We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bored” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Danga Bay

Danga Bay
Ranked #14 of 63 things to do in Johor Bahru
Attraction details
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Bored”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

The restaurants close by 10pm and only few dodgy bars available. The drinks is really over rated for a place like this. Not proper street light and a lot of couples sit in public doing nuisance . Nothing great about this place so you can skip it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Choosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    84
    106
    60
    27
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Only on advertisment it looks a great place to live”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Danga Bay was a nice beautiful place when we visited in the past 3 years. From media advertisement I expected to have a better infra structure of developing projects.
But when my second visit to this place again today. I couldn't find the amusement park fun fair which was once a nice place for family evening outings. There was a live-band performing at the open stage which we can have some refreshment and food to listen and enjoy the oldies song. Some restaurant also have their own singer. The colourful neon lighted Danga Bay image had change to a shabby scene. No maintenance for the amusement park rides. Most restaurant also shut down.
Easy to reach there by bus from Wong Ah Fook Rd near the Public Bank but hard to find a bus or taxi back to City Square.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan3112013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasig, Philippines
Level Contributor
354 reviews
220 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Promising Danga bay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

The place can be promising if only it will be developed...

Some parts of the bay are "under construction" for condo and some part are few restaurants and some part are amusement park opened at night (6pm).

We had fun with the amusement park particularly the local colored bicycle. We paid RM 20 for 5mins ride. It was really fun!

We love also Lazio restaurant. With outside seating, spectacular view!

Nothing much... If planning to go here, it better be by 5pm so that it's not that warm when u walk around and just in time for dinner or view the sunset... View of the bay

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shan_the_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful yet not yet done.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

beautiful place but i think they are still upgrading or something, but it's good to go there and just simply take a breeze walk.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Moreenwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru District, Malaysia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Casual visiting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Many new developing projects were undergoing in Danga Bay during my last visit in April.Those new buildings spoil the overall image of Danga Bay and some places were guarded by security to prevent foreign labor from entering those places.

By the way, petting zoo has been ceased to operate and yacht dinner function was not there anymore. Fun fair was significantly smaller than the previous one. Maybe, new entertaining functions should be added to revitalize this attraction.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Leow90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Danga Bay also viewed

Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 

Been to Danga Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing