We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regretful Tunes Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tune Hotel Danga Bay
Ranked #13 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Reviewed 29 May 2014

From Senai Airport, we approach the Tunes/Airasia counter (along customer service) to avail their sky bus which costs only RM 8 per head.

We don't have any company or other passengers in the Sky bus.. Which us weird. But the trip was ok. The driver was very courteous and accommodating to us.

Check in was really fast and staffs were also very accommodating and attentive. The room was ok with a little space, comfortable bed but not spotless clean bathroom. I can see the molds on some corners in the shower room.. Even we requested to make up our room and change our sheets, it was never done. Therefore, we just didn't bother to ask the reception since we came back from Legoland and we just wanna lay down already.

This hotel is close to Legoland and Danga Bay but other than that, no more other landmark close to this hotel.

The receptionists and security guards were courteous and accommodating. I truly appreciate they offered me free printing for my personal need.

What we just hate is the 24hrs wifi and air condition we availed, it seems that the credit countdown was upon check in and Not upon usage. Very misleading. They should have clarified that to us since we badly need aircon because of very warm weather. In short, we spent more because of aircon and wifi charge.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shan_the_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Tune Hotel Danga Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We apologize for not meeting the standards you have come to expect from us.

I wish to clarify that the Air conditioning works on credit usage while the WIFI counts from the time of log in. Both are calculated differently.

Please connect with me directly at sharon.desilva@tunehotels.com and let me know of your stay details. I will check what happened with the housekeeping activities on that day and take appropriate action.

This feedback is shared with the rest of the team and we hope to serve you better on your next visit to Tune Hotel Danga Bay.

Thank you for the review.

Regards,
Sharon De Silva-Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (852)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

254 - 260 of 852 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

it has basic necessities, toilet is clean, room is clean, large flat tv, suitable for a short trip where u will spend most of the days outside. very convenient location, near restaurants, a lot of parking space. with the price u're paying, u will not regret it. for late night snacks or cravings, 7Eleven is just downstairs.

Room Tip: room no 1-10 (ie. 401, 402, 501, 502, 503...) are at the back, need to walk a bit, if lazy, request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FarhannaMZF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Tune Hotel Danga Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the post stay review.

We are happy to find that we were perfectly equipped in making you stay pleasant and comfortable.

See you back in the near future.

Regards,
Sharon De Silva-Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I stayed for two nights beginning on May 23, 2014 so was here Friday to Sunday. This hotel is amazing value for what it is. A cheap no frills hotel that is all about affordable travel. We came here from Resorts World Sentosa (RWS) in Singapore and the hotel was very easy to access. We took the Transtar Cross Border bus right from RWS for $5 US per adult. We got off it to check out of Singapore, got back on it to go into Johor Bahru and ditched it from there. From the Johor Bahru immigration point it is a short indoor walk to JB Sentral, where we exchanged money, ate food, and got a cab. The cab ride to the hotel came to only 21 ringgit and took about 10 minutes.

We were checked into the hotel by a very friendly women that works at 7:30PM. I don’t know her name but she was the only women I seen working that counter that wears a hijab. She is all smiles, good English and was very helpful to us and other guests. She checked us in then later helped us with a problem with the TV remote, informed us of the intercom if we need anything. The next night around same time she reset our WIFI code, and helped us reserve in advanced a 5AM Taxi so we could get to our 7:10AM flight at Senai Airport (JHB) to Kuala Lumpur. She is in my opinion the model of great customer service, as I was in and out of the hotel quite a bit, I noticed her having many other pleasant interactions with guests.

We stayed in a Twin Room. This was rather small but having stayed in other Tune Hotels it was exactly what I expected. With 24hr A/C + 24hr WIFI + Towel and Toiletries via an advanced direct on their website booking, it all with taxes came to just 100 ringgit per night. The beds were comfortable and WIFI worked good (not the fastest, but no downtime at all) during our stay. The room was clean, shower pressure fine, etc. etc. The only single minor annoyance was being able to hear cars at night even from our 4th floor room. That might be an issue for light sleepers but for us it wasn’t a big deal. Again the price for what this is, is great.

Being a vegetarian, I ate food I wasn’t too fond of in JB Sentral before arriving as I had read this Tune Hotel was in an isolated location. This is however wrong. It is right next to a mini-strip of shops and offices. Inside this there is an Italian food place, then at the end of that strip which is a very short walk a great Indian Restaurant called 7 Spices. There is food on the property too and other shops that are in further walking distance. There were many taxis in and out and these can be called. They are all cheap and the entire area if venturing out for other preferences is loaded with great food. There is also a 7-Eleven connected right to the hotel.

The purpose of our stay here was to access Legoland. Right on property next to the 7-Eleven is Odyssey which is a travel shop. We purchased a round trip shuttle to legoland through them at just 15 RMB per ticket. We were lucky to get the last 3 needed seats on the final shuttle of the day 11AM. I know now and recommend to others book the shuttle early as I’m sure it must sometimes fill up. This same company also has return shuttle to Resorts World Sentosa in Singapore.


The rating I’m giving this of excellent is because I know and appreciate the AirAsia/Tune Concept and this hotel exceeded my expectations at the amazingly low price. The staff member we dealt with was perfect and everything went smooth right to getting a taxi to leave at 5AM. Without a question, I’ll be back to this property in the future when wanting to visit Legoland or anything else in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

the room just nice and comfortable.. suitable for those who stay for bussiness trip since its not leisure type hotel.. but got nice restaurant ( 7 spices ) just walking distance from the hotel.. u can eat very delicious food there.. something bother me bout this hotel was u need to rent for towel n tv channel.. rent for 12hrs or 24hrs.. its like pay as u use.. hehe.. other than tat all ok.. suitable for short period stay..

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moxraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Staying at Tune Hotel JB is worth for money that u spend. The room is comfortable for
couple like us.Hot shower at high pressure. Helpful staff. Secured car park. But no hot water provided n we have to go to 7Eleven to get hot water. But, thankfully 7E is just next door to the hotel. Odyssey shuttle to Sentosa located just next door.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ediashraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Tune Hotel Danga Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

We are pleased to find a positive feedback from your recent stay at Tune Hotel Danga Bay.

Hopefully you will come stay with us again.

Regards,
Sharon De Silva-Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Hye, i have stayed here for two nights, to travel to Singapore. Very convinient place, not too far from the city, but hye, in jb if u're driving, u get to anywhere just few mins because jb has no jams. The room is very clean. And cheap! The system somehow is very good for travellers who just need a good place to sleep, and continue the journey after the sunrise. They also have a very quality bed too, very comfortable! In Tune JB, they have a good and honest customer services. I left my things after check out from the hotel, and called them to check whether is it still there, and they return my call and said that the thing has been found and i can collect it at the counter.

However, their pillows for us, need to be changed. Because it has smells. Not good for giving customers the old and smelly pillows.

Overall, very worth your money.. Esp for backpackers, and budget travellers.

Room Tip: Dont choose G and first floor. As these floors are near to the lobby. And u'll hear noises too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _AzimahBorhanuddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was worth the stay. Good rooms , comfortable beds , bathrooms were clean . The hotel themselves provided service to take us to Legoland . There were many restaurants around this area. they have a massager chair at the reception which is like 1RM for 3minutes , wow it was really a good experience getting massaged on that chair :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TanyaAgarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Tune Hotel Danga Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for writing a review about Tune Hotel Danga Bay.

Tune Hotel provides clean,and comfortable rooms at competitive rates.

We are happy to find that you are pleased with our value driven concept and enjoyed your recent stay.

We hope you will stay with us the next time you visit Danga Bay.

Regards,
Sharon De Silva-Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
3.8 mi away
Belllo Hotel JB Central
Belllo Hotel JB Central
#7 of 109 in Johor Bahru
238 reviews
3.2 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
2.4 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#12 of 109 in Johor Bahru
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru
Mutiara Johor Bahru
#10 of 109 in Johor Bahru
671 reviews
3.7 mi away
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
#24 of 109 in Johor Bahru
877 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
#14 of 109 in Johor Bahru
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel Danga Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Danga Bay

Address: Lot PTB22819 | Jalan Skudai, Johor Bahru 80200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Johor Bahru
Price Range: £16 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel Danga Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying true to our unique no frills concept, we provide you a good night's sleep at outstanding value. Our hotels come with high quality beds, power showers, 24-hour security system, and are conveniently located near transportation hubs and popular local attractions. Unnecessary costs are kept at bay by eliminating facilities that you might not need such as swimming pools, gyms, spa rooms etc. Tune Hotel Danga Bay Johor offers easy access to Asia's first LEGOLAND(R) theme park which is 15-minutes' drive away, or you can hitch a ride with the shuttle bus provided by our hotel. Kids would love exploring the Sanrio Hello Kitty Town, Little Big Club, Thomas and Friends, and Barney at Puteri Harbour which is next to LEGOLAND(R). Daily shuttles transfers are also available to the doorstep of Resorts World Sentosa and Universal Studios Singapore. If you want to just shop, don't miss out on an exquisite shopping experience at Johor Premium Outlets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tune Hotel Danga Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels .Com-Danga Bay Hotel Johor Bahru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing