We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly/helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pakachere Backpackers & Creative Centre
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Zomba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights. Rooms are ok but a bit pricey if it's only one guest (single room). Nice food (reasonable priced), very helpful staff. I went on two hikes with Isaac who works for Pakachere - he's a very good guide. I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamboHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2013

This is an absolutely great backpackers conveniently located just off to the side of the golf course as you walk away from the main road. I lived in Malawi for a couple of years and have spent the last six years travelling and visiting and there has never really been a decent backpackers in the town. When I arrived last year it was great to see that Pakachere had finally arrived! The prices are pretty good - we camped in our own tent so it hardly cost a thing, but the meals and drinks are fairly priced and no more expensive than anywhere else. The facilities are great and regardless of whether you camp or stay in the dorms - you have a free run of the entire place - a huge building with plenty of space to chill out and socialise.

The backpackers also serves as the base from which a range of community projects are organised - a great way to find out what is going on and to learn a little more about Malawi and Zomba. We organised a hike up and around Zomba mountain through the contacts at the backpackers as well. The staff are great fun and incredibly friendly as well.

All in all, a great backpackers and one I will definitely use again later in the year. A true taste of Malawi - zikomo!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

I just wrote about Casa Rossa (where we only ate) and the main reason we didn't stay there was because this place is a bit more central and pretty decent for a backpackers. If the weather had been better, the other place would be cool to put a tent up at, but as it was, Pakachere was a perfectly good backpackers, pretty quiet (we had one dorm to ourselves) and the people - like most people in Malawi - were very nice. So yep, all good.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wonderstevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This backpackers is a great place to stay for a few days. Comfortable beds, a large communal area, a cozy bar and a huge garden to chill in. The restaurant serves several changing meals and the staff is really friendly.

Zomba town is just 5-10 minutes walk down the fields. Really enjoyed our time here!!

Room Tip: The doubles are great value; did not stay in dorms but looked ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelgr12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We were delighted to find this backpackers as all other accommodation was very pricey. It is conveniently located near the town and close to hiking trails. Very comfortable dorms, a nice bar, big garden and good food but menu was limited. Wifi available and the staff were very helpful when organising a trip to the plateau.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We were very happy to find this backpackers place in Zomba. The beds were very comfortable. The restaurant/food needs some help! They also kept our bags while we hiked up to Zomba plateau for a few days which was very convenient for us.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Ivy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We camped here for two nights and found the accomodation great, It was pricier than we had paid elsewhere in Malawi but clean, good kitchen facilities and a huge garden for sitting out in. Bar area was nice as was the food, Zomba town is 5/10 minutes up the hill and is a great place with a fab market. All in all a lovely couple of days.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bethan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zomba hotels
1.6 mi away
Sunbird Ku Chawe
Sunbird Ku Chawe
#1 of 2 in Zomba
155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Masongola
Hotel Masongola
#2 of 2 in Zomba
16 reviews
1.8 mi away
Splendor Hotel
Splendor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Zomba
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Bluegum Avenue Lodge
#4 of 10 in Zomba
1 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Pakachere Backpackers & Creative Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pakachere Backpackers & Creative Centre

Address: Zomba, Malawi
Region: Malawi > Southern Region > Zomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Zomba
Price Range: £8 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Backpackers & Creative Centre is a laidback meetingpoint for international volunteers, locals, tourists and backpackers. We invite you to come and join us for a bite, or spend the night in a tent, our dorm or a private room. In our common areas and our garden you will meet inspiring Malawians and people from all over the world traveling through Zomba! We offer Paka Trips; from guided trips up Zomba Plateau to airport transfers and tours to Mulanje, Liwonde, Cape Maclear or even as far as Nkhata Bay. Our local guide Isaac is a gem. He knows the area very well and can tell you all about nature on the mountain and the culture of Malawian people. The owners are happy to share their extensive knowledge of the country. If you are just arriving in Malawi, we offer a landing package with an airport transfer, information about the country (money/ATMs, transport, places to visit, dos & don'ts), a local SIM card & a Malawian G&T, soft drink or cold 'green' (beer) on arrival at our lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Pakachere Backpackers & Creative Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing