We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable base”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zomba
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Annie's Lodge Zomba
Ranked #4 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Zomba
Reviewed 16 April 2012

The hotel is reasonable but unspectacular. WE had two rooms; a small standard room and a flat. The former was dark but adequate. The latter had a fantastic view and a kitchen. The tv showed basic channels. There was virtually no hot water. The food (apart from a large insect in one dish!) wasfair for the price and the breakfast ok if you got there early. The man who looked after our room (Benito) was wonderful - helpful and cheerful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PertenhallSteveP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2011

Annie's Lodge is a great place to stay- my room was large, clean and had lovely views from the shared terrace over the tropical garden. Staff were consistently friendly and helpful. The only drawback was the very poor (but expensive) wifi Internet access.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anon186482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2010

If it is all about the people and culture then Annies is a great way to experience Malawi. The staff was always helpful and would take special food requests since I was vegetarian.If one staff person didn't understand help was on the way. My room was spacious, comfortable and clean. I did not notice the food being greasy. I thought the vegetable curry and other greens out of this world!

I am not a television person so I don't know if it worked or not. As another person explained the internet connection was most frustrating but it wasn't because of Annies...it was everywhere. There is an internet cafe in Zomba which was within walking distance. The grounds are beautiful and restful. There is a bar where folks can hang out. There is a laundry service for a couple of dollars. or 200 kwacha.
Is it a very fancy place? Did you really want a fancy place in Malawi? It is solid, safe, and clean.... Annies clearly demonstrates why people say Malawi is "the heart of Africa. "

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clems_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

Annie's lodge had a variety of rooms ranging from MWK6000 to MWK16000, all are self contained rooms. . I asked to see every type of room and the new self contained and en suite rooms are spacious. All rooms looked very clean and very comfortable.

I chose a room that had in room tea facilities, TV with 5 channels, Phone with a 24 hour reception desk, mosquito net, clean sheets, towels, soap. wifi, laundry service and a fan.

The hot and cold breakfast is MWK 1300 for an extra person otherwise it is included in your room Rate. Since food products are generally expensive in zomba due to its remote location, it was worth the price. Generally the food is good, there is lots of choice on the menu and they will cater to any demand if you give them a few hours to meet it.

The criticism is that the restaurant needs refurbishment and i believe a new one is being built. All food in general in Malawi contains lots of oil, so be sure to say that there shouldn't be lots of oil on the fried foods. The Internet connection is up and down but that is due to the unreliable service providers. There is a gen set only available in the restaurant.. The desert options and limited on the menu so it was suggested that i go to Annie's Garden corner cafe to try out their pancakes and cakes. It is 20% cheaper as they just opened. The food and Beverage service is a bit slow but Malawi has a very slow paced sense of atmosphere, so expect that everywhere.

Everyone is very warm and considerate.

There is still lots of room for improvements like a swimming pool and more entertainment as Zomba lacks that. However i didn't go to Malawi with much expectation and i was not disappointed at all.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tripadviseeCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

I've been traveling with a large group of students from Virginia Tech and Radford, for the past 4 years to Zomba. We always stay at Annie’s Lodge as it’s the best available accommodation in Zomba. What makes it particularly special to me is the professional, and helpful attitude of the staff, the rooms are comfortable, well decorated and clean. The wireless internet connection is fast and reliable which makes all the difference. I highly recommend it to anyone on business.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DrKellyVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

He charged us 10,000 Kwacha and extra breakfast 1,300 Kwacha- 45 pounds for a superior room when we asked for a standard room. No hot water, no en- suite toilet and the conversation from the next room was very clear. Next morning, it tunred out we were taken to the Anne's Cafe Lodge, the annxe, 20 % cheaper than Anne's Lodge. Despite our request, he said the only available room was a superior. So be careful, when he deals with you. We were shown three rooms : none were very clean , it needed plumbing as well. I couldn't believe the condition of the room and the quality of the breakfast we had at Anne's Lodge. They spent money on outside lighting, inside was completely different!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beatifulplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2008

Annie's looks nice from the outside, but the room had a number of problems. The satellite TV did not work and the staff could not fix it, the remote for the TV was missing, the phone did not work, there was no fan in the room, and I was in an "executive" room. The food was mediocre.

Annie's is overpriced for what it is, and I thought that the Masongola, while not perfect, is a much better value for the money.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jcmauburkina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zomba
0.0 mi away
Sunbird Ku Chawe
Sunbird Ku Chawe
#1 of 2 in Zomba
150 reviews
0.0 mi away
Annie's Lodge Blantyre
Annie's Lodge Blantyre
#3 of 19 in Blantyre
26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Splendor Hotel
Splendor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Zomba
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Annie's Lodge Cape Maclear
Annie's Lodge Cape Maclear
#11 of 19 in Cape Maclear
26 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Annie's Lodge Zomba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annie's Lodge Zomba

Address: Botanical Garden, Zomba, Malawi
Region: Malawi > Southern Region > Zomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Zomba
Price Range: £49 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great quality three star service. We make 'things right' and we 'Exceed Expectations'. Guaranted a warm welcome and a comfortable stay. It is your home away from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Annie`s Hotel Zomba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing