We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A day with Goodhope”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
GoodHope Hotel Skudai-Johor Bahru
Ranked #84 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A day with Goodhope”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

It is compatible with the name, Goodhope...

Stayed here for a day with business meeting over the weekend. Overall hotel condition is average, a bit old and the surrounding have limited amenities.

The plus point for this hotel is located next to highway and can make a fast exit to town or highway.

Food choices at breakfast is limited and not value for the money that you paid for. Unless there is no choice, please explore other places before decide booking here.

Room Tip: Should get the room nearer to their modem, wifi connection can be bad when more users login to the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    2
    8
    10
    9
See reviews for
11
4
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

The worst hotel for a deluxe room of rm258. Breakfast buffet choice very poor. Need lots of improvement. Only 'hope for good'overall service not so bad. Room cleanliness was horrible. Bathroom not clean.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank rloganathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Johor Bahru hotels

Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

- Bad Service
- Air cond not working properly, low power. My cousin been using ice-box as 'air cond' additional.
- Broken room's door, We have been trying 5-10min to unlock the door at each time.
- Lost 2 bags of property
- Not enough of bedroom needs (towel, soap and etc).

**Our first and last visit, for sure.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank petronella3007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aasiaat, Greenland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

My secretary booked me this hotel for one night and that was the last time she will do so - not her fault, but a bit of research would have shown this to be the last place on earth to have me stay.

Check-in . . . not a smile to be seen nor a greeting, the staff seemed to be more interested in their make-up than in looking after guests.
Room? Yes, I got a freshly renovated one . . . that hadn't been cleaned for weeks according to the dust that was everywhere.

The TV. Yes, I remember having one like this when I was young - last century . . . and who knows what had been done to the remote control in that time.

Check-out? Miserable.

I do wonder why they used the word 'Good' in their name . . . perhaps it is the only time it was ever used in reference to this nasty, nasty place

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SingaporeVulture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crawfishetouffee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

hotel building is old but has underwent refurbished. Small car park.

Good
=====
Bed is comfortable. King size bed can fit 2 of us plus our 3-year-old child.
Neat and clean bathroom.

Bad
====
Found cockcroach - to me, this is unacceptable.
Low water pressure in bathroom. No cloth hanger in bath room. Just basic toiletries - just 2 adult towels, no hand towel.
Poor breakfast food selection. For egg station, the omelette is already pre-cookedand chef is constantly away. If you reach the place at 9.30am, you have hardly things to eat. Finished fruits are not re-filled.
Loud morning praying sound. I'm a Malaysian and have been staying in this countries for more than 30 years and I never had problem with mosque .But this time, the morning praying sound was extremly loud, I thought the loud speaker must be directly facing the room I'm staying. Disappoited with this as I asked for quiet room.

I've paid RM140 for Standard King (size bed) room. Overall I feel this is too expensive for the price that we're paying.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crawfishetouffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

the worst stay ever

at 5 star rates this hotel is horrific in all ways

the budget hotel serves better service

staff are not capable to rectify the problem

the room tv was like a plasma with cheap antenna

please reconsider stay before checking in

Room Tip: the ner refurbishment serves no purpose when service is even terible then budget hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drmfaizan84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2012

the problem i face was there are a lot of cockroaches in the bath room and can found some in the room. Although staffs there are kind to help me spray immediately but it come out again. Then i decide to went out to buy a spray to help myself.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lkklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johor Bahru
0.9 mi away
Bzz Hotel
Bzz Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skudai
10 reviews
3.3 mi away
Pariss Hotel
Pariss Hotel
#4 of 13 in Skudai
83 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Leverage Business Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mood Hotel
Mood Hotel
#29 of 109 in Johor Bahru
41 reviews
2.3 mi away
V8 Hotel Johor Bahru
V8 Hotel Johor Bahru
#21 of 109 in Johor Bahru
54 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hako Hotel
Hako Hotel
#25 of 109 in Johor Bahru
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GoodHope Hotel Skudai-Johor Bahru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GoodHope Hotel Skudai-Johor Bahru

Property: GoodHope Hotel Skudai-Johor Bahru
Address: Goodhope Hotel No. 1 Jalan Ronggeng 5 | Taman Skudai Baru, Skudai, Johor Darul Ta'zim, Johor Bahru 81300, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — GoodHope Hotel Skudai-Johor Bahru 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your GoodHope Hotel Skudai-Johor Bahru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing