We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay only if no other hotels available”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru
Ranked #76 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Reviewed 23 December 2012

I went to JB after an ad hoc decision, driving for 3hours from seremban, almost all hotels we called were full, we reached this hotel after midnight and it's the only hotel with a room available, we just checked into this hotel since it's already midnight and chances to get the preferred hotel were slim. The room was quite acceptable but not the bathroom. I could see strands of hair and mold on the wall! Well..hopefully just one night only. Unfortunately, we have to extend another day since other hotels were still full in view of it's approaching weekend. Next day, due to misunderstanding, the room was not cleaned in time, by the time we reached the room at 6pm, the housekeeping lady just started to clean. Not surprisingly, the strands of hair were still there. This hotel is quite good but the Maintenance and housekeeping should be upgraded.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cupidrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 62 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2012

Not withing walking distance of eateries or shopping complexes. Hotel is old. The pool is in another building (North Wing) across a Road. Pool water does not look clean. We did not use the pool, though we wanted to initially. Breakfast is so so. We stayed in the deluxe room in the South Wing. Small room with basic amenities. Bathroom is really small - especially the shower. They have a spa on the first flr. Masseur is good. Front office took a long time to answer whenever we call. Charged RM 5 each for extra pillow and towel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ireneborneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Location is good which about 10 minutes away from Woodlands immigration checkpoint to Singapore which is our day tripping destination. The staffs were under prepared for multiple concurrent check-ins during holiday. Room is average. The hotel has one of the most puzzling knob (not even sure it can be called knob) to open the front door. Off course a new coat of paint will help bring the light (suria) back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amranariffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuriaresortsMY, Guest Relations Manager at Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion and nice comments during your recent stay with us.

We are happy to see that you enjoy your recent stay and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Just stay there for one night before we go to singapore. The look of the hotel juz not up to the mark. Plz do renovate or repaint the whole building to upgrade the look.
Room just average. Lobby very outdated. Will not stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alextraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuriaresortsMY, Guest Relations Manager at Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

Thank you for your recent feedback. We strive to offer the best possible service and any feedback encourages our team to ensure our guests are feel comfortable and enjoy their stay.

Once again thank you and we look forward to see you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012 via mobile

my experience with this hotel is just okay. it is located on top of a small hill. it's not the hotel you would stay if you prefer to be at walking distance from shopping areas and other attractions. breakfast is mediocre, not many selections. wil not stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NKR17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuriaresortsMY, Guest Relations Manager at Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

Thank you for spending some valuable time reviewing us.

We appreciate your kind comments and certainly look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at the Cherating and London branches of the hotel and decided to give it a try for two nights stay during our visit to Johor Bharu.
The bonus of this hotel is its location; near JB Sentral and CIQ checkpoint entrance to or from Singapore. It is only 5 minutes drive to eateries at Stulang Darat and The Zon, a duty free mall.
The room is very simple with an average quality bed, gloomy lighting of corridor and toilet. The airconditioner is not working well. However there is a refrigerator and tea making facility in the room.
Our disappointment is on breakfast. We came down to the restaurant at about 8.30 am and found that there is no vacant table or chair for us. There seemed like too many round tables for larger group rather than for couples like us. The food also have finished and we have to wait for a refill. The taste and selection is only so-so.
We console ourselves that we cannot expect more from this hotel since it has average facility and looks like a transit hotel for travellers who want to visit Singapore. In future, we will stay at the hotel where we regularly stayed whenever we visited Johor Bharu.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank natasya5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuriaresortsMY, Guest Relations Manager at Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion and nice comments during your recent stay with us.

We are happy to see that you enjoy your recent stay and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We booked into Suria City Hotel only because we could not get a train to KL until the following morning. The receptionist who checked us in was nice enough and the reception area was pleasent enough. Our room however was not. It was dirty and there were some rather unpleasant stains on the wall. We had been given a room with a connecting door, which was unlocked with a table put in front of it to prevent it being opened. The sheets had footprints on them. We actually slept in our sleeping liners because of the state of the bedding. There is only wifi in the lobby and it is weak at best. In fact the following morning it was not working at all and I was told that it was my computer and phone that were at fault! Breakfast was ok, nothing special. The hotel is actually in a great location, just a five minute walk from the station. Shame that was the only thing that was any good.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuriaresortsMY, Guest Relations Manager at Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

Thank you for your recent feedback. We strive to offer the best possible service and any feedback encourages our team to ensure our guests are feel comfortable and enjoy their stay.

Your comments has been passed to the relevant department heads and steps are currently being taken to ensure that all our guests enjoy the products and services offered by the hotel.

Once again thank you and we look forward to see you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
0.4 mi away
Meldrum Hotel
Meldrum Hotel
#60 of 109 in Johor Bahru
51 reviews
5.3 mi away
Silka Johor Bahru
Silka Johor Bahru
#41 of 109 in Johor Bahru
387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Insta Hotel
Insta Hotel
#42 of 109 in Johor Bahru
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Baguss City Hotel
Baguss City Hotel
#52 of 109 in Johor Bahru
133 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tropical Inn Johor Bahru
Tropical Inn Johor Bahru
#61 of 109 in Johor Bahru
75 reviews
0.8 mi away
V3 Hotel - Nusajaya
V3 Hotel - Nusajaya
#57 of 109 in Johor Bahru
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru

Address: No 10 Jalan Bukit Meldrum | Tanjung Puteri, Johor Bahru 80300, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range: £14 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suria City Hotel, Johor Bahru Hotel Johor Bahru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing