We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can be improved”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tune Hotel Danga Bay
Ranked #15 of 110 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can be improved”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

A very comfortable and affordable stay. My sister and I stayed for 2 nights. On the second day, the room was made while we were travelling and when we were back to the hotel, we smelled that the bathroom of was quite damp. It was clean but the smell was unpleasant. There's the minor thing you could improve, but there rest was satisfying.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ffety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Tune Hotel Danga Bay, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest,


I note your feedback about the bathroom smell and sincerely apologize for this.

Please e-mail me details of your stay to sharon.desilva@tunehotels.com and so that we could address this matter effectively. In the meantime, I have shared this feedback with the parties concern for improvement.

On a separate note, we are happy to find that you have enjoyed the other parts of your stay and we look forward in welcoming you back again.

Thank you for the review.

Regards,
Sharon De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    365
    179
    41
    29
See reviews for
337
147
57
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melaka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The quad rooms are clean and tidy. Full-day air con and nice hot showers. Staff are friendly. A good place to stay for a family getaway. If you're planning to go to legoland or Sanrio hello kitty land, definitely a good location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KTerence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru District, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Speedy checkin due to online booking. Fast service, hassle free check in and out. Value for money. Linoleum flooring in the room a bit sticky. Might be able to improve in that area. Otherwise a good hotel for a quick and affordable pit stop.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SilverLightnig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Tune Hotel Danga Bay, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank for the review.

We are happy to find that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward in welcoming you back again.

See you soon.

Regards,
Sharon De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

- i paid around RM207 for 1 room ( 2 single bed ) 3 days 2 night with basic facilities. no aircond no tv no wifi no toiletries..
- the price is reasonable for 3 days and the rooms are clean and neat..
- the receptionist are good and very helping..
- tune hotel provide services to keep bags after check out. 1 bag for RM2 ( for me its expensive since i paid for 4 bags )
- the bus to USS is exactly infront of the hotel
- those travel like me using bus express and not a car its a bit difficult to find a place to eat.
- there is a restaurant around tune hotel like sekinchan ikan bakar but they have limited menu

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LilieIsmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Tune Hotel Danga Bay, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

Our hotel is primarily focused on providing a good night sleep at competitive rates.

We charge for non-essential items and facilities such as air conditioning and luggage storage. In this way, we are able to regulate cost and keep prices affordable.

Currently we do not offer transport facilities, however the front desk team would be able to assist in calling a cab if you need one.

We happy to find that you liked the overall experience and we hope you will stay with us again the next time you travel to Danga Bay.

Regards,
Sharon De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasig, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

From Senai Airport, we approach the Tunes/Airasia counter (along customer service) to avail their sky bus which costs only RM 8 per head.

We don't have any company or other passengers in the Sky bus.. Which us weird. But the trip was ok. The driver was very courteous and accommodating to us.

Check in was really fast and staffs were also very accommodating and attentive. The room was ok with a little space, comfortable bed but not spotless clean bathroom. I can see the molds on some corners in the shower room.. Even we requested to make up our room and change our sheets, it was never done. Therefore, we just didn't bother to ask the reception since we came back from Legoland and we just wanna lay down already.

This hotel is close to Legoland and Danga Bay but other than that, no more other landmark close to this hotel.

The receptionists and security guards were courteous and accommodating. I truly appreciate they offered me free printing for my personal need.

What we just hate is the 24hrs wifi and air condition we availed, it seems that the credit countdown was upon check in and Not upon usage. Very misleading. They should have clarified that to us since we badly need aircon because of very warm weather. In short, we spent more because of aircon and wifi charge.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shan_the_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Tune Hotel Danga Bay, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We apologize for not meeting the standards you have come to expect from us.

I wish to clarify that the Air conditioning works on credit usage while the WIFI counts from the time of log in. Both are calculated differently.

Please connect with me directly at sharon.desilva@tunehotels.com and let me know of your stay details. I will check what happened with the housekeeping activities on that day and take appropriate action.

This feedback is shared with the rest of the team and we hope to serve you better on your next visit to Tune Hotel Danga Bay.

Thank you for the review.

Regards,
Sharon De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

it has basic necessities, toilet is clean, room is clean, large flat tv, suitable for a short trip where u will spend most of the days outside. very convenient location, near restaurants, a lot of parking space. with the price u're paying, u will not regret it. for late night snacks or cravings, 7Eleven is just downstairs.

Room Tip: room no 1-10 (ie. 401, 402, 501, 502, 503...) are at the back, need to walk a bit, if lazy, request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FarhannaMZF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Tune Hotel Danga Bay, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the post stay review.

We are happy to find that we were perfectly equipped in making you stay pleasant and comfortable.

See you back in the near future.

Regards,
Sharon De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udon Thani
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I stayed for two nights beginning on May 23, 2014 so was here Friday to Sunday. This hotel is amazing value for what it is. A cheap no frills hotel that is all about affordable travel. We came here from Resorts World Sentosa (RWS) in Singapore and the hotel was very easy to access. We took the Transtar Cross Border bus right from RWS for $5 US per adult. We got off it to check out of Singapore, got back on it to go into Johor Bahru and ditched it from there. From the Johor Bahru immigration point it is a short indoor walk to JB Sentral, where we exchanged money, ate food, and got a cab. The cab ride to the hotel came to only 21 ringgit and took about 10 minutes.

We were checked into the hotel by a very friendly women that works at 7:30PM. I don’t know her name but she was the only women I seen working that counter that wears a hijab. She is all smiles, good English and was very helpful to us and other guests. She checked us in then later helped us with a problem with the TV remote, informed us of the intercom if we need anything. The next night around same time she reset our WIFI code, and helped us reserve in advanced a 5AM Taxi so we could get to our 7:10AM flight at Senai Airport (JHB) to Kuala Lumpur. She is in my opinion the model of great customer service, as I was in and out of the hotel quite a bit, I noticed her having many other pleasant interactions with guests.

We stayed in a Twin Room. This was rather small but having stayed in other Tune Hotels it was exactly what I expected. With 24hr A/C + 24hr WIFI + Towel and Toiletries via an advanced direct on their website booking, it all with taxes came to just 100 ringgit per night. The beds were comfortable and WIFI worked good (not the fastest, but no downtime at all) during our stay. The room was clean, shower pressure fine, etc. etc. The only single minor annoyance was being able to hear cars at night even from our 4th floor room. That might be an issue for light sleepers but for us it wasn’t a big deal. Again the price for what this is, is great.

Being a vegetarian, I ate food I wasn’t too fond of in JB Sentral before arriving as I had read this Tune Hotel was in an isolated location. This is however wrong. It is right next to a mini-strip of shops and offices. Inside this there is an Italian food place, then at the end of that strip which is a very short walk a great Indian Restaurant called 7 Spices. There is food on the property too and other shops that are in further walking distance. There were many taxis in and out and these can be called. They are all cheap and the entire area if venturing out for other preferences is loaded with great food. There is also a 7-Eleven connected right to the hotel.

The purpose of our stay here was to access Legoland. Right on property next to the 7-Eleven is Odyssey which is a travel shop. We purchased a round trip shuttle to legoland through them at just 15 RMB per ticket. We were lucky to get the last 3 needed seats on the final shuttle of the day 11AM. I know now and recommend to others book the shuttle early as I’m sure it must sometimes fill up. This same company also has return shuttle to Resorts World Sentosa in Singapore.


The rating I’m giving this of excellent is because I know and appreciate the AirAsia/Tune Concept and this hotel exceeded my expectations at the amazingly low price. The staff member we dealt with was perfect and everything went smooth right to getting a taxi to leave at 5AM. Without a question, I’ll be back to this property in the future when wanting to visit Legoland or anything else in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
2.4 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#11 of 110 in Johor Bahru
1,292 reviews
3.8 mi away
Belllo Hotel JB Central
Belllo Hotel JB Central
#7 of 110 in Johor Bahru
220 reviews
3.2 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru
Mutiara Johor Bahru
#10 of 110 in Johor Bahru
643 reviews
6.7 mi away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#4 of 110 in Johor Bahru
852 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel Danga Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Danga Bay

Property: Tune Hotel Danga Bay
Address: Lot PTB22819 | Jalan Skudai, Johor Bahru 80200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel Danga Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying true to our unique no frills concept, we provide you a good night's sleep at outstanding value. Our hotels come with high quality beds, power showers, 24-hour security system, and are conveniently located near transportation hubs and popular local attractions. Unnecessary costs are kept at bay by eliminating facilities that you might not need such as swimming pools, gyms, spa rooms etc. Tune Hotel Danga Bay Johor offers easy access to Asia's first LEGOLAND(R) theme park which is 15-minutes' drive away, or you can hitch a ride with the shuttle bus provided by our hotel. Kids would love exploring the Sanrio Hello Kitty Town, Little Big Club, Thomas and Friends, and Barney at Puteri Harbour which is next to LEGOLAND(R). Daily shuttles transfers are also available to the doorstep of Resorts World Sentosa and Universal Studios Singapore. If you want to just shop, don't miss out on an exquisite shopping experience at Johor Premium Outlets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tune Hotel Danga Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels .Com-Danga Bay Hotel Johor Bahru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing