We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Silka Johor Bahru
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel RIA(Johor Bahru)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aspen Summer Hotel(Taman Molek)
View Hotel
Clover Hotel(Johor Bahru)
View Hotel
Grand Dragon Hotel(Johor Bahru)
View Hotel
Grand World Hotel(Johor Bahru)
View Hotel
Hotel Time(Johor Bahru)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elmark Hotel(Johor Bahru)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (392)
Filter reviews
392 results
Traveller rating
44
154
122
42
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
154
122
42
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthree starsofa bedcomfortable stayspacious roomnasi lemakgym
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
195 - 200 of 392 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Stayed in this hotel last two weeks, for one night. Location wise should be allright since it took RM 17(meter) only from JB Sentral to this hotel. A little bit hiccups during check in due to no communication between latestays,com and Silka Hotel. However, my thumbs up goes to a young boy(didn't get his name) at the receptionist area. He just offered me a drink and placed it on the side table for me to drink while waiting. How nice of him. Services offered by the staff are much better than a normal 3 or 4 stars hotel that we can find today.
However, the deluxe room which come with a balcony are ok for one night only. This is because the carpet smell are very strong. Not sure how they do their carpet washing, but whatever they are doing now, it's not giving out a good result.
The bathroom surprisingly very clean and somehow i feel like the bathroom just went through a makeover.
Nevertheless, for a single traveller, this hotel can be good for you.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PehHua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramanesh N, General Manager at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2012

Dear PehHua,

Greetings from Silka Johor Bahru and it was indeed a pleasure serving you recently.
Thank you for your review and kind words of our staff at the hotel. Your comments will be picked up and assuredly, all our staff at the hotel are trained at the highest level of hospitality, constantly.

We are in the midst of changing all carpets at the hotel and this should be completed by early next year. We acknowledge that some carpets are dated and require extra attention and we're doing all we can to ensure our guests have a comfortable stay, every time.

We look forward to serving you again and thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

The staff were nice and the pool was lovely but you have to go through the carpark to the residential area to get to it and the residence are mostly muslin so they are completely covered up, making it very uncomfortable in a bikini. The Breakfast was ordinary, they had a egg station but it wasn't staffed or open when I was there in the middle of peak breakfast time. The rooms were ok but the mini-fridge didn't work and when you opened it the stench was unbearable. The hotel location is miles from anywhere. It cost me 100MR to go to the premier outlets ($60US) so the saving on the hotel wasn't worth the taxi rides. It's 20-25MR to go tot he border, really you are better off staying in JB Central so you can catch the cheap buses around. The local taxi driver will follow you around the hotel too and try to get you to commit to a time to go anywhere, which when you are on holidays is annoying if you don't like being organised on holiday.

Room Tip: I was on the 9th floor it was ok.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2di4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramanesh N, General Manager at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Dear 2di4,

Greetings from Silka Johor Bahru and thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us.

We apologise for the inconvenience caused for the location of our swimming pool as all our clubhouse facilities are located just about 100 meters across the residential carpark area.
As much we strive to provide constant quick and efficient service to our guests, sometimes we slip up and again we apologise for overlooking your minibar and the absence of our cook at the egg station during breakfast. Rest assured, these comments have been passed on to the relevant departments and measures have been taken to rectify it.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again and once again thank you for staying at Silka Johor Bahru.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We travelled from Kuala Lumpur to visit Legoland and needed a place to stay for the night before heading back to KL. This hotel is about 30 minutes drive from the theme park.
We booked the executive king room. The room wasnt big but it had 2 baths and 2 flatscreen tv's.

The beds were comfortable and bathrooms clean. Carpets a little dated. Room also had a musty smoky smell even though ours was a non smoking room.

But if you are on a budget, this is a good place to stay for the night.

Room Tip: Get the exec king room if you have kids while you.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Discovery71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramanesh N, General Manager at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Dear Discovery71,

Greetings from Silka Johor Bahru Hotel. Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us.
We're constantly improving our products and services offered and we truly appreciate our guests letting us know where we could improve and please note that we take every suggestion or complaint very seriously and immediate rectification is done as and when possible.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again, and until then, thanks again for choosing Silka Johor Bahru as your preferred accomodation choice when in Johor Bahru.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stayed at Silka with my family and 2 kids. We booked 2 deluxe room and stayed for 3 days, 2 nights. The room was big, with water kettle, mini-fridge and iron. The room was ok, except that the curtains and the carpet floor and the hallway is dusty, which was bad for my kid who has asthma. Receptionist were nice and courteous, but we have to call them to request for our towel and even do follow-up because we have waited for 40 mins before our towels came.
But our kids love the swimming pool. Hotel is near the jusco tebrau mall, but far from the city -travel time is around 40mins to an hour.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rollzroyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramanesh N, General Manager at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Dear Rollzroyce,

Greetings from Silka Johor Bahru Hotel.
Thanks for your feedback of your recent stay with us. Cleanliness of our rooms are of our utmost priority and we have always ensured that the hygiene and quality of our rooms and surrounding areas of the hotel are well kept. From time to time, we slip up and for that we do apologise for not giving the due attention to the particular room you stayed in. Our corridor areas are open and therefore might be a little dusty at times but our housekeeping department ensures that it is kept clean and tidy at times.

We view your concerns seriously as we're constantly improving to provide our guests with an unforgettable hospitality experience and look forward to serving you again soon. For we stand by our tagline that says, "you'll never miss home".

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

As a trainer, I travel throughout Malaysia. When I work in Pasir Gudang Industrial Area, Johor, I stay in Silka formerly Dorset, Pelentong on a regular basis. The hotel is simple but clean. Beddings good and comfortable, bathroom clean. Lightings a bit poor, somewhat dark. Some rooms without windows. Tv reception good with networks from neighbouring Singapore. Maintenance a bit slow. Breakfast a bit small as compared with the days of Dorset but still with the choice of eating in air cond or outdoor. My wife and I will go to the egg counter first for the omlette.
Drawback is the parking. Hotel parking lots are on the 2nd and 3rd floor of a nextdoor building. No elevators. But the stress of walking is taken off by the welcome or "help yoursef" dring at the entrance of the hotel.

Walk to Tesco or a Siamese massage. A very short drive is Giant and eating stalls and shops.
Drive for about 20 minutes towards Pasig Gudang before reaching the Tanjung Puteri Golf Club, there is seaside village. Seafood at its best.

Note #1: There were mentions about fixing a roof and walkway connecting the hotel and the parking building. From the days of Dorset and now Silka, nothing.
Guest will continue to walk in the rain and take the staircase.

Note #2: My last stay, during last day breakfast, I dipped my toast in coffee, I discovered fungus.
Of course I told the wairess and filled in the form, but no apology from the F&B department nor from any departments. I guess it must have fallen to deaf ears.

Iten #1 should be addressed as it has been a bit too long
Iteh #2 there should be a bit of training provided so that there is no lack in courtsey

Room Tip: Request for rooms with windows if available. Get higher floors and corner lots. Don't worry elevators are fast. If you are above 60, ask to park on the side of the hotel, ground level.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ahmad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramanesh N, General Manager at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Dear Ahmad H,

Greetings from Silka Johor Bahru.

Thank you for your continuous support and for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay. First of all, we would like to extend our sincere apologies for your recent experience at our restaurant. Your observations have been highlighted and immediate measures have been taken and issues are rectified by the departments concerned as we do not compromise with quality.

At Silka Johor Bahru, we have 3 different room categories namely, Standard, Deluxe and Business Suite. Our standard rooms are aimed at budget conscious travellers and are without windows but rest assured, all safety and security aspects of the hotel are well taken care of at all times. We have also taken all necessary steps to minimize inconveniences in regards to the car park by providing concierge services for our valued guests, personalised service during rainy days, sufficient lighting at the staircase and 24 hours security on standby.

Once again, thank you for communicating your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards,
Ramanesh Keith Nair
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews