We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunbird Ku Chawe
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$174
Protea Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Gunde B and B(Liwonde National Park)
Booking.com
View Deal
Dorvic Hotel(Blantyre)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
48
65
30
13
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
65
30
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewszomba plateaustunning viewsmountain topcannot faulthill overlookingamazing settingaverage hotelfamily lunchrooms are clean and spaciousapple piehotel restaurantwonderful hotelnice locationfresh fruitstayed for two nightsnice gardensunbird
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2010

The hotel is located on the top of the Zomba Plateau, with stunning views wherever you look from. The surroundings of the hotel are very beautiful, they take good care of the garden. Breakfast is served in a buffet, with a wide range of options. Be aware of monkey, they may grab your fruits! If you are keen on walking there are plenty of walks with diverse difficulties. Outside the hotel there is a market where you can find lots of local handycrafts as well as local guides, they will be happy to show you around.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tintin1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2009

We stayed in Ku Chawe Inn for three nights. The hotel is rather expensive and the rooms looked rather old and urgently need renovation. Nevertheless, we enjoyed our stay. The hotel staff is not as efficient as you are probably used to, but in general everybody was very friendly and helpful. Friendly people matter to us more than stylish rooms.

The views from Zomba Plateau are great. We hiked a lot (on the first day with a guide). Since we came there by public transport Ku Chawe Inn was a good starting point for our hikes. There are no other hotels on the plateau.

After renovations this will be a nice hotel. Until then don't expect too much from the rooms and enjoy the views! Alexandra and Thomas from Austria

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ViennaReisefreund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2008

Yes, the view is outstanding, but I felt that the food and service was below average (even as compared to other places in Malawi) and I am sure there are other lodges with the same view on that plateau. Also was annoyed that there was no shuttle into town, as was promised via email; and then you were coerced into using the taxi service of the hotel's affiliate, which were 50 % more expensive than the local guys that we used. I suggest that you visit Ku Chawe for a sundowner drink, but most likely can find better accommodation elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mpumalindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2008

If you are a couple (newlywed or whatever), this hotel is a must when visiting Malawi. A few things: (1) make sure to see the baboons at lunch time; (2) enjoy a drink of Amarula on the rocks at the bar before dinner; and (3)light the fireplace in your room before going to sleep. The rooms are great. The restaurant is a bit slow, but so is everything else in Malawi. Have no expectations and enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MXPNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2008

Stayed here for 2 nights on our Jules verne tour. It was a wonderful hotel and a great location. Our room was a good size with a corner fireplace which could be lit for you if you wanted. It was quite cool at night so you did need a fleece or jacket. The views from the hotel were wonderful. You could see for miles over the Rift Valley. Apart from our group there were 2 conferences held athe this hotel plus a few tourists. As with most hotels we stayed in they didn't have a shop, tourist leaflets - but you could hire a mountain bike!!! Bear in mind everywhere was a very steep climb. Outside the hotel were quite a few stalls selling carved goods. They weren't pushy sellers and were very keen to swap goods for clothes. T shirts , socks , shoes, skirts anything really. The breakfasts were excellent and the dinners very good. One or two people hired a mountain guide to take them to the top of the plateau early in the morning. They climbed up and were above the clouds - a wonderful experience. All the staff were friendly and kind. This was our favourite hotel of our tour.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ceramica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews