We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A potential gem but current disaster”
Review of Hotel Masongola

Hotel Masongola
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Masongola
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Zomba
Reviewed 25 August 2009

This hotel is a missed opportunity. The location and the old building and gardens could make this a special heritage hotel. However, the lack of any attention spoils the visit. The higher grade of room was located next to the car park giving the noise of constant walking and driving traffic. The room was basic at best, with no use of the view, rather a box with a bed and a shower with a lethal slippery floor and one towel offered between two. The bar had a blaring television and man on mobile phone, while the terrace which overlooked the botanical garden had insufficient chairs and tables. Another inner area had some discarded furniture while the stairs to the dining room had lawnmowers and further broken furniture. The dining room, which again had a terrace with enormous potential and views, had cracked linoleum floors. The dinner was excellent but breakfast was chaotic. I would avoid this hotel - which isn't even cheap at over 100 USD a night - at least until it is properly managed.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
Thank baribegum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 16 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2009

Hotel Masongola is at the top of quite a big hill, with lovely views and nice grounds. Its a wee bit post colonial-seedy but OK. I stayed in a standard room with not enough sockets, so it was a case of what shall it be- telly or fan? However, we are talking Africa, so it was pretty good all things considered, not to mention the very important fact ( as I was soon to find out) that Zomba is prone to widespread electricity shortages, almost every day when I was there. Later, when I stayed with friends in their bungalow it was a case of no fan, no lights, no telly,no fridge, no cooker, no anything except cockroaches and lizards. Didn't notice any of THEM at Masongola, thank goodness!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieYork_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2008

A decent value hotel in Zomba, particularly compared to Annie's Lodge. Be sure to check out the chambo kwasu-kwasu in the restaurant. It's the bomb!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank jcmauburkina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zomba
0.0 mi away
Sunbird Ku Chawe
Sunbird Ku Chawe
#1 of 2 in Zomba
155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gecko Lounge
Gecko Lounge
#1 of 1 in Cape Maclear
87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunbird Mount Soche
Sunbird Mount Soche
#3 of 5 in Blantyre
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Blantyre Ryalls
0.0 mi away
Kaya Mawa
Kaya Mawa
#1 of 1 in Likoma Island
194 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Mia Lodge & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Masongola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Masongola

Address: P.O. Box 98, Zomba, Malawi
Region: Malawi > Southern Region > Zomba
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Zomba
Price Range: £29 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Jovago.com so you can book your Hotel Masongola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing