We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“doesnt look as great as in the brochure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru
Ranked #77 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Reviewed 24 January 2014

hard to find this place.. dull and old hotel that have a lots to furnish..
the room is ok.. and the food is nice (fiuuuh.. luckily...). Very bad service at the receptionist counter.. i had bad experience with the receptionist when i was handle a meeting at this hotel.. the receptionist was so unprepared and the staff was unorganized.. uurrghh!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norziela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuriaresortsMY, Manager at Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Dear Norziela ,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor as it will truly assist us in our continuous effort to bring necessary changes to our operation in order to provide our guest with the best holiday experience.

It concerns us greatly to read your comment with regards to your experience at our resort recently and we sincerely regret that we have failed to meet your expectations.

We sincerely apologize for all the shortcomings and we are sorry you had felt this way during your stay.

With regards to the issues brought forward, please find the following reply:-

a) We apologies for our hotel position did not your tastes and that is beyond our expectations.
b) We will ensure that all employees are briefed before start working and we have already discuss with management’s staff at Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru and management will provide adequate training to staffs.

Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as it helps us to improve the quality of our service to better meet your needs and we would like to give assurance that such shortcoming will not be repeated.

We hope we will have another chance to welcome you back to our resort one day. We have properties at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Merang Suria Resort, Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, Suria Hill Country House Janda Baik and The Royal Cambridge, London. You can contact us at 03-78064752 or email reservation@suriaresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Just arrived for a few minutes. This is really terrible service that i had ever experienced at reception counter. They did not arranged earlier room for us that 3 rooms (deluxe king-2, twin superior-1).
And, there was NO ACCESS INTERNET IN ROOM at all!! In front reception, there are mentioning of able to access internet in our rooms as free WIFI!!!
Terrible and really disappointed to this service and advertisement!!

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Puteri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuriaresortsMY, Manager at Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Dear Puteri F ,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor as it will truly assist us in our continuous effort to bring necessary changes to our operation in order to provide our guest with the best holiday experience.

It concerns us greatly to read your comment with regards to your experience at our resort recently and we sincerely regret that we have failed to meet your expectations.

We sincerely apologize for all the shortcomings and we are sorry you had felt this way during your stay.

With regards to the issues brought forward, please find the following reply:-
a) We have been taken in to considerations and improvements have been brought to most training our staff and we will upgrade our service to serve you better.
b) We have already discuss with respective department about the lack of Wi-Fi service and we will improve if there necessary for us so that our guest will satisfy with our service.

Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as it helps us to improve the quality of our service to better meet your needs and we would like to give assurance that such shortcoming will not be repeated.

We hope we will have another chance to welcome you back to our resort one day. We have properties at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Merang Suria Resort, Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, Suria Hill Country House Janda Baik and The Royal Cambridge, London. You can contact us at 03-78064752 or email reservation@suriaresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Location-wise it ain't bad, overlooking the Straits of Johor and Woodlands, Singapore, on the south, and the CIQ and causeway bridge on the west.
But we got roomed in a separate building at the back of the hotel, called the "north wing," which turned out to be a training facility for hospitality students. The room had no room service menu, and it's a 40-metre jog across a smelly one-lane backstreet to get to breakfast, the lobby, and taxi drop-off.
O yeah, and Wifi's only on the ground floor--where there's no sitting area in the north wing. So you basically find somewhere to squat to do your Tripadvisor review. Clever.
There's an outdoor pool in the north wing, but it didn't look overly inviting. Students in hijab stream in and out constantly for classes in English and hospitality, presumable. Calling maintenance to change a lightbulb (it's those spiral green kinds) took three calls. Finally, I personally cannibalized a bulb from the door area to put it where we needed light. And then they arrived (the next day) with a ladder to replace the blown one.
For a hospitality school, what kind of graduates are they churning out?

Room Tip: Whatever you do, don't get stuck in the north wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bezeq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuriaresortsMY, Manager at Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Dear Bezeq,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on Triapadvisor as it will truly assist us in our continuous effort to bring necessary changes to our operation in order to provide our guest with the best holiday experience.

It concerns us greatly to read your comment with regards to you experience at our resorts recently and we sincerely regret that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We sincerely apologize for all the shortcoming and we are sorry you had felt this way during your stay.

With regards to the issues brought forward, please find the following:

a) We have done our investigation after we viewed your comment. We are very shock about your experience. If you complain directly to our staff, we can take an action immediately. However, we are not providing room service menu in every room.

b) We do provide wifi service in public area and the rooms. Perhaps on that day, there were many users that making the line quite slow. We apologize for the inconvenience.

c) Students that screamed obviously beyond our expectation and about the late service to change the bulb was accidentally overlooked. We will upgrade our service to serve you better.
You feedback is extremely valuable to us to improve the quality of our service to better meet your needs and we would like to give assurance that such shortcoming will not be repeated.

We hope we will have another chance to welcome you back to our resort one day. We have properties at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Merang Suria Resort, Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, Suria Hill Country House Janda Baik and The Royal Cambridge, London. You can contact us at 03-78064752 or email reservation@suriaresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Hotel location near to CIQ very convenience access to Johor Bahru town or Singapore,hotel exterior design look very nice.But furniture and most of stuffs inside the room are very old,and not really working especially aircond.TV with very limited channel.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
Thank ling s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuriaresortsMY, Manager at Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Dear Ling s,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on Triapadvisor as it will truly assist us in our continuous effort to bring necessary changes to our operation in order to provide our guest with the best holiday experience.

It concerns us greatly to read your comment with regards to you experience at our resorts recently and we sincerely regret that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We sincerely apologize for all the shortcoming and we are sorry you had felt this way during your stay.

With regards to the issues brought forward, please find the following:

a) The comments and areas that you have highlighted have been taken in to consideration and improvements have been brought to most of areas such as maintenance of rooms.
b) We apologize for the lack of service for the channel in our television. We only provide just for few channels such as TV1, TV2, TV3 and Singapore channel.

You feedback is extremely valuable to us to improve the quality of our service to better meet your needs and we would like to give assurance that such shortcoming will not be repeated.

We hope we will have another chance to welcome you back to our resort one day. We have properties at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Merang Suria Resort, Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, Suria Hill Country House Janda Baik and The Royal Cambridge, London. You can contact us at 03-78064752 or email reservation@suriaresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Cheap hotel.
Poorly run with a breakfast that isn't worth getting up for (2nd morning we went to Maccas rather than face the breakfast again).
Room in the newer wing was ok and large.
Clean which is all we wanted but nothing special.

If you just want a room to sleep in all is good.
If you want to relax and feel like you are on holiday i would pick somewhere els (the Blue Wave is next door).

Close to the city centre where there are some old streets full with great places to eat

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blackmark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuriaresortsMY, Manager at Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Dear Blackmark1,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on Triapadvisor as it will truly assist us in our continuous effort to bring necessary changes to our operation in order to provide our guest with the best holiday experience.

It concerns us greatly to read your comment with regards to you experience at our resorts recently and we sincerely regret that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We sincerely apologize for all the shortcoming and we are sorry you had felt this way during your stay.

With regards to the issues brought forward, please find the following:
a) On our Food & Beverage Quality and Menu, we have noted and discussed your feedback with the respective department Head for follow up to improve our product, quality and service standard. For your information, our menu is based on the day which is not same everyday. For example, on Monday we were provide Baked bean, French Toast Plain, Nasi Goreng Cina and etc meanwhile on Tuesday we were provide Pan Cake, Nasi Lemak. Fried Kueh Teow and etc. You can ask the menu from our staff there.
b) We apologize for the our environment did not your tastes and that is beyond our expectations.

You feedback is extremely valuable to us to improve the quality of our service to better meet your needs and we would like to give assurance that such shortcoming will not be repeated.
We hope we will have another chance to welcome you back to our resort one day. We have properties at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Merang Suria Resort, Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, Suria Hill Country House Janda Baik and The Royal Cambridge, London. You can contact us at 03-78064752 or email reservation@suriaresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

Really friendly upon check in, but the hygiene of this hotel is a nightmare. There were so many stains on the bed, impossible to not see this when making the bed. We called reception for new sheets and they sent someone to remake the bed. We actually rather not wanted to see what was under there.. which was even worse, it looked like a woman gave birth on this bed. Hairs all over the room, just horrible. I realize that it's Asia and we're not staying in a 5star hotel, but the least thing you could expect in my opinion, is that it's clean.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rhazendonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuriaresortsMY, Manager at Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Dear Rhazendonk,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on Triapadvisor as it will truly assist us in our continuous effort to bring necessary changes to our operation in order to provide our guest with the best holiday experience.

It concerns us greatly to read your comment with regards to you experience at our resorts recently and we sincerely regret that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We sincerely apologize for all the shortcoming and we are sorry you had felt this way during your stay.

With regards to the issues brought forward, please find the following:

a) We have been taken in to considerations and improvements have been brought to most of the areas such as cleanliness and maintenance of the rooms. We were clean our rooms everyday at 12.00pm until 3.00pm. Maybe our staff overlooks about that problem and we are sorry for that mistaken.

You feedback is extremely valuable to us to improve the quality of our service to better meet your needs and we would like to give assurance that such shortcoming will not be repeated.
We hope we will have another chance to welcome you back to our resort one day. We have properties at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Merang Suria Resort, Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, Suria Hill Country House Janda Baik and The Royal Cambridge, London. You can contact us at 03-78064752 or email reservation@suriaresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

this is the worst hotel i ever stay, unhelpful receptionist whose lack of English communication skills (i really don't mind to communicated with mother tongue) and it's was an old building.
apparently, we been told to park our car on the next building basement, climb stairs and walk across because our room is in the main building while there's an empty parking spot outside of the hotel.
No walk map provided for guest, i rely on the website to find a spot to eat and etc. And wifi is not working.
room are not neat, there's a dirt spot on the pillow sheets and shower curtain smells like urinated. front desk (male) is not helpful, we called to asked for an extra toiletry neither they don't provide the toothbrush since i stay with my friends it looks incomplete . he giving unreasonable excuse and told us that it's same to the other hotel.
luckily, the next morning i bump into the housekeeping and kinda pissed that there's like a few dozen of tooth brush and other toiletry. what's so cheapskate about provided guest on what they paid for
Luckily, it's just for a night. I'am deff not going for this hotel on the next trip

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FazillahBadarul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuriaresortsMY, Manager at Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Dear FazillahBadarul,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on Triapadvisor as it will truly assist us in our continuous effort to bring necessary changes to our operation in order to provide our guest with the best holiday experience.

It concerns us greatly to read your comment with regards to you experience at our resorts recently and we sincerely regret that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We sincerely apologize for all the shortcoming and we are sorry you had felt this way during your stay.

With regards to the issues brought forward, please find the following:

a) After discussion with management’s staff at Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru , we will ensure that front desk staff speak English fluently and we will provide adequate training to our staff.
b) We apologize for the condition of room which is not acceptable to you and all have been rectified and action had been taken to the respective department to improve our quality of cleanliness in our premise.

You feedback is extremely valuable to us to improve the quality of our service to better meet your needs and we would like to give assurance that such shortcoming will not be repeated.
We hope we will have another chance to welcome you back to our resort one day. We have properties at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Merang Suria Resort, Suria City Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
0.4 mi away
Meldrum Hotel
Meldrum Hotel
#60 of 109 in Johor Bahru
51 reviews
5.3 mi away
Silka Johor Bahru
Silka Johor Bahru
#29 of 109 in Johor Bahru
383 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tropical Inn Johor Bahru
Tropical Inn Johor Bahru
#71 of 109 in Johor Bahru
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Insta Hotel
Insta Hotel
#41 of 109 in Johor Bahru
35 reviews
0.3 mi away
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
#24 of 109 in Johor Bahru
877 reviews
0.8 mi away
V3 Hotel - Nusajaya
V3 Hotel - Nusajaya
#57 of 109 in Johor Bahru
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru

Address: No 10 Jalan Bukit Meldrum | Tanjung Puteri, Johor Bahru 80300, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range: £14 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suria City Hotel, Johor Bahru Hotel Johor Bahru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing