We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maybe the food was good BUT the first time the service?”

Tera-Thai Fine Dine Restaurant
Ranked #314 of 879 Restaurants in Johor Bahru
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Maybe the food was good BUT the first time the service?”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We have been there three times. Maybe the food was good BUT the first time the service was so bad I have no idea what we, as a family, ate. Never mind everyone has a bad day, so we tried again - rubbish service. Vowed never to return, another but, family friends took us. Three out of three rubbish service. The coffee shop down the road kills it. Mind the service there is rubbish too but the food and the price go a long way to ameliorating the damage. One other note is that the rating system on the page doesn't allow segregation of dates - our three visits are spread over about 18 months.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MadMick65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    18
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Thai Restaurant in a queit corner of city”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

old bangalow house converted to restaurant. Good feel of the old antique furniture and renovation. A staircase to climb up (Malay tradition house), quite inconvenient for old folks with weak legs. Most of the waiters/waitresses are from Thai. Typical Thai food and no particulat dish to recommend. Good to visit at least once if you are in for Thai food.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank WilliamBLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Setting and Very Good Food”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

The setting is wonderful (though some taxis have trouble finding it, even with the address - it is really not hard to find but it is a quite area - just a couple minutes away from Thistle Hotel.

The best Thai place I have found in JB. There is actually another place in Jusco Bukit Indah mall that is very good - not as nice a setting, of course. There is another one near New York hotel that I would put in 3rd place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank curiouscatMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Johor, Malaysia
1 review
“romanticly spicy”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

well...a fine dine thai food with awesome food.... a bit difficult to locate the place but yet nice environment, romantic theme lights and friendly service. we ordered seabass fish steam ..with thai sauce..chicken fried with cashewnuts..and kailan with oyster as only 2 of us...overall the food tasted nice..especially i love the fish steamm..not too spicy but yet very nice.. price a bit higher but reasonable due to fine dining..n food n the environment..

next visit..for sure...wanna try different varieties...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trip133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Cosy quiet dining place in JB town.”
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Excellent Thai food, excellent service, excellent ambience, price tad bit higher than average. Best not to bring children under 5 years old as e dimly lited place is more of a "couple's restaurant" setting. Their mango salad and mango sticky rice desert is to die for. Overall, I will definitely come back, with an empty stomach ;)

Helpful?
1 Thank Wellygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tera-Thai Fine Dine Restaurant also viewed

Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 

Been to Tera-Thai Fine Dine Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing