We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Zichar Cuisine”

Restaurant Teck Sing
Ranked #16 of 1,244 Restaurants in Johor Bahru
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Reviewed 8 March 2016 via mobile

Graving for beggar's chicken steamed with red dates, wolfsberry, ginseng strips come to Teck Sing.

Its fried pigs trotters is very well stewed tender inside and fried outside.

Vegetables like tapioca leaves and petir with dried prawns in chilli are offered to patrons' delight.

Lunch for 6 pax amounts to M$128 with 5 cold cheng tern which is a drink and dessert and coke.

Date of visit: March 2016
1  Thank 919DISAPPOINTEDGUEST
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 79 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2016

Had lunch in January with two other friends. Ordered the baked paper chicken in herbal sauce, steamed garoupa in cantonese style, fried prawn in wheat, sizzling bean curd, and kang kong. For drinks we had the lime juice. Food was served hot within 15 minutes.
Everything that we ordered was some of the best tasting items in Johor. Chicken was excellent and as usual and did not have too much of the herbal taste. Fish and prawns were fresh, bean curd and kang kong were excellent.
I visit this restaurant once a month and quality has always been consistent and it's the only place in Singapore and Johor Bahru that serves the wrapped chicken the way I like it, tender and juicy and not too much of the herbal taste.

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Shogun77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

After reading a lot of good review about this restaurant, i decided to drop by to try the famous wrapped chicken. Food serve almost immediately. The chicken is not fantastic. Meat is not soft or juicy enough. The Herbal soup base is thick & salty. Probably will try other food if go there again.

Date of visit: February 2016
1  Thank scorpiaQ6066WY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 February 2016

A group of 5 of us. We ordered the paper wrap chicken which is their signature, however the bird was rather small, the fried dry prawn was crispy enough to eat whole, the bean paste (lam yu) pork was well done, the potato leaves was good. However their presentation of food and the menu offering can be improved. When I spoke to the lady cashier (or Boss) she was not very receptive and unfriendly.

They are a little complacent as the original paper wrap chicken shop next door have actually closed and moved to the Hotel industry, as I understand.

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank seepeterkimseng
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 January 2016

The three of us had lunch there & ordered paper wrapped kampong chicken,
curry fish head, fired squid with thai sauce, fried kangkong (sweet potato
leaves was unavailable) & steamed rice.

For drinks we had young coconuts.

Their baked paper wrapped chicken with herbs & their secret sauce was
particularly good. It came tender & moist with the herb infused gravy
particularly tasty.

The rest of the dishes of curry fish head, fired kangkong &
fried squid were satisfactory. I must add that the fried squid
was well executed, the battered squid was crisp without being
oily.

Prices are reasonable.

The restaurant is nice & tidy and air-conditioned and is well
patronised as compared the next door restaurant also
offerring baked paper wrapped chicken.

Service at Teck Sing restaurant is prompt.

The only negative is that they need to renovate their washroom/toilet.

Food rating : 7 out of 10 points.

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LowHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Teck Sing also viewed

Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 

Been to Restaurant Teck Sing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.