We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average steaks”
Review of Gianni's Trattoria

Gianni's Trattoria
Ranked #19 of 1,244 Restaurants in Johor Bahru
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

Was here some years ago and returned for dinner with some friends. This place is run by a German Italian and supposedly serving Italian cuisine. We ordered their premium wagyu steak instead of pasta or spaghetti. The mushrooms soup was pretty good with a nice chunky mushrooms instead of the finely blended mushrooms. The seafood soup was a little bland. The sirloin steak was quite tasty but was over cooked, while the tenderloin steak was over powered by the sauce. Overall, even though wagyu is a premium steak but it was overpowered by the sauce, which was a little disappointing.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank meaningremission
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 41 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2017

1) Cleanliness : Great
2) Service : Great
3) Food: Great
4) Ambient : Great (not noisy)
5) Taxi driver will be able to bring there.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank dunhill2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

Food is good but service sucks. They should step up and practice first come first serve. And not just serve the regular customers only. Should b fair to all.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

I wrote a negative comment in Apr because I'd a really disappointing visit. Food was rather average, nothing to wow about. The drinks were horrid, yucky tasting cocktails which tasted nothing like alcohol but merely concentrated juice. And the grumpy waitress (Filipino lady) did not seem to be bothered at all when we told her our feedback.

We were so disappointed that day and so I wrote a bad review there and then before we left. But just as we were leaving, the manager asked us about our dining experience. We told her about the cocktails which we didn't even finish, we merely took a few sips. We also recounted the waitresses' attitude.

Upon hearing our story, she invited us to the other dining area (cocktail bar) and made us special cocktails. I couldn't edit my post that day because of Tripadvisor's policies not allowing 2 posts in the same month. I wanted to post thereafter but slipped my mind.

I'm here to revise that post today, just to be fair. I believe the nice lady at the restaurant is called Stephanie. She made us feel so much better and an otherwise lousy experience, a worthwhile one. She rendered really good service and was patient and kind. A gem in the service industry. Five stars for her!

Maybe someday we will go back to Gianni's again and hopefully, we will have a better experience with the food and cocktail then.

Date of visit: September 2017
3  Thank singaparadox
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

Amazing food and friendly, knowledgeable waitress! Mushroom soup and Breasola Salad very tasty. Generous pizza that couldn't be finished and had to take half back to the hotel. They had an open fire pizza oven. Highly recommend!

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank durstk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Gianni's Trattoria also viewed

 
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 

Been to Gianni's Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.