We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good but not very bad either”
Review of Swan Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swan Garden Hotel
Ranked #65 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Karachi, Pakistan
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not good but not very bad either”
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

The purpose of our visit to JB was only to visit Lego Land, so we decide to do our 2 night stop at swan garden... Even though the hotel was not bad , the staff and their language barrier was a bit of a throw off , they couldn't communicate in English and had no tourist information to share. The biggest let down was no bell boy service for check in and check out, arrived by public bus late to Johor baharu bus terminal took cabs to the hotel reached the place tired , had to then wrestle the bags to the rooms ourselves, the hotel is located in a small market square , but the people in the area had problem communicating in english.... Below average just because of the atmosphere in my opinion

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank omerwaiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    7
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
1
2
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

If you are on a business trip to Johor/Pasir Gudang this is a place you wanna consider. Place is nice and clean though the rooms are not big. You can find a room starting from around RM70 with breakfast which is very cheep.

Breakfast is very basic but for the money you can't complaint.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milinda1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed only for a night in Deluxe Bedroom. The room overlooking the street.
The room has flat screen TV & big bathroom. Stayed in 3rd floor. But not to worry there's a lift!
The staff was attentive when handle my late booking check-in.

Breakfast was not to my expectation. The food was dull & even the bread was 'hard'. Dont want to comment more. They need to improve this

The place strategically located in shop district. Food was not a problem because its just a walking distance away.

Pro's : Location
Con's : Breakfast was terrible

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timbermad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Overall just an okay hotel; good for short trips. I went to Johor for work and stayed one night. The hotel itself is relatively easy to find with plenty of shops and parking nearby. The room was clean albeit a bit small. Aircon, tv with selected satellite channels, kettle and safe provided. The bathroom was not as clean as mould was building up on the sink area. The wifi connected from my room on first floor was really bad. Simple breakfast was provided.

The only problem I had was when I made reservations, I asked for 2 Single ROOMS but what I got was 2 single BEDS, which was awkward because I was travelling with a colleague of the opposite sex and the place was fully booked. So make sure to confirm with the staff when booking.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KL_home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batu Pahat, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed here at first due to emergency. Next stay because the first stay uncovered a hidden gem in industrial surrounding. Rooms are bang for the bucks. Clean, well equipped. My family room with 2 king sized beds, bathtub, flat-screen Tv for just rm168. Near to Johor Port, Pasir Gudang industrial area, Tesco, McDonald's, banks.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monada76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012 via mobile

This is exactly the type of hotel you want when staying in the area! The front desk is very friendly and efficient and polite, the free breakfast at the lovely restaurant next-door was very nice and filling and complete. The room is absolutely spotless, with a nice TV and Air-conditioning. The Wi-Fi on the second floor had excellent signal, and the king size bed with thick duvet was a great comfort. The area is very safe and clean with plenty of shops although they are designed for locals, not tourists. The shopkeepers offer discounts if you mention that you are staying at the Swan
Garden Hotel. The rate was incredibly low compared to the nicer hotels in the area! I rate this hotel as an A or A+, and will be very glad to stay again soon.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidPlate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012 via mobile

I am back to Swan Garden Hotel again, and once more, this hotel didnt disappointed me. Another pleasant stay and really like their service, cleanliness, friendly staff, and rock and roll rooftop skybar.

Try this hotel and i bet you wont regret. Cheers.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IceGirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
16.3 mi away
Millesime Hotel Johor Bahru
Millesime Hotel Johor Bahru
#74 of 109 in Johor Bahru
29 reviews
1.4 mi away
No photo provided
Li Garden Hotel
#52 of 109 in Johor Bahru
1 reviews
7.0 mi away
JS Hotel
JS Hotel
#25 of 109 in Johor Bahru
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Amerin Hotel Johor Bahru
Amerin Hotel Johor Bahru
#16 of 109 in Johor Bahru
90 reviews
8.3 mi away
Swiss-Inn Johor Bahru
Swiss-Inn Johor Bahru
#17 of 109 in Johor Bahru
101 reviews
4.3 mi away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#4 of 109 in Johor Bahru
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Garden Hotel

Property: Swan Garden Hotel
Address: 26 & 28 Jalan Suria | Bandar Seri Alam, Johor Bahru 81750, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Swan Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Swan Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing