We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in nice area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of J Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
J Hotel
Ranked #3 of 93 Johor Bahru B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in nice area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed in J hotel for 1 night with our family in two rooms next to eachother. It was a pleasant stay, clean rooms, friendly staff and plenty of restaurant choices at walking distance. The only drawback i could mention is that the room had a cigaret smell. Staff mentioned that all rooms are smoking rooms, so if you are asthmatic you might like to stay somewhere else.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank reismama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    49
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
25
24
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bukit Mertajam, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

The staffs are friendly, the hotel location is full with many kind of shops and attraction points.
I'm using my own data plan, so i have no comment about the wifi connection provided by the hotel.
They allow you to keep your luggage at the counter after check out if you find that you still wanna shopping around the hotel. The room is clean. I have the room with window and can have the view of street.

Room Tip: Choose the room which have window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YongZhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights because of my friend's wedding. Booked this hotel because it seemed it was the best one in Skudai area. Booked for the mini boutique room and it looked like the one on their hotel website. Everything was fine apart from the poor soundproofing and no actual window in the room. The air conditioner made us felt dry during the night as well.

Overall, with the price we paid, it was all right...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank well_fine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

This is the second time I stayed in this hotel. This time, I stayed in a Design room with a postal bed, hoping that paying slightly more would get me a bigger or fancier room. However, my hopes were rather dashed. I would say that the size of the room was no larger than the single room I stayed in last time, and there were no windows in the room, though the room was clean. The “pièce de résistance” of the room was merely the postal bed, which was nothing to shout about really. Every other aspects of the room are as basic as you would come to expect of a budget hotel. Even though free in-room WiFi is provided, one inconvenience was that the room lacked a working desk if you need to be working on your laptop. Paying for the standard rooms would probably represent more value for your money based on this experience.

The area in which the hotel is located is still as lively as my previous visit, so that’s the really plus point of it all. I wouldn’t mind staying here again for the sake of familiarity but I’m pretty sure I would explore other options next time round.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows if it bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aurfei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antalya, Turkey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

arriving at the lobby it was ok with the design but it was really small. Arriving at the room though is reaaly surprising, the size is ridiculously small and it feel like a backpacker hotel. Service was standard and the room smell like an ashtray.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

We want to visit the Legoland without being caught in the notorious jam to and fro from Singapore (though it is very possible to visit Legoland without spending one night in Johor), so we decided to look for a hotel near Legoland Johor. J-Hotel is only 20min drive from Legoland, located next to the sutera mall, has a 24-hr security guard to ensure the safety of our car, friendly staff. Good value for under SGD50. The superior room has a safe, kettle but no fridge. The room was small and the family room was fully booked, we settle with getting two rooms instead for the kids and the staff was accommodating in giving us the adjoining room. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ktseng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed at J Hotel on numerous occassions. Tried their Boutique Room, Design Room and Single Room. Location is superb and everything is a stone's throw away.

Well run, well managed. Friendly bosses. And do check out the bosses' fleet of old time VWs. Even their window display is pleasing to the eyes. Big lounge lobby area despite it being small.

This hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bkoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
0.2 mi away
Mood Hotel
Mood Hotel
#31 of 107 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor
7.1 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Belllo Hotel JB Central
Belllo Hotel JB Central
#8 of 107 in Johor Bahru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
2.4 mi away
Princeton Hotel
Princeton Hotel
#24 of 107 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
3.9 mi away
Tune Hotel Danga Bay
Tune Hotel Danga Bay
#13 of 107 in Johor Bahru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J Hotel

Property: J Hotel
Address: No 89, Jalan Sutera Tanjung 8/3 | Taman Sutera Utama, Johor Bahru 81300, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — J Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
J hotel is strategically located in Iskandar Malaysia, accessible within 30km from Senai Airport, the Woodland or Tuas check points. You may shop-till-you-drop at the Johor Premium Outlet or enjoy a family's day at the Legoland Malaysia, both ceonveniently near at hand. Foodies will be enthralled that we are literately surrounded by over 70 F&B outlets, all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your J Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing