednet, a wicker sofa with some basic cushions, and a small veranda with a pretty view. It was an adequate place to stay, but I feel like it was much too expensive for what it had to offer.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shempus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

Stayed for work in the area. The hotel is set in woodland overlooking Lake Malawi. The beach is rather limited in size and attractiveness but as I was there for a couple of days for business this was not a problem. The room though was very tired overall like the traveller after the first night as the bed and pillows were uncomfortable, the mossie net did not fit properly and the AC (when the power was on) seemed to be all mouth and trousers! The food was just OK and the bar good with helpful staff. All in all the hotel needs sprucing up and some TLC. For US$110 a night the place was not good value.

Room Tip: For mobiles, TNM was not accessible but Airtel was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oncebitten2xshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

Stayed only one night at the Safari beach logde in Sakima, Malwai.
It is very tranquil and peacful great fro a weekend getaway. The staff where very helpful and friendly but there is still some room for waitressing training. The food was good and evryone was willing to help. The Safari beach lodge is very enjoyable and great place to enjoy the beautiful lake. For anyone that enjoyes peacefull places I recommend this logde.
Maria Ines and Pia Gallegos from Switzerland.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poolville, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

We have stayed here before with a relatively good experience. This time we found poor service, and no hot water. We are used to cheap lodges with no hot water, but if we are paying over $100 a night, we expect hot water! The food was passable, but not great. The walk to the beach is quite a trek down (and then back up) the stairs. The beach area is quite small and the view is limited. You actually feel a little claustrophobic on the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the chalets overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diveydivey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salima
0.0 mi away
Blue Waters by Serendib
0.0 mi away
Sunbird Livingstonia Beach
0.0 mi away
Sunbird Nkopola Lodge
Sunbird Nkopola Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mangochi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kaya Mawa
Kaya Mawa
#1 of 1 in Likoma Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nkhudzi Lodge
Nkhudzi Lodge
#1 of 18 in Mangochi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Zebra Island Lodge
Blue Zebra Island Lodge
#1 of 1 in Maleri Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Beach Lodge

Property: Safari Beach Lodge
Address: Senga Bay Forest Reserve | Shore of Lake Malawi, Salima, Malawi
Region: Malawi > Central Region > Salima
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Salima
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Safari Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Beach Hotel Salima
Safari Beach Lodge Malawi/Salima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing