We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Grand Paragon
Ranked #20 of 110 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Okay hotel.”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Large room and large beds, enough for 2 adults and 2 children in deluxe twin room. Easy to find food, there is foodcourt just behind the hotel. Need to change the pillow because its too thin already. The staff in the breakfast restaurant isn't friendly at all. 5 minutes walking to KSL mall. Easy check in and check out.... Overall i like my stay in Grand Paragon.

Room Tip: Choose deluxe twin if you are travelling with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank y4nn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    188
    181
    44
    19
See reviews for
132
106
22
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
DUBAI
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel with my friends and it is a nice stay.The rooms are services are good.They serve good food and the view to see the city from the hotel is excellent.The reception staff are very fast while check-in and check-out.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DubaiAnand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Hotel is in a good location. There is a evening street market just outside the hotel on every Monday. But please do not advertise 'free wifi' when the wifi is not even working for the 3 days we were there. The aircond in our room is like a jet blower..it is very disturbing at night. And mind you, old folks should take extra precauntion when going into the bathroom, as someone mentioned, it is terribly slippery when its wet.. got to do with the type of tiles they use.

Room Tip: check and confirm the A/C unit is not noisy before you check-into the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yyhhcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Checked in to this hotel day before New Year Eve, was paid RM270 for a standard twin room with 2 super single bed, actually a bit disappointed as they don't have any double but was surprise that the single bed was big enough for 2person to sleep together.

The room is big, as well as the toilet, clean and comfortable bed.

The breakfast provided by hotel actually surprise us as there are variety of choices, we even having pasta as our breakfast!

Room Tip: Standard Twin room actually can stay up to 4 persons
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerrickT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Been here in Dec'13 with family with 2 kiddos. The lobby is huge, many sofas to sit & wait. We book via travel agent, not mention for the non smoking floor. So, we try to ask for the non smoking one. Then, they give us upgrading room to 1 apt type, which is very big for 4 of us! The room was clean and well maintenance. Breakfast are good. You can found a night market at the right side of hotel. Overall, we're satisfied with Grand Paragon.

Room Tip: Choose apartment type when go with family with small kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lee_niez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The best feature of the hot is that it was easy to point out to taxi drivers and in a good-ish location. Our stay startes with 20min check in process. It seemed like it was everyones first day on the job. Our room was very musty, stained sheets, old linen. The room service was "gourmet" and so was expensive- when it arrived it
was actually frozen food. As a female i could never get a straight answer or price on anything and had to have my boyfriend do literally all of the speaking to hotel staff. Even had to haggle with the concierge over a rip off driver fare that they jad arranged on our behalf (approx $150 Aud 1way) had none of these issues in
Singapore. But the incident that takes the cake is having 9 extra drinks put on our bill in the hotel bar/nightclub, the staff snickering and scoffing at us when queried about it- then after questioning this we were hauled down to hotel reception at 2am to prove that we had paid a deposit on our room (despite me showing them the deposit reciept
beforehand) and being told that our drinks (even the extra ones) would now have to be paid for in cash/card and could not be put on our room as we were previously told. I have travelled in Asia quite extensively, specifically to Chinese speaking areas/countries and have never encountered the blatant rudeness and money grubing antics of this self proclaimed " luxury international business hotel". NEVER.AGAIN.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhiannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Johor Bahru hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Checked in during post Xmas. Receptionist informed me that room was "upgraded" from std to deluxe. We checked in the room. Besides offering the bath tub as extra, there is no diff. between. std and deluxe. Breakfast was below average...cold cuts(the.ham smelt bad)and condiments of porridge are not fresh. Toilet flush was not functioning well...need to flush a couple of times per usage. Lots of TV channels from NHK, RCTI, KBS etc and free wifi. Pool (located on 11 floor) is small. Location is good directly beneath hotel is a night food court ( try the Sin Kee BBQ black pepper squid and stingray). There is a long stretch of night market every Monday night.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyfourSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
1.1 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
0.4 mi away
Holiday Villa Johor Bahru City Centre
1.8 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#11 of 110 in Johor Bahru
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru
Mutiara Johor Bahru
#10 of 110 in Johor Bahru
643 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
#16 of 110 in Johor Bahru
679 reviews
3.7 mi away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#4 of 110 in Johor Bahru
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Paragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Paragon

Property: Hotel Grand Paragon
Address: 18 Jalan Harimau | Taman Century, Johor Bahru 80250, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 110 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Paragon 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Grand Paragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing