We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven of peace and pasta”
Review of Casa Rossa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zomba
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Rossa
Ranked #3 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Zomba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2013

When the heat and the dust and the craziness and the haggling are getting in top of you, head up to Zomba and on up the road to Casa Rossa. Sit on the Veranda take it all in: the view, the cool breeze, clean sparse interiors and the fantastic menu. Mark will treat you like an old friend and you can hang out all day catching up with the world using the wifi ($2/hr). There always seems to be someone skyping home or catching up with their memoirs. We stayed in the three bedded room which did the job perfectly. Check out the cheese platter or bruschetta starter, and the gnocchi arrabiata or the pesto spaghetti. And the salad, to die for. Mark also organised a guide for us for the zomba plateau at a good rate. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

I spend a couple of days camping in this very nice lodge and I really enjoyed it: it is in a wonderful and very quite position, the camping place was in a grassy and shadow spot (and the breakfast was also included for camping), toilettes were clean and there was plenty of warm water for the showers. But what I found that was fantastic was the food: a real italian cooking with dishes you can only find in italian restaurant (i can guarantee for it as I'm italian)!
The owners also organized me a trek in the Plateau, finding me a reliable guide at a very good price. If you go to Zomba that is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank micksanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I had Gnocci. And Saltimbocca. And they were quite alright, too. No nice wines though, just the local stuff. The staff are very friendly, the location is sublime, service is good, there is nothing better to be had for miles around. So we might be back soon. And forgive them their bathroom facilities. And the poor driveway. Because it's still Africa. And it's the effort that counts, really. And the spirit, the Italian spirit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wardtmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Casa Rossa has a lovely quaint cottage feel in the on the road up to Zomba Plateau. It’s sealed all the way up. It’s a great place to relax, sit on the veranda and enjoy the view. The highlight was the authentic, delicious Italian food (with everything made by fresh by hand, even the pasta). The portion sizes are quite small for hungry men appetites however!

The dorm is in a converted garage and is basic but ok. The dorm toilets do not have seats and the showers are very basic, but are warm for a couple of hours a day. There are rooms inside the house also that are more expensive.
Overall a good place to stay, and a definite must for a meal!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jarrod_Natalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We arrived in pouring rain. The room we booked had a double bed and we needed twin beds. This was quickly rectified.
The fire was lit and we were made to feel very welcome. The food was amazing-Sylvia has done a great job training the Malawian girls to cook the best pasta dishes in Africa! A real find and definitely to be recommended.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank DeeDeeArusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed at Casa Rossa for four night in March of 2013. We were in the Bordeaux room the first night. It has two twin beds and windows that open to give cross ventilation (lots of fresh air). This room does not have an attached bath but you share with others down the hall. The remainder of our stay was in the Orange room a double room with private bath and shower. All rooms have bed nets. Our stay was very good. The hosts were very accommodating an the rooms were clean and comfortable. They also run a restaurant from the house with most excellent pasta dishes. The restaurant was closed to the public on Monday but stays open for guests of the casa. The house is on the side of Zomba mountain with beautiful views, fresh air and clean water. Zomba has the best water in Malawi. The Casa Rossa (red house) is a great choice for affordable accommodation in Zomba.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank novakad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Stayed here two times. One time in the 8 Bed dorm, the other time in the 3 Bed room.
Fantastic italian Food available. Nice Spot, Amazing view. Very friendly stuff.
The only improvable thing are the mattresses in the two rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zomba hotels
0.0 mi away
Sunbird Ku Chawe
Sunbird Ku Chawe
#1 of 2 in Zomba
150 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Masongola
Hotel Masongola
#2 of 2 in Zomba
16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Splendor Hotel
Splendor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Zomba
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pakachere Backpackers & Creative Centre
Show Prices

Been to Casa Rossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Rossa

Address: 5 Mountain Road, Zomba, Malawi
Region: Malawi > Southern Region > Zomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Zomba
Price Range: £4 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing