We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru
Ranked #81 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Will not stay here again”
Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

When I arrived at the hotel O was shocked. It looks very old.. Blue Wave was beside Suria and looks nice..

After check in,we went into our room. First impression i was like what the heck is this door. Seems like someone broke in and smash it and they jusy change the lock,not the door itself.

The bed was okau but there's hair and seems the housekeepers doesnt do their job well.

Tv was okay even though we have to on the plug behind the big desk ourselves.

Definately I will not say here ever again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuriaresortsMY, Manager at Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Shawany,
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on Triapadvisor as it will truly assist us in our continuous effort to bring necessary changes to our operation in order to provide our guest with the best holiday experience.
It concerns us greatly to read your comment with regards to you experience at our resorts recently and we sincerely regret that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We sincerely apologize for all the shortcoming and we are sorry you had felt this way during your stay.
With regards to the issues brought forward, please find the following:
a) We apologize for the our hotel position did not your tastes and that is beyond our expectations.
b) With regards to the room, we aim to provide the high level of cleanliness, the room will clean everyday at 12.00pmuntil 3.00pm.If there no guest for a day, we also will clean the room so the our hygienic is always in clean, to achieve our guest satisficed.
You feedback is extremely valuable to us to improve the quality of our service to better meet your needs and we would like to give assurance that such shortcoming will not be repeated.
We hope we will have another chance to welcome you back to our resort one day. We have properties at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Merang Suria Resort, Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, Suria Hill Country House Janda Baik and The Royal Cambridge, London. You can contact us at 03-78064752 or email reservation@suriaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    24
    40
    26
    21
See reviews for
19
14
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I saw this hotel online so we booked it in advance. We went to Hello Kitty land and JPO before we checked in late to the hotel. The front desk agent was not so helpful since he cannot speak well in English. But he was quite friendly. We wanted to have some midnight snacks but the front desk could not give us a store to go to. The next day, we had the breakfast, it was nothing I have tried before, nothing in the whole buffet was even ok enough. We checked out early since we will be heading to Legoland, nice thing about this hotel is that they allow you to leave your luggage and just pick them up when you are about to leave.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnMES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuriaresortsMY, Manager at Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear AnnSG212,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on Triapadvisor as it will truly assist us in our continuous effort to bring necessary changes to our operation in order to provide our guest with the best holiday experience.

It concerns us greatly to read your comment with regards to you experience at our resorts recently and we sincerely regret that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We sincerely apologize for all the shortcoming and we are sorry you had felt this way during your stay.

With regards to the issues brought forward, please find the following:

a) We have already discuss with management’s staff at Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru , we will ensure that front desk staff speak English fluently and we will provide adequate training to our staff.
b) On our Food & Beverage Quality and Menu, we have noted and discussed your feedback with the respective department Head for follow up to improve our product, quality and service standard. For your information, our menu is based on the day which is not same everyday. For example, on Monday we were provide Baked bean, French Toast Plain, Nasi Goreng Cina and etc meanwhile on Tuesday we were provide Pan Cake, Nasi Lemak, Fried Kueh Teow and etc. You can ask the menu from our staff there.

You feedback is extremely valuable to us to improve the quality of our service to better meet your needs and we would like to give assurance that such shortcoming will not be repeated.
We hope we will have another chance to welcome you back to our resort one day. We have properties at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Merang Suria Resort, Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, Suria Hill Country House Janda Baik and The Royal Cambridge, London. You can contact us at 03-78064752 or email reservation@suriaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

The hotel look old and run down from outside. When I enter the hotel loddy, I thought I was entering to a restaurant where the lobby was filled up with tables and chairs. Reception service was okay.

The car park for guest and the swimming pool were located at another building i.e. North Wings which is not convenience at all and there are not CCTV available.. I hardly see anyone at all. At night the place was very quite and hardly find any neaby food stall and you need to walk for a distance to find the nearest mamak stall. However, the location was indeed very near to the bus station and train terminal located near City Square and Singapore - Johor Bahru check point.

The room I booked it's call "Deluxe Puteri" and not that deluxe where you can find big stain on the floor. I still remember when I check in the room, there were used glass and plates besides the door which I believe was left over by the guess before me; and nobody seems to care to get rid of it. It was there until the day I check out. The bed frame has sound whenever you sit on it. The breakfast was okay.

Overall, it's still okay consider for the price you pay.

Room Tip: You need to have a car to move around if you want to stay here and it's not safe to walk by your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jking223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuriaresortsMY, Manager at Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear King223,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on Triapadvisor as it will truly assist us in our continuous effort to bring necessary changes to our operation in order to provide our guest with the best holiday experience.

It concerns us greatly to read your comment with regards to you experience at our resorts recently and we sincerely regret that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We sincerely apologize for all the shortcoming and we are sorry you had felt this way during your stay.

With regards to the issues brought forward, please find the following:

a) We apologize for the our hotel position did not your tastes and that is beyond our expectations.
b) With regards to the room, we aim to provide the high level of cleanliness, the room will clean everyday at 12.00pmuntil 3.00pm.If there no guest for a day, we also will clean the room so the our hygienic is always in clean, to achieve our guest satisficed.

You feedback is extremely valuable to us to improve the quality of our service to better meet your needs and we would like to give assurance that such shortcoming will not be repeated.
We hope we will have another chance to welcome you back to our resort one day. We have properties at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Merang Suria Resort, Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, Suria Hill Country House Janda Baik and The Royal Cambridge, London. You can contact us at 03-78064752 or email reservation@suriaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Stayed for one night in Dec 2012 and got a room overlooking the Tambak Johor. Room is okay but could be better with new coat of paint. Aircon are average with unworking remote. Staffs are friendly provided you are friendly enough to make the first approach. Pool are situated at the next building, so its a bit hassle to step out from the main building to go to the pool if you have small kids. Overall it is an acceptable place to stay if you do not have high expectation. Location is near to Stulang Laut which has many seafoods outlets especially at night. The only complaint is that I am still waiting for a refund for the overcharged room rate. Have been complained to JB and KL office, no action has been taken so far.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank possumblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuriaresortsMY, Manager at Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Possumblade,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on Triapadvisor as it will truly assist us in our continuous effort to bring necessary changes to our operation in order to provide our guest with the best holiday experience.

It concerns us greatly to read your comment with regards to you experience at our resorts recently and we sincerely regret that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We sincerely apologize for all the shortcoming and we are sorry you had felt this way during your stay.

With regards to the issues brought forward, please find the following:

a) We apologize on the defective aircondition in the room. Should we have received any complaints during your stay, rest assured, we would have rectified the situation immediately. Please be assured that we at Suria are continuously implementing maintenance program at our resort.
b) For you problem refund, please give us your information if you still not set your refund back.
You feedback is extremely valuable to us to improve the quality of our service to better meet your needs and we would like to give assurance that such shortcoming will not be repeated.

We hope we will have another chance to welcome you back to our resort one day. We have properties at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Merang Suria Resort, Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, Suria Hill Country House Janda Baik and The Royal Cambridge, London. You can contact us at 03-78064752 or email reservation@suriaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sg
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

i have stayed in johor bahru many times with my husband and other times wth family and friends. this probably benchmarked the epitome of bad service and hotel stay.


we arrived early at 145pm, and understood that there were earlier guests - thus didnt mind waiting in line. but waiting close to 1 hour to check in is ABSURD. and there werent even that many guest pffft.

we requested for towels as there are none right after check in (2pm), it took them couple of HOURS to deliver.

pool is located in next building and we have to cross over a creepy dark alley - thus a no-no

we informed staff that aircon was not working, so either you change our rooms or get a technican to at least attempt to 'repair' or what not - that didnt happen

by the time close to evening when we finally gotten our towels and aircon still wasnt working.

we were tired of waiting and hoping someone paid some attention to what we need.
spoilt our weekend. we have stayed at similar star-rated hotel - but never experienced such bad experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank segarroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuriaresortsMY, Manager at Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Pendingroad,
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on Triapadvisor as it will truly assist us in our continuous effort to bring necessary changes to our operation in order to provide our guest with the best holiday experience.
It concerns us greatly to read your comment with regards to you experience at our resorts recently and we sincerely regret that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We sincerely apologize for all the shortcoming and we are sorry you had felt this way during your stay.
With regards to the issues brought forward, please find the following:
a) After discussion with management’s staff at Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, we will ensure that front desk staff speak English fluently by will provide adequate training to employees.
b) We are sorry if position and design of our building did not your expectation.
c) On the facility provided in our premises, after discuss with management’s staff at Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, maintenance work in progress to upgrade our facility to the new one in order to achieve the customer satisfaction.
d) We apologize for the condition of room which is not acceptable to you and all have been rectified and action had been taken to the respective department to improve our quality of cleanliness in our premise.
You feedback is extremely valuable to us to improve the quality of our service to better meet your needs and we would like to give assurance that such shortcoming will not be repeated.
We hope we will have another chance to welcome you back to our resort one day. We have properties at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Merang Suria Resort, Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, Suria Hill Country House Janda Baik and The Royal Cambridge, London. You can contact us at 03-78064752 or email reservation@suriaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Johor Bahru hotels

Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

I went to JB after an ad hoc decision, driving for 3hours from seremban, almost all hotels we called were full, we reached this hotel after midnight and it's the only hotel with a room available, we just checked into this hotel since it's already midnight and chances to get the preferred hotel were slim. The room was quite acceptable but not the bathroom. I could see strands of hair and mold on the wall! Well..hopefully just one night only. Unfortunately, we have to extend another day since other hotels were still full in view of it's approaching weekend. Next day, due to misunderstanding, the room was not cleaned in time, by the time we reached the room at 6pm, the housekeeping lady just started to clean. Not surprisingly, the strands of hair were still there. This hotel is quite good but the Maintenance and housekeeping should be upgraded.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cupidrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Not withing walking distance of eateries or shopping complexes. Hotel is old. The pool is in another building (North Wing) across a Road. Pool water does not look clean. We did not use the pool, though we wanted to initially. Breakfast is so so. We stayed in the deluxe room in the South Wing. Small room with basic amenities. Bathroom is really small - especially the shower. They have a spa on the first flr. Masseur is good. Front office took a long time to answer whenever we call. Charged RM 5 each for extra pillow and towel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ireneborneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
0.2 mi away
Meldrum Hotel
Meldrum Hotel
#60 of 109 in Johor Bahru
50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Insta Hotel
Insta Hotel
#27 of 109 in Johor Bahru
32 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru
Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru
#33 of 109 in Johor Bahru
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
#39 of 109 in Johor Bahru
827 reviews
0.2 mi away
AmanSari Express Hotel
AmanSari Express Hotel
#64 of 109 in Johor Bahru
38 reviews
5.3 mi away
Silka Johor Bahru
Silka Johor Bahru
#38 of 109 in Johor Bahru
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru

Property: Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru
Address: No 10 Jalan Bukit Meldrum | Tanjung Puteri, Johor Bahru 80300, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suria City Hotel, Johor Bahru Hotel Johor Bahru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing