We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thistle Johor Bahru
Ranked #12 of 111 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Beautiful hotel. Room is very well decorated and new. Entrance of hotel looks very new too. Location of hotel is also good, very close to Danga Bay. A lot of eatery around the location, some are within walking distance.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

789 - 795 of 1,381 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2013

I stayed in the hotel for 5 days & 4 nights. I should call every day spend in the hotel is worth the money you pay. The food are awesome & definitely craving for more. I'll suggest this hotel to anyone who happen to visit jb...definitely worth every single cents you pay.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wiryanty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Hubby did a last minute booking for my birthday. Totally NO regrets. Thistle is sure one of the best hotel in Johor Bahru.

Surrounding: Near Woodlands Checkpoint (5 mins drive). Near Galeri mawar goreng pisang. Near the clock tower. I would say near singgah selalu restaurant too! (Our favourite lepak/makan place in Johor)

Hotel interior: Our room was the double bed room at level 9. AWESOME view! Clean room! Huge bed. Travelling with our 1 year old daughter who loves to sleep with us, the huge bed does help. We could see groups of soccer clubs having their soccer training near the clock tower.

Nice pool, clean and beautiful facade. Good gym. Free newspaper every morning!

Breakfast: Good and sufficient!

Overall experience: Satisfied! will definitely make a return trip there! kudos!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Firdahz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

it's sound crazy if i mention that from my house to this hotel about 20 minutes only. but i just want to know the environment and the service from this hotel. its really worth it with the money you pay. their good service start from the main entrance until in the room. 1st time i found the 5 stars hotel provide drinking water everywhere just FOC. the room really luxury with the complete toiletries & equipment. love the b'fast. nite life of coz really great with the live band.

Room Tip: u choose the sea view room... lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rizan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in December, 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed it. Superb facilities and well maintained, deserving its 5-star rating. Its Executive Lounge is managed by efficient and pleasant staff. It was almost closing time and since it was raining heavily I decided to get some snacks in the lounge instead of going out for dinner. From experience in the past at other hotels, I would have been shoved off by the staff as they were busy packing things. But here the staff obliged by offering me some snacks and waited until I left. Now that's real customer service!
Well done, Thistle Johor Bahru!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank damas1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We flew from Darwin to Singapore the jetstar flight. Landed at 930pm. We came out at terminal 1 and walked to the left of the taxi's to the bus terminal to go to JB bus bay 12. Had to wait for the last bus 1130pm. We used the Jetstar voucher (you can get it on their web site) this coupled with your boarding pass gives you a free fair.
The bus takes you Singapore immigration terminal, have your passport ready go straight up stairs or use the elevator to your left. Check out of Singapore and go back down stairs be quick the bus won't wait for you. Next to the Malaysian immigration border you get 90days visa entry. Once pass the check point walk thought customs he may ask you to xray your bags as it was late i think he wanted something to do. I had nothing to declare. It's about 200m walk down the platform down the escalator to the taxi's. Ignore people offering taxi's walk to the left look for red taxi's they have a booth with fixed price to take you to your hotel.
I traveled with wife two kids 13 and 14 years old i don't recommend this for families with young kids. If you have younger kids and want to do this, do it during the day if the bis leaves you can catch another bus.
*tips change some money to RM at the airport.
Johor has allot to offer night flee market food stalls, great place as a staging post for Legoland.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7eleven001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

From the moment we stepped into the hotel, we felt like home! Everyone's friendly! Club Room is clean though water pressure a little low. Lighting a little dark but cosy. Great service frm bellhop & reception staff. Love the privacy of Exec lounge where the view was breathtaking! We checked the breakfast at Fresh n it's disappointing! Utensils not available, buffet hutch was messy. Seems to be short of manpower and their service dun to fit into Thistle's image. Nevertheless, perfect staycation! Club room worth investing!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank risissey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
1.1 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
1.2 mi away
Amari Johor Bahru
Amari Johor Bahru
#2 of 111 in Johor Bahru
512 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#3 of 111 in Johor Bahru
974 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
#14 of 111 in Johor Bahru
735 reviews
2 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru
Mutiara Johor Bahru
#11 of 111 in Johor Bahru
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Johor Bahru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Johor Bahru

Address: Jalan Sungai Chat, Johor Bahru 80100, Malaysia (Formerly Hyatt Regency)
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Johor Bahru
#3 Spa Hotel in Johor Bahru
#9 Luxury Hotel in Johor Bahru
Price Range: £46 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thistle Johor Bahru 4.5*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're with us for business or pleasure, the Thistle Johor Bahru hotel provides the very best of Malaysia, including our legendary hospitality. At Thistle Johor Bahru we have 382 fully refurbished bedrooms, including 125 executive luxury rooms with spectacular sea views over the Straits of Johor. This Malaysian hotel also boasts 5, an outdoor 'resort-style' swimming pool, and fitness centre with spa. Everything you need in fact to indulge your body and soul in modern luxury and comfort. As you'd expect from a hotel in Malaysia and so close to Singapore, Thistle Johor Bahru also has superb meetings and events facilities making the hotel a prime destination for business. Thanks to our beautiful landscaped grounds, sea views and tropical climate, we are also a popular venue for weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Thistle Johor Bahru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Johor Bahru Hotel Johor Bahru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing